Mystery House



Twinkle, Twinkle

Twinkle Ball

I adore this yarn.  It’s Twinkle Handknits Soft Chunky, and this color is Coral.  In my photos, it appears to be an intense red, but I think it’s just showing off.  In person, it’s a gorgeous, electrifying coral.  I made the mistake of picking it up in Bella Lana–the color called to me and insisted that I give it just one smoosh, I swear it wasn’t my fault–and I wound up carrying it around.  Unable to put it down, I had to take it home with me.  I had to.

Twinkle is quite possibly the chunkiest yarn I’ve ever worked with, and the skein winds up into such an enormous ball that the M.E. said I looked miniaturized when I was holding it.  I have no problem looking miniaturized, in fact I consider it a benefit of working with the yarn.  I should carry a ball of it around with me at all times–perhaps people will think I’ve lost weight.

So what can I make with two skeins of wild, smooshy, very bossy coral yarn?  The Dayflower Scarf!  The pattern calls for a much less chunky yarn and much smaller needles (I’m using US 15s), but do I care?  Of course not.  I just knew I’d like it knitted up in this yarn, and I do.

Dayflower 3

Once again, the chart made my eyes cross, so I re-drew it.  Worth it, though.  I love the pattern and it’s breezing right along.  I just started in on the second skein, and the scarf is almost as long as the coffeetable.

Dayflower 2

This project is the first in a series prompted by my latest bout of startitis, and it’s going so fast I’ll have to start something else before I know it.  Actually, um, I already have.  Stop in tomorrow for an exciting tale of resurrection.  At least, I’m excited about it.  You’re free to yawn if you like.  I’m not providing pillows and blankies, though, so sleep at your own risk.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. Ooh, that’s pretty. I don’t usually go for heavyweight lace, but the scarf looks really good. : )

    Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  2. Ooh, that’s pretty. I don’t usually go for heavyweight lace, but the scarf looks really good. : )

    Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  3. Ooh, that’s pretty. I don’t usually go for heavyweight lace, but the scarf looks really good. : )

    Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  4. * Connie says:

    I love that pattern with the super thick yarn! I have some silk something or other that is the perfect colorway for that designer’s tiger eye scarf…hmmm…no I better not start that right now 🙂

    Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  5. * Chris says:

    That yarn looks like a giant red brain in the first picture!

    Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  6. * Amy says:

    Ooo, that’s turning out beautifully.

    Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  7. * Amy says:

    Ooo, that’s turning out beautifully.

    Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  8. * deb says:

    That’s some scarf!! It’ll look lovely on you!

    Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  9. * deb says:

    That’s some scarf!! It’ll look lovely on you!

    Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  10. * Deb says:

    Looks like you’re about to have one looooong scarf on your hands!

    Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  11. * Jeanne says:

    That’s going to be a GREAT scarf!

    Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  12. * Jeanne says:

    That’s going to be a GREAT scarf!

    Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  13. * Maria says:

    Pretty yarn! Great pattern! “Bossy” is a good description of that wonderful stuff!!

    Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  14. * Jeanice Domino says:

    I love it!!
    So very pretty–I downloaded that pattern to add to my must-do file which is growing and taking on a life of it’s own!

    Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  15. * ragan says:

    Wow!!!! That is great yarn. I bet it feels sooooooo nice. The scarf is looking terrific!

    Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  16. * ragan says:

    Wow!!!! That is great yarn. I bet it feels sooooooo nice. The scarf is looking terrific!

    Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  17. Pretty. Pretty. Now I am dreaming of some soft squishy chunky baby alpaca hiding in my stash.

    Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  18. Pretty. Pretty. Now I am dreaming of some soft squishy chunky baby alpaca hiding in my stash.

    Posted 9 years, 4 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

