Mystery House



In Which I Resurrect My Ultimate UFO

Real UFO

There are UFOs and UFOs.  Some knitters refer to a project as a UFO if they haven’t touched it for several weeks, or for a few months.  I say projects like that are just taking a wee rest.  I require more longevity from my UFOs.  They should really put some time into it.

I usually have noble intentions of going back to my projects and finishing them.  Sometimes it happens, sometimes it doesn’t.  But when I dive for treasure in the UFO bag, I tend to select one of the more venerable pieces–chances are I still have vivid memories of why I’m peeved at or bored with the more recent ones, and I don’t want to mess with them.  This time, I went way, way back.

Admittedly, this project is not as ancient as the crusty old Roswell aliens and their spacecraft, which some say are under lock and key in Area 51—-they date to 1947.  This bit of knitting only dates to the early 1990’s, maybe the late 80’s, but it’s my oldest UFO.  I can’t remember exactly when I started it.  The pattern originally appeared in the Winter 1987 issue of Knitter’s magazine, and can now be found in  Shawls and Scarves: The Best of Knitter’s Magazine.

Big Lace Shawl Edging

Doesn’t look much like one now, but it’s quite a large lace shawl.  Whenever it was that I started it, I knit the first part of the edging and stopped.  Never started on the middle.  I rolled up the strip of edging and tucked into the base of its cone of alpaca, and it’s been there ever since.

Cone of Alpaca

The shawl has been bugging me lately.  I could hear it calling to me from the UFO bag.  (Yes, the UFOs do have their own knitting bag here at Mystery Central, where they wait and plot against the active projects, jealous as they are.)

UFO Bag

I’d finished the Shetland Triangle and Totally Autumn, and wanted to start another lace project.  A big one.  So, why not?

I’m more interested in lace now than I was at the time I started the shawl–back then I was into sweaters, sweaters, sweaters.  Nothing was really wrong with the project; it simply wasn’t me at that moment.  I was positive, back then, that it would take so long to finish it would be my life’s work–I’d be 99 years old and still working on the first section.  I suppose it would have taken that long, if all I did was knit two or three rows in between sweaters.

This weekend, I unearthed it.  It was happy to see me.  I was happy to see it.  And together we’re off and running.

Big Lace Shawl Resurrection

If you’re a Ravelry member, you can see what the finished shawl looks like here and here.  And if you have that old issue of Knitter’s, it’s the shawl on the cover.  I’m not sure what happened to my copy–I have a sinking feeling that it may have gotten thrown out during a rather dramatic move.  I’m working from my old enlargements of the charts.

Big Lace Shawl Chart

I think I’ll finish it before I’m 99, don’t you?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Annie says:

    Oh, that will be beautiful. Is the color black, or a dark charcoal?

    Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  2. * Annie says:

    Oh, that will be beautiful. Is the color black, or a dark charcoal?

    Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  3. * Deb says:

    If you put your stick-to-it-iveness on it, you’ll finish in 2008! It’ll be a cosy, warm knit in alpaca.

    Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  4. * Connie says:

    Wow – I don’t know if I would have kept the thing around that long! Can’t wait to see the progress!

    Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  5. * cursingmama says:

    Charcoal?
    Very interested to see how quickly you take to it this time. Will it become the object you can’t stand NOT to knit…will it go back where it came from…will you find a whole new use for some mighty fine looking alpaca…

    Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  6. * cursingmama says:

    Charcoal?
    Very interested to see how quickly you take to it this time. Will it become the object you can’t stand NOT to knit…will it go back where it came from…will you find a whole new use for some mighty fine looking alpaca…

    Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  7. * Ann says:

    Hee, hee. I’ve got you beat on the oldest UFO. I’ve got a half done sweater from the late 60’s that I should just frog. I love the picture of the “real” UFO. Taken outside your window – right?

    Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  8. * Ann says:

    Hee, hee. I’ve got you beat on the oldest UFO. I’ve got a half done sweater from the late 60’s that I should just frog. I love the picture of the “real” UFO. Taken outside your window – right?

    Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  9. * olga says:

    ( sorry if I repeat myself-sometimes I’m not sure if my comment really went through- )anyhoo- you should call your knitting bags Area 51 for your UFOs!
    I have some ‘dead’ buried under my bed. I hope they stay there!

    Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  10. * Jeanne says:

    Wow! I thought my 8 year old UFO was old! (It’s frogged now.) I think it will be lovely when it’s done.

    Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  11. * Jeanne says:

    Wow! I thought my 8 year old UFO was old! (It’s frogged now.) I think it will be lovely when it’s done.

    Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  12. * Chris says:

    Wow. That’s pretty amazing!

    Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  13. * Guinifer says:

    and I’ll bet you won’t look a day older than 80!

    Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  14. * ragan says:

    LOL! That was a great post. :o) I hope that you have great luck with this UFO from Area 51! It will be beautiful!

    Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  15. * ragan says:

    LOL! That was a great post. :o) I hope that you have great luck with this UFO from Area 51! It will be beautiful!

    Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  16. When it comes to UFOs I tend to forget what year I even started it in. I may have a few still lingering but I ignore the calls … I think I may be going deaf, until I come across it. Then I’ll finish it. Say, I just put that shawl in my queue. Let’s see how how long it takes me to even start it. So much to do and so little time …

    Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  17. When it comes to UFOs I tend to forget what year I even started it in. I may have a few still lingering but I ignore the calls … I think I may be going deaf, until I come across it. Then I’ll finish it. Say, I just put that shawl in my queue. Let’s see how how long it takes me to even start it. So much to do and so little time …

    Posted 9 years, 7 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

