Mystery House


« Yarnival! | Home | Three »

And In the Big Snuggly Scarf Category…

….May I present:

Dayflower Done

Dayflower.

Yarn:  Twinkle Soft Chunky, in Coral
Needles:  US 15s

I tried to tone down the color in the photograph, but this color just isn’t interested in being toned down.  It’s so intense you have to look very hard to see the red scarf pin holding it together.

Scarf Pin

I’m using it as a scarf pin, anyway.  It arrived in a box of vintage Australian knitting needles that I bought, and the dealer wasn’t sure what it was.  It’s too short to be a chopstick.  My best guess is a hair stick that somehow got tossed in with the knitting needles, the way that when you find an old canister of Tinkertoys there are usually a few stray parts of other toys inside.  Any better ideas?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Deb Secrest says:

    Lucky for you it’s still soooooo coooooold outside!! It’s beautiful!

    Posted 9 years, 2 months ago
  2. * Chris says:

    Looks like a hair stick. Dang, that is BRIGHT.

    Posted 9 years, 2 months ago
  3. * nik says:

    The more I see projects knit from the twinkle book, the more I’m tempted to finally buy it. Me likey your scarf.

    Posted 9 years, 2 months ago
  4. * Jeanne says:

    Very bright. That’ll chase the February blues away. It must be a hair stick, although I have to say the last time I opened up my tinker toys, all I had was tinker toys. Which, you are correct, is fairly amazing.

    Posted 9 years, 2 months ago
  5. * bezzie says:

    Oh mama, that is one squishy scarf! Hm, maybe it’s a tinkertoy someone sanded down? 😉

    Posted 9 years, 2 months ago
  6. * bezzie says:

    Oh mama, that is one squishy scarf! Hm, maybe it’s a tinkertoy someone sanded down? 😉

    Posted 9 years, 2 months ago
  7. * Connie says:

    Love the pattern done this way and that color is totally hot! I think you are correct about the “stick”. It looks like the same size stick my daughter has for one of those leather things you put over a bunch of hair and then put a stick into it.

    Posted 9 years, 2 months ago
  8. * Kelle says:

    Had you not said that there was a scarf pin in there, I wouldn’t have seen it at all. It will be good to wear such a hot color in this cold, COLD season.

    Posted 9 years, 2 months ago
  9. * bellamoden says:

    Dude, that’s BRIGHT. But definitely perfect for winter.

    Posted 9 years, 2 months ago
  10. * Deb says:

    Bright amid sub-zero temps is a good thing!

    Posted 9 years, 2 months ago
  11. * Carrie K says:

    Hair stick sounds about right. Shawl pin!
    Very snuggly and bright scarf!

    Posted 9 years, 2 months ago
  12. * Carrie K says:

    Hair stick sounds about right. Shawl pin!
    Very snuggly and bright scarf!

    Posted 9 years, 2 months ago
  13. * del says:

    How beautiful! And my favorite color, too. I did have a hard time spotting the pin, but I think it’s perfect for it.

    Posted 9 years, 2 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

