Mystery House



Happy Valentine’s Day!

Vintage Valentine

I love vintage Valentines, the kind we used to exchange under duress in grade school back when it was possible to buy cards that weren’t infested with whichever cartoon characters were on top of the marketing heap.  Simple, dorky and cute.  My favorite thing about this one is the misspelled word.  Makes it extra charming, somehow.

Okay, this is as far as I go with this Valentine thing.  The M.E. and I don’t celebrate it and we like it like that.  There will be no heart-shaped food on the menu tonight, no flowers arriving, no pressure.  While the other guys at his office are wondering if last-second gas station roses will get them out of trouble, my sweetie is having a guilt-free day.  I like those old cards now, but back in the day the whole Valentine exchange was pure torture.  I occasionally get my act together and send funky cards to my friends, but this is not one of those years.  My act is not together.  So this is what you get, a misspelled card on a web page.  If that’s not enough, stop on by and Dr. Evil will be happy to give you a big Valentine’s Day smooch!

Note:  There will be no Mystery Recipe this week because tomorrow I’ll be posting the February edition of Yarnival.  If you were reading closely, you know I don’t have my act together, and thus cannot post a recipe today.  I’m sure you won’t starve, though.  You’ll have heart-shaped leftovers of some sort, right?  Or there’s always pizza.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Chris says:

    That is an amusing card! Happy Thursday to you. 🙂

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  2. * cursingmama says:

    If you wait too long to buy school valentines all of the “good” characters are gone. If you wait until the very last second all thats left is valentines in a foreign language….go ahead, ask me how I know……
    Looking forward to Yarnival.

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  3. * del says:

    Love it! My husband is also having a guilt-free day. We celebrate with a card & telling each other “Happy Valentine’s Day” & that’s it. No pressure.

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  4. * Deb says:

    E & I don’t celebrate v-day either. He thinks it’s too commercial, and I don’t think there’s any strong argument to make against that one!
    Have a great day, and by all means– spend some time knitting!

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  5. * Jeanne says:

    Michael and I celebrate Valentine’s exactly like you and the M.E. do. It’s for the best, I think.

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  6. * Jeanne says:

    Michael and I celebrate Valentine’s exactly like you and the M.E. do. It’s for the best, I think.

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  7. * bezzie says:

    Hee hee, Chunky’s teacher *always* misspells that word. It drives me nuts! But you’re right, that is a cute card.

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  8. * kitkatknit says:

    Two heart shaped pizza’s were just delivered to my office building. Want me to save you a slice?

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  9. * Connie says:

    Well at least I didn’t read a bah humbug in your post! Have a great day – and you know, the heart shaped pizzas don’t taste half bad.

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  10. * Amy says:

    Or leftover heart-shaped pizza. Since heart-shaped pizza is what we’re having for dinner.

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  11. * Lisa says:

    Happy Valentine’s Day, Miss T! And a big smooch just for Dr. Evil.
    I’m headed home to make a heart-shaped pork roast with some heart-shaped spinach and heart-shaped rice.
    Oh wait a minute, I was kidding, but that just made me think of timbales… hmmm…

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  12. * olga says:

    Ahhh, you ol’ mush head!!! And you said *I* was mushy-just like 8 day old oatmeal. Man, I expect a world class recipe on heart shape pizzas next week to make up for you slackin this week!!! ;o)

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  13. * olga says:

    Ahhh, you ol’ mush head!!! And you said *I* was mushy-just like 8 day old oatmeal. Man, I expect a world class recipe on heart shape pizzas next week to make up for you slackin this week!!! ;o)

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  14. * olga says:

    Ahhh, you ol’ mush head!!! And you said *I* was mushy-just like 8 day old oatmeal. Man, I expect a world class recipe on heart shape pizzas next week to make up for you slackin this week!!! ;o)

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  15. * Carrie K says:

    That is a cute card.

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

