Mystery House



The Case of the Devious Dyelot

I don’t know what Amy’s talking about when she says that there’s nothing to write about simply because all she’s doing is knitting a few rows of this and that.  I’m knitting a few rows of this and that too, and it’s constant drama!

Tuesday it was the Mystery of the Missing Heel Turn.  Last night?  Have a look at this:

Dyelot Problem

I was blithely knitting along until I took a moment to look at my Candleflame wrap in better light.  That’s when panic set in.  [cue suspenseful music] Yes, those two drastically different colors are made from yarn which is allegedly the same dyelot.  I’ve heard that yarn from Handpainted Yarn can vary wildly like this.  And look!  It does!  Of course, I heard that only after acquiring some.

I checked the other three skeins.  One was darker, like the first skein I used.  The others were lighter.  My first thought was to leave it as is, and finish the piece with the darker skein so that it stripes in three wide bands.  Then I realized that I wasn’t really going to like it that way.  I wasn’t going to be ecstatically happy about pulling it out of the closet to wear.  I have to be happy, downright gleeful and silly, about wearing something in order to want to finish it.

And I ain’t afraid to rip.

Say goodbye.  [music rises]

Candleflame Doomed

Here we go.

Candleflame on its way out

Back to its essential yarn-ness, the string it once was.  Sayonara, you sneaky little dyelot.  You shall do no more wickedness here!   [cut music]

Candleflame Ripped

Oh, I’m keeping the yarn.  I love it.  It’s incredibly soft, wonderful to work with and the color is gorgeous.  I’ve already found patterns which should be better suited to its devious nature, and I’ll happily knit with it again.  I’d even buy more yarn from Handpainted, but I’ll be aware of what it’s good for and what it’s not.  I won’t let it sneak up on me.

The moral, now that the Case of the Devious Dyelot has been solved?  Never be afraid to rip.  And knit in good lighting.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * olga says:

    Ohh, it just pains me to read your few last posts on frogging and parties. I was thinking it didn’t look so bad, but then I came to the last pic *sigh* oh well. Tomorrow is another day, right Scarlet?

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  2. * Chris says:

    Wicked, wicked yarn! Such a lovely color, excluding the blotchy paler bits.

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  3. * Jeanice Domino says:

    Oh my, I do know that panicky feeling. Will you make the wrap with another yarn? It was so pretty.
    Jeanice

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  4. Knitting in good light in the Winter can be difficult … but I see what you mean. It’s really obvious with a solid color too. And the project itself makes a difference as you noted. My Clapotis in variegated Sheep Shop 3 wasn’t too noticeable so I still loved it.

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  5. Knitting in good light in the Winter can be difficult … but I see what you mean. It’s really obvious with a solid color too. And the project itself makes a difference as you noted. My Clapotis in variegated Sheep Shop 3 wasn’t too noticeable so I still loved it.

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  6. * ragan says:

    Go you! You aren’t afraid to rip for sure. Too bad about the yarn dyelot differences…Candleflame was looking so lovely.

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  7. * bellamoden says:

    Malabrigo is amazing, but that? Sometimes a pain, yes. What’ll you do with it?

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  8. * Connie says:

    I love that pattern in the larger yarn! Too bad about the variation though…hopefully reknitting will be as much fun as the first time. What is the yarn?

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  9. * Connie says:

    I love that pattern in the larger yarn! Too bad about the variation though…hopefully reknitting will be as much fun as the first time. What is the yarn?

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  10. * Connie says:

    I love that pattern in the larger yarn! Too bad about the variation though…hopefully reknitting will be as much fun as the first time. What is the yarn?

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  11. * cursingmama says:

    I’m still holding my breath from seeing the photo’s of you ripping all that hard work out. Being stubborn I would’ve tried some wicked overdye something or other – or ripped it you never know….
    Interested to hear what you’ve got in mind for the yarn of deviousness…

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  12. * Ann says:

    Oh, I’ve had that happen to me too. Frustrating isn’t it. But you did the right thing. I ran out of thread, used supposedly no dye lot thread to finish and it was glaringly obvious. I kept the thing and it still bugs me whenever I look at it.

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  13. * Carrie K says:

    But it’s a wrap. Wouldn’t it just look shaded/graded?

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  14. * Carrie K says:

    But it’s a wrap. Wouldn’t it just look shaded/graded?

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

