Mystery House



Horror #6: Mystical Disaster

Have you been reading the flap on Ravelry about a certain seller of hand-dyed yarns?  I’€™m glued to it.  Better than drama on TV.

I can’t link the seller, Mystical Creations, for you because her website is down.  As is her Ebay store.  And Etsy store.  Emails were sent to former customers (I got one, but trashed it) stating that Danielle, the seller, was very ill and in the hospital and her family wouldn’€™t be able to complete any recent orders or refund money.  Mysteriously, once the yarn started to hit the fan on Ravelry and folks began complaining to the Better Business Bureau and to the New Mexico Attorney General’s office, another email surfaced, stating that Danielle had died.  Now, according to the Ravelry thread, the FBI is looking into her business for alleged online fraud.  Alleged yarn fraud.  Can you believe it?

I can.  I have had the evidence.  Look:

Mystical Disaster Yarn 1

Mystical Disaster Yarn 2

Okay, so those photos are not very helpful.  I figure that what’s inside the plastic bag is so evil it defies photography, because I couldn’t get a clear shot of it.  I may have taken pictures of this yarn when it first arrived, but I can’€™t find them.  That’s probably a good thing–I’€™m trying to eliminate all traces of its bad karma from my house.  I’€™ll describe it instead.

One skein of superwash sock yarn, hand-dyed in several shades of very dark blue.  It looked pretty when it arrived over a year ago.  Pretty enough that I didn’€™t ask questions, didn’t undo the skein for a closer look, and set it aside.

My subconscious must have known.  (It’€™s good about things like this.  I trust it.)  I left this skein in a plastic bag, inside another paper bag, segregated from the rest of my carefully preserved stash.  Damn good thing I did.

After reading the Ravelry thread about how much trouble people have had with this yarn, I decided to take a closer look at it.  There have been many, many reports of unevenly dyed skeins, skeins that are felted on the inside, and dye that bleeds like you would not believe when it gets wet.  Some knitters have reported yarn that actually bled onto other things in their stash bins.

So.  I unwound the allegedly evil skein.  Yep, just as reported by others:  white patches.  An uneven, crappy dye job.  At that point I thought it might still be salvageable.  The blue was pretty, so I contacted a friend who’€™s a talented dyer and asked if I could rinse the yarn to get rid of any extra dye, and then perhaps overdye it to even out the color.  Yes, she said, I could, although it might be pesty.

I was too curious not to.  I grabbed the yarn and a big enamel basin and scurried down to the laundry room.  Washed it.  Rinsed it.  Rinsed it again.  And again.  And again.  After an entire afternoon of soaking and rinsing, perhaps twenty changes of water, that stuff still bled like it was getting paid to do it.  The last change of water was as dark as the first.  Like ink.  Dark blue ink.

Blue Ink

I left the yarn soaking so I could show it to the M.E. when he got home.  He immediately got a trash bag and took it to the garbage can; I snapped a couple of quick shots as it was on its way out.

I just wanted it gone.  As far as I was concerned, it had the hoodoo on it and I couldn’t imagine knitting with it.  It was never properly set, or rinsed.  If I had used it, made socks thinking nothing was wrong and then washed those socks, can you imagine what the other things in that load of laundry would have looked like?

My loss was relatively small.  That skein, plus three of rayon boucle.  Maybe $35 or $40 total.  I consider myself lucky.  Some people, I understand, are out hundreds.  Unusable yarn all around.  Orders never received.  Lots of hard feelings.  Nobody believes she was sick, or that she’€™s dead.  I certainly don’€™t.  Odd, I thought, how both emails recounting her fate were composed in what was exactly her writing style.

I believe Danielle is out there somewhere, a little nervous when the phone rings, peering through her curtains to see if that car pulling up outside has law enforcement license plates, dreaming up ways to elude the authorities and the hundreds of knitters who are furious with her.  I hope, if the FBI is looking into the case, they’€™re faster than she is.  She deserves her comeuppance, don’€™t you think?

If you have any of this yarn, I would strongly urge you not to use it.  Not to give it away or sell it.  It’s just flat-out bad.  Please send it straight to its rightful home–the trash can.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Merike says:

    You are So Right in disposing of it. Everything has some kind of energy (everything IS energy of some kind). That yarn was serious negative energy. But, to balance that negative energy before it sucks some of your positive energy, send love to it. It’s not the yarn’s fault nor the dye’s fault for being so awful. I could go on… But, from the sound of your post, you already know what I mean ;

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  2. * Deb says:

    I, too, ordered MCY yarn and ended up with a bad taste in my mouth. The order was four skeins of wool/silk for a clapotis in a cherries jubilee (or similar) colorway. It was supposed to be shades of red. After hounding them/her for a month, I finally did receive four skeins of magenta/orange yarn!!! It certainly wasn’t what I ordered, but the colors were fun. This became my “Raspberry Tiger” clapotis. Here’s what happened when I soaked the yarn: http://kitchencotton.blogspot.com/2007/04/bleeding-tub.html
    It.never.ran.clear.
    It looked like someone had been murdered in my tub.
    The MCY thread has gotten a little insane on Ravelry, though– For example, someone posted about her familial situation— do we really need to know about divorce(s) and child custody battles?

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  3. * bellamoden says:

    I am truly sorry that it didn’t work out for you. You know what I mean. Crappy nasty yarn! DO NOT WANT.

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  4. * Amy says:

    Wow, how awful. I had no idea.

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  5. * deb says:

    Ooooh – you know i just loves me some juicy, colorful gossip!!

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  6. * del says:

    How horrible! I’ve read some of the thread at Ravelry, but it’s like 1000 posts long, lol.
    I am SO happy I never ordered from this woman. But a pack of angry knitters?? Does she know who she’s fooling with? We carry pointy sticks.

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  7. * Sarah R says:

    I, too, have some MCY yarn in the stash. I’m afraid to look…

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  8. * cursingmama says:

    So glad I know I don’t have any of that in my stash. I’m not much for buying yarn online – much.
    I’ve been following the thread off & on and imagine Danielle is scared – very scared – now…..

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  9. * Chris says:

    My goodness! Sorry you ended up with some of the bad yarn. How completely crazy.

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  10. * Emma says:

    Wow, that’s crazy! Such a crappy thing for someone to do.

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  11. * Carrie K says:

    Wow. I missed all of that. Yarn fraud? Is nothing sacred?
    Bled like it was being paid to. I’m sorry but that’s just slaying me! lolololol.

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  12. * Ragan says:

    Oh my goodness!!! Now that IS a tale of complete horror! I clicked the link you posted…oh my the horrors.
    😦
    At least you disposed of the bad ju-ju. Ugh. How sad that this woman is taking advantage of knitters…hmm…yes…knitters who can be dangerous with pointy sticks…this Danielle better be looking behind her from now on (and not just for blue lights).

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  13. * Anonymous says:

    Whoa! Darn it! Now I wish I did sign up for Ravelry! I miss all the soap operas! This sound like a knitters mystery plot by Agatha Christie!!

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  14. * Dan Vera says:

    Okay. Quick question. Was that blue ink photo, from the yarn dye? Or was it actual tasty (looking) pen ink? If so, WHAT WAS THAT COLOR?!?! It looks great!!
    I have become such a Noodler’s FREAK!! MUST STOP! MUST STOP CALLING PENDEMONIUM!! MUst stop using your comments page to send you inky messages. . I did give you credit for the addiction on my site.

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  15. * Jeanne says:

    Yikes! That’s why I dye my own. That way I only have myself to blame. I have fortunately not produced anything quite so awful.

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

