Mystery House



Chocolate Mousse for Knitters

Chocolate Mousse 1

Two words:  Chok. Lit.

Very little else needs to be said.  I made this dessert for a willing group of test subjects last Sunday.  Their reviews were sparsely worded, consisting mainly of such phrases as, “Oooh,” and “Mmm.”  It’s deep, dark chocolate.  It’s preposterously easy.  What else do you need to know?

Oh.  I suppose you’d like the recipe.

This comes from the uber-reliable Mark Bittman’s How To Cook Everything, which has become an indispensable part of my library.  It’s where I look
first when I need a perfect, basic recipe.  If you don’t have a lot of
cookbooks, you definitely need it.  If you do have a lot of cookbooks,
you still need it.  The recipe can also be found here.

My only suggestions are to whip lots of extra cream–because what’s chocolate mousse without a big blop of whipped cream on top?–and to use a good quality chocolate, not the regular baking chocolate from the grocery store.  You don’t have to get all crazy and raid your savings account to buy Scharffen Berger, though.  I used Ghiradelli 60% cacao bittersweet, and if anyone complained, I couldn’t hear it over all the mmm-ing and oooh-ing.  So, if you want to see a group of knitters all put down their needles simultaneously without saying just one more row, serve them this mousse.  It’s like a magic trick.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * cursingmama says:

    mmmm – chock lit

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  2. * Ann says:

    Oooh, that looks good. And I had to miss it! I’ll have to try it myself – the Compadre won’t mind.

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  3. * Chris says:

    *drooling*

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  4. * Jeanne says:

    I’ll have to remember this, especially since it’s gluten-free.

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  5. * Jeanice says:

    It was super dooper yummy!!!

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  6. * lisa says:

    droool…. moan (in a good way)… bookmark the page!

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  7. * carol Roskos says:

    mmmm, looks and sounds delicious!

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  8. * kmkat says:

    Mmmmm. Just reading about it makes me remember it. Mmmmm.

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

