Mystery House



Five-Minute Bread: The Conclusion

That recipe for making bread in five minutes that I wrote about last week?  It worked!  Watch this:

When we last left the dough, it was hiding out in the refrigerator.  I extricated a good-sized wad from its hiding place, shaped it into a round that was a bit less wad-like and left it on a pizza peel (sprinkled with cornmeal–very important!) to rest.

When it had spent enough time lolling around, I dusted the top with flour and gave it a few slashes with a knife.

Then, into the preheated oven it went where it miraculously turned into this:

Nice crust, yes?

Again, I really did spend no more than five minutes actually doing any work.  The bread and the oven did the rest of it while I cooked up a batch of leek and potato soup.

I’m duty bound to point out that one of the authors, Zoe Francois, was kind enough to let me know that there’s an errata sheet for the book on her website.  (There’s a button at the top of the page.)  These things happen.  Don’t hold it against them–I didn’t, even though I panicked slightly when, after mixing up the bread, I discovered that the amount of yeast is printed wrong in the book.  It should be 2 Tbsp., not 1-1/2.  But you know what?  The recipe worked anyway!  The loaf came out perhaps a bit heavier than it might have with the correct amount of yeast, but it was good.  We gobbled it up.  Not a single bread molecule left.

I’ll definitely try more recipes from this book (there are lots of variations on the basic recipe–lots), and I’m thrilled to have finally found a method that will allow me to do truly evil, evil deeds like making sticky buns for breakfast without getting up in the middle of the night to start the dough.  (Hours of rising time is the reason that the M.E. claims to have a sticky bun deficiency in his diet.  Well, one of the reasons, anyway.  Whether either of us ever needs to eat a sticky bun is another question.)

See, making use of this idea is not about not wanting to knead, or about not enjoying the traditional breadmaking process–I love both.  It’s about flexibility and having the option to bake up some fast bread when you want it.  You know, for those of us who aren’t always the best at planning ahead and who suddenly realize it’s dinnertime and we had better pull a container of soup out of the freezer and gee, it’s too bad there isn’t any bread, um, do we have a few crackers?  (Not that I would know anything about that.)

So suspend your disbelief and try it.  I think you’ll be pleasantly surprised.  Once again, the recipe is here.  Don’t forget to amend the amount of yeast, and take a look at the book, too!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Chris says:

    Perfect weekend for hot bread and soup!

    Posted 9 years, 3 months ago
  2. * cursingmama says:

    Crust & texture looks good – how was the flavor? I love bread that doesn’t need a pan – I hate cleaning that darn thing.

    Posted 9 years, 3 months ago
  3. * Jeanne says:

    Wow! That does look really good…and so easy.

    Posted 9 years, 3 months ago
  4. * Jeanne says:

    Wow! That does look really good…and so easy.

    Posted 9 years, 3 months ago
  5. * Jeanne says:

    Wow! That does look really good…and so easy.

    Posted 9 years, 3 months ago
  6. * Connie says:

    mmmm-I will have to make this. Makes me hungry for soup but we are having pizza tonight…

    Posted 9 years, 3 months ago
  7. * Zoe Francois says:

    Hi Miss T,
    Your bread is absolutely gorgeous!!! Really I am blown away.
    Thanks for pasting these pictures, it is so much fun to see what people are making with the recipes.
    BTW, you got the yeast right!!! It is 1 1/2 tablespoons or (2 packets), sorry for the confusion. Keep doing exactly what you are, it is obviously working beautifully!
    Zoe Francois

    Posted 9 years, 3 months ago
  8. * Amy says:

    I have to get that book. For me it’s about not wanting to knead and all that, but still, I’d love to have simple homemade bread.

    Posted 9 years, 3 months ago
  9. * Amy says:

    I have to get that book. For me it’s about not wanting to knead and all that, but still, I’d love to have simple homemade bread.

    Posted 9 years, 3 months ago
  10. * ragan says:

    WOW! That looks awesome, and I still cannot believe that it really only took 5 minutes. Ok, since I love to make bread…I have to try this one. I have tested out some of the other recipes you posted in the past (all were well received by my family too).

    Posted 9 years, 3 months ago
  11. * olga says:

    Hmmmm, getting comments from celebs,eh? ( besides us you know) Anyhoo- I made this and I did pizza and some rolls with it, but I didn’t bake it with water in the oven like the recipe called for and it came out good. I’ll try it the ‘right’ was next time!

    Posted 9 years, 3 months ago
  12. * olga says:

    Hmmmm, getting comments from celebs,eh? ( besides us you know) Anyhoo- I made this and I did pizza and some rolls with it, but I didn’t bake it with water in the oven like the recipe called for and it came out good. I’ll try it the ‘right’ was next time!

    Posted 9 years, 3 months ago
  13. Looks yummy! My mom got herself that book for Christmas… hasn’t used it yet, though. I’ll have to prod her after seeing your posts. : )

    Posted 9 years, 3 months ago
  14. Looks yummy! My mom got herself that book for Christmas… hasn’t used it yet, though. I’ll have to prod her after seeing your posts. : )

    Posted 9 years, 3 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

