Mystery House



Friends Don’t Let Friends Knit Tired

One of y’all should have stopped me.  I was operating in a sleep-deprived haze yesterday; for some reason I’d slept for only three hours the night before.  I went through the motions, but didn’t accomplish much of anything.  When the knitting hour rolled around, I sat down to pick up the gusset stitches on my sock.

Boy, those stitches were hard to pick up.  Why was I having trouble with this?  Tired, I guess.  Finally managed to do it, then knit a few rounds.  Even with gusset decreases it seemed there were too many stitches on the needles.  They kept slipping off the ends and I had to pick up I don’t know how many dropped stitches.  Had my needles suddenly gotten shorter?  I searched for my fifth needle to help out, but couldn’t find it.  What was going on?  The sock looked strange and it was hard to knit.  I didn’t remember the last sock I made with STR behaving like this.  Was I that tired?  Through the fuzz of my sleepy brain, I strained to analyze the problem.

Hmmm.…

Hard to pick up stitches.
Too many stitches.
Weird-ass looking sock.

Could it be, perhaps, that I’d forgotten to knit the heel?

Covelite Ripped

Let’s just try this one again, shall we?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Connie says:

    Well – that was certainly an interesting experience…I once knit a sock and couldn’t figure out why I had so much yarn left over and it looked strange etc. and then realized that I had not done the heel turn. Had to rip back work over etc.

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  2. * Connie says:

    Well – that was certainly an interesting experience…I once knit a sock and couldn’t figure out why I had so much yarn left over and it looked strange etc. and then realized that I had not done the heel turn. Had to rip back work over etc.

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  3. * argyleandrea says:

    Great story! I bet you’re not the first person to have done that.

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  4. * Kelly says:

    ~chuckle~ I’ve done the same thing…but usually I at least *turn* the heel first…no heel flap, mind you, but it was turned. Sleep is good.

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  5. * Kelly says:

    ~chuckle~ I’ve done the same thing…but usually I at least *turn* the heel first…no heel flap, mind you, but it was turned. Sleep is good.

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  6. * Jeanne says:

    Oops.

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  7. * Jeanne says:

    Oops.

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  8. * Amy says:

    Heh. Now you’re falling into my league of knitting!

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  9. Oh no … I shouldn’t be laughing. But it’s like a car wreck … I can’t stop looking. LOL, it’s because I’ve been there, done that!

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  10. Oh no … I shouldn’t be laughing. But it’s like a car wreck … I can’t stop looking. LOL, it’s because I’ve been there, done that!

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  11. * Chris says:

    D’oh!

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  12. * cursingmama says:

    Hello Miss T – welcome to my world!

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  13. * del says:

    lol, I know when the knitting has licked me. This is why I don’t knit when tired; I just go to sleep.

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  14. * del says:

    lol, I know when the knitting has licked me. This is why I don’t knit when tired; I just go to sleep.

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  15. * Anonymous says:

    Oh – I see – it’s our fault now! Well maybe noe of us slept either. Didja ever think of that?

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  16. * Anonymous says:

    Oh – I see – it’s our fault now! Well maybe noe of us slept either. Didja ever think of that?

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  17. * Jane says:

    Been there, done that. More than once. Leg, flap, gusset, followed by lots of harsh language. Have fun reknitting!

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  18. * ragan says:

    Oh no! Now that IS tired! I hope that it works out for you this time, and that you have been able to sleep better. I think that many knitters have had similar experiences with tired knitting (myself included)…so know that you are not alone!

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  19. * Annie says:

    This may sound mean, so I’ll apologize in advance. I sure would have liked to see a photo of the weird-ass sock before you ripped it. For purely educational purposes, of course, not for our own entertainment!

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  20. * Annie says:

    This may sound mean, so I’ll apologize in advance. I sure would have liked to see a photo of the weird-ass sock before you ripped it. For purely educational purposes, of course, not for our own entertainment!

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  21. * Annie says:

    This may sound mean, so I’ll apologize in advance. I sure would have liked to see a photo of the weird-ass sock before you ripped it. For purely educational purposes, of course, not for our own entertainment!

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  22. * Carrie K says:

    See? Truly an afterthought heel. Maybe not exactly the way Elizabeth Zimmerman envisioned it….

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  23. * kmkat says:

    I forgot the heel cup on both socks I just knitted. Luckily I realized my error after a few rows (the first one) and after picking up about half the gusset stitches (the second one). Maybe I’m getting smarter?
    Nah, I didn’t think so. Thanks for the laugh!

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  24. * Lorette says:

    Been there, done that, know all the swear words.

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  25. * Lorette says:

    Been there, done that, know all the swear words.

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  26. Dude! We are from the same dye lot. I have done that!

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  27. Dude! We are from the same dye lot. I have done that!

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

