Mystery House



Bliss

Covelite Sock Second More Progress

I’ve made progress on my easy stockinette sock, and that makes me very happy.  Why?  Because this is the sock I work on when I’m knitting with friends.  I can talk and knit and be assured that I won’t make too many mistakes I can’t easily undo.  You can see, by how far along it is, how fortunate I’ve been lately–much good company.  I’ve worked on this sock over tea with friends, and during the open knitting time at my LYS.

Yesterday, I was extra lucky because a group of beautiful knitters came to visit, and we spent the afternoon giggling, eating and clacking away.  It was an honor.  I mean that.  Each of them made a real effort to come.

Kmkat worked late on Saturday night so that she’d have Sunday free to knit.  Kelly only gets one day a week off from running her busy yarn shop.  Sunday is the day she likes to spend with her husband, but she came over to knit instead.  Jeanice did so much creative work before coming over that I’m amazed she had energy left to knit.  Just look at what she brought:

Soap

Soap was the easy part.  Keep going.

Red Napkins

Beautiful handmade cocktail napkins.  We used them right away, so these two are the ones that aren’t down in the laundry room waiting to be washed.  I love cloth napkins, and you don’t see many of them in this size.  And as one who’s quite pathetic with a sewing machine, believe me, I’m impressed by those nice, straight seams.

Luggage Tag

A luggage tag that’s like nobody else’s, so I can easily find my suitcase.

Artist Card 1

Artist Card 2

Front and back, that’s an artist trading card which is not only cute, it makes a perfect bookmark.  I adore unique bookmarks.

Tissue Holder

A pretty tissue holder, which I definitely needed.  But wait, there’s more!  All those things were inside this:

Red Quilted Bag

SQUEEE!  Is that the coolest, most gorgeous quilted bag ever?  It’s the perfect size for carrying along a sock.  You know, when I go to knit with friends.

She made all that.  Well, except the soap.  (If she made that, too, I really am not worthy.)  But, I mean, she actually sewed and quilted that bag.  Jeanice, aren’t you tired?  All this has to be worth a gold medal in the Hostess Gift Olympics.  I absolutely love everything.  Thank you so, so much!

It was a blissful afternoon, and I thank you all.  My sock and I are feeling lucky, and we’re looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * deb says:

    I wouldn’t have been able to make the grade on that one! Good thing I hade that recital!

    Posted 9 years, 3 months ago
  2. * Chris says:

    Wow, sounds like a great afternoon – and what gorgeous goodies.

    Posted 9 years, 3 months ago
  3. * Chris says:

    Wow, sounds like a great afternoon – and what gorgeous goodies.

    Posted 9 years, 3 months ago
  4. * olga says:

    Man-o-live! some day my deary- I’m going to darken your doorway!!!!

    Posted 9 years, 3 months ago
  5. * cursingmama says:

    Sounds like fun –
    my chatting knitting is cruising too.

    Posted 9 years, 3 months ago
  6. * cursingmama says:

    Sounds like fun –
    my chatting knitting is cruising too.

    Posted 9 years, 3 months ago
  7. * bezzie says:

    So talented! Very impressive! I love ATCs…

    Posted 9 years, 3 months ago
  8. * lisa says:

    Neat stuff! I need to meet some knitters and have them over to my house, dammit.

    Posted 9 years, 3 months ago
  9. * Ragan says:

    WOW! What a talented gal!! It sounds like the knitting visit was a blast.
    🙂
    I love your sock too.

    Posted 9 years, 3 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

