Mystery House



Controversial Yarn

There are Noro lovers and Noro haters.  I was a Noro abstainer.  I would pick it up and moon over the incredible colors and put it right back down because of its famously scratchy texture.  I kept toying with the idea of buying a skein just to try it, to see if it remained worthy of all my complaining when knitted up.  Still, I’d pick one up and put it back down–I can’t tell you how many times I’ve done that.  The Noro was biding its time, though.  It knew I’d be back, and it was ready for me.

Lo and behold, there in Bella Lana was Noro Kureyon SockSigh.  Really, the colors are impossible.  You can’t walk past them without picking them up.  And then they sort of stick to your hand once you’ve touched them, forcing you to carry them around the store.  I think those colors must whisper evil ideas while you’re holding them, too, because pretty soon you start thinking about taking them home.  How bad could one ball of sock yarn be, even slightly scratchy sock yarn?  It couldn’t hurt to try it, right? Then you notice that your two girlfriends are thinking the same thoughts, egging you on by allowing sock yarn to get stuck to their hands, too.  Before any of us knew what had happened, we’d each bought a skein and were plotting a knitalong.

Rumors surfaced before we had a chance to get started.  Other knitters we knew had tried the Noro sock yarn, and weren’t happy with it.  Ew, it’s thick in some places and thin in others!  Ew, there are sticks in it!  Ew, it’s rough!  Ew, it knits up funny! Doubts crept in.  Why did we buy this yarn?

Noro Sock Progress

The colors!  I just had to see those colors knitted up.  The three of us cast on and started knitting the Snowdrop Socks, and here’s the big surprise:  I like it.  I really like it.  I was not predisposed to like it, but like it I do.

I don’t mind the thick/thin nature of the yarn.  It’s designed to resemble handspun, and that unevenness is part of its charm.  If you use a pattern with a tight enough gauge (8 stitches/inch for the Snowdrop Socks), it produces a nice fabric.  This is not a yarn which is meant to be knit loosely.

And the texture?  Well, the more I knit, the less I mind the roughness.  I’d say it has tooth.  The yarn seems to soften up a bit as you work with it, and I think it’s going to be just fine once the socks are washed.  See?  There it is on my foot, and I’m not screaming.

Noro Sock Progress 2

In case you’re wondering, yes, I’m persnickety.  I’m not oblivious to torture by yarn.  The Noro simply grew on me in a manner I can’t quite explain.  Will I now like the non-sock Noro yarns?  I don’t know.  The texture might not work as well for me in a scarf or sweater.  I won’t say that Noro’s entire product line has lost its controversial nature.  But the sock yarn?  I’m not even to the heel of my first sock and I’m already scheming the purchase of another skein.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. Pretty! What colorway is yours?
    I’ve also read that it will soften up nicely once washed.

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  2. * Amy says:

    It’s so pretty knit up! I gotta get back to work on mine.

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  3. * Amy says:

    It’s so pretty knit up! I gotta get back to work on mine.

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  4. * bellamoden says:

    That -is- pretty! I don’t think I’ll do it, though. But it -is- pretty!

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  5. * Deb says:

    I caved and bought a skein, too– even after reading initial reports and deciding to pass! 🙂
    I think you’re right— It’s like knitting a single ply hanspun, for sure. It has a fun organic feel–

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  6. * Annie says:

    Isn’t it amazing how yarn (and fiber) just sticks to your hand like that?
    The color, and your socks, are amazing. Must check out that pattern!

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  7. * deb says:

    BWLI – “Because We Like It”.
    It also softens up if you have to rip it out like five times and re-knit it.

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  8. * Ann says:

    I’ve been contemplating the noro sock yarn too. I’ve been saved by the fact the Double Ewe doesn’t have any and I haven’t been to another shop recently. But I’m sure I’ll cave in as soon as I see it because I like Noro yarns. Resistance is futile.

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  9. * Ann says:

    I’ve been contemplating the noro sock yarn too. I’ve been saved by the fact the Double Ewe doesn’t have any and I haven’t been to another shop recently. But I’m sure I’ll cave in as soon as I see it because I like Noro yarns. Resistance is futile.

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  10. * Ragan says:

    The only Noro I have is what was given to me by friends. I did like the Kureyon (how the colors came out when knit up…not the feel gifted the FO. I was given and didn’t like the Silk Garden…but now sock yarn I would be more interested in. Hmm…maybe I can talk the hubby into a trip to the LYS.

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  11. * Chris says:

    The Silk Garden DK makes nice thick house socks, too. 😉
    It’s always those darn gorgeous color combinations and shading that gets me…

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  12. * olga says:

    I’ve always loved my little Noro, and I’m ready to bust anybody’s chops who diss it! Somebody had the audacity to say it had sheep crap in it still! That was a wound I’ll not soon forget…….

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  13. * cursingmama says:

    But is it going to be soft enough to wear on feet – or more important ankles. I love the colors but fear the scratch.

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  14. * cursingmama says:

    But is it going to be soft enough to wear on feet – or more important ankles. I love the colors but fear the scratch.

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  15. * Connie says:

    I don’t mind the “tooth” of the yarn – it feels good on the foot and I love the colors. I am just not sure I will purchase more as there are so many other great sock yarns out there. Your sock looks great!

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  16. * Jeanne says:

    Yes, but have you run into the famous Noro knot yet? What typically happens is that you’ll run into a knot and find that they haven’t bothered to tie on the proper color next, then your color progression is all off. I once knit a sweater with 10 skeins of Kureyon, and there was a knot of that sort in 7 of them.
    However, I have to admit to having a skein of the sock yarn in my stash.

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  17. * Jeanne says:

    Yes, but have you run into the famous Noro knot yet? What typically happens is that you’ll run into a knot and find that they haven’t bothered to tie on the proper color next, then your color progression is all off. I once knit a sweater with 10 skeins of Kureyon, and there was a knot of that sort in 7 of them.
    However, I have to admit to having a skein of the sock yarn in my stash.

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  18. * Carrie K says:

    Softens up when you rip it out and reknit it five times? Uh oh!
    I have some. I just haven’t knit anything with it yet. But it’s pretty.

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  19. * Carrie K says:

    Softens up when you rip it out and reknit it five times? Uh oh!
    I have some. I just haven’t knit anything with it yet. But it’s pretty.

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  20. * kmkat says:

    I saw Deb’s sock last Friday, and I can see why the colors made the skein stick to your hand. Gorgeous.

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  21. * del says:

    You don’t even need to convince me. I LOVE Noro, scratchy & all.

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

