Mystery House



The Bear Factory’s Back in Business

The machinery started up again last night.  The smokestacks are puffing out smoke, the pistons are whooshing up and down and the gears are clacking away.  A new Mother Bear is in production.

Second Mother Bear 2

What?  You say that doesn’t look like a bear?  Oh, be patient.  It will.  Here, maybe it will look more bearlike if I prop it up on a ball of yarn.

Second Mother Bear 1

Okay, maybe not.  But it will be a bear.

There are many charity knitting projects out there, and while I applaud them all, this one’s my favorite.  People who are having a rough time need the essentials–food, shelter, warm clothes, medical care–but they also need a little something for their souls.  Who doesn’t need a bear to hold onto?  So if I decline to jump in when requests come around for afghan squares or premie hats or whatever, it’s not because I don’t care.  It’s because I only have so much time to give, and my time’s going into bears.

The friendliest LYS in town is also supporting the Mother Bear Project, with a bear knitting group on the first Thursday of every month.  Please stop in and make bears if you have the time.

If you don’t have time, perhaps you’ll consider making a donation to the Mother Bear Project.  Good old-fashioned cash is needed, too.  Bears don’t travel all the way to Africa for free, you know.  They need plane tickets, and little suitcases to carry their jars of honey (I wonder what Homeland Security thinks about jars of honey?), and, well, all sorts of bear-traveling things.  Quite a bit of work goes into getting bears into the hands of little people who desperately need bears–did you know they sew a heart onto each bear’s sweater before packing it up for the journey?–and the organization can really use your help.

Pitch concluded.  Thanks for reading!  Carry on with your knitting–I certainly have knitting to do.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Jeanne says:

    I don’t think Homeland Security cares much about outgoing honey. They only care about honey coming in. Mother Bear is a very worthy project. I am curious to see that one finished.

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  2. * cursingmama says:

    I will take your word for it that the knitted item is in fact a bear and not a monkey. or dog. or cat.
    Maybe we should really have Dr. Evil give his official endorsement.

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  3. * del says:

    I’ve heard of this one. I try & pick a different charity each year–this one is definitely on my list.

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  4. * olga says:

    ooo-scary bears! it does look like it has pichers- better to pinch all those little kiddies back into conformity….oh I’m just kidden!

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  5. * bezzie says:

    Weird man, your blog was showing up as a cycling blog in bloglines. I had to click over asap to make sure it was still you! Whew! It still is!

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

