Mystery House



Five-Minute Bread: A Cliffhanger

The title of this book makes it sound as if there should be a Popeil product involved, but there’s not.  I first heard about it when the very splendid Lynne Rossetto Kasper interviewed the authors on her radio show, The Splendid Table, and I hopped up and down about the idea until the book miraculously appeared under the Christmas tree.  I simply had to try it.  Lynne is never wrong.

Last year, no-knead bread swept through the foodie world like a yeasty tornado, after Mark Bittman’s New York Times article in November 2006.  This year?  We’re more impatient.  Five minutes!  Set your watch and follow along.  This couldn’t be easier.

First, find a 5 quart container.  I didn’t think I had an appropriate plastic one, so I used a Dutch oven.  Make sure it will fit in the fridge (the only part of this recipe that conceivably breaks the five minute mark is clearing space for the pot).

Dissolve yeast and salt in lukewarm water.

Add the flour, all at once.

Stir.

Cover and let it sit on the counter for a few hours, under the watchful eye of the helpful kitchen alien.  (The recipe will still work even if you don’t have an alien–there’s not one in the book.)

After a couple of hours at room temperature, the bread will have risen.  Then it goes into the refrigerator where it lives for up to two weeks.  The flavor is supposed to get better and more complex as it ages, and at any time you can break off as much as you want to, shape it and bake it.  If you only want one little roll to go with a bowl of soup for dinner, bake one roll.  That’s it.

Why is this post a cliffhanger?  Because you don’t get to see the finished bread until next week!  In the meantime, the recipe’s here.  Cross your fingers!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Jeanne says:

    Wow! Who knew bread could be so easy?

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  2. * Jeanne says:

    Wow! Who knew bread could be so easy?

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  3. * bellamoden says:

    Doesn’t sound very five minute-y but I’ll take your word for it!

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  4. * Andrea says:

    Ooh, I’m excited to see how this will turn out! I’ve been meaning to try no-knead bread someday, but I don’t have an appropriate container for it.

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  5. * Andrea says:

    Ooh, I’m excited to see how this will turn out! I’ve been meaning to try no-knead bread someday, but I don’t have an appropriate container for it.

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  6. Hi Miss T,
    Where did you get those utensil holders behind your pot? I love them.

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  7. Hi Miss T,
    Where did you get those utensil holders behind your pot? I love them.

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  8. * cursingmama says:

    This intrigues me, but I must confess I like to knead bread….

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  9. * cursingmama says:

    This intrigues me, but I must confess I like to knead bread….

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  10. * Chris says:

    Gluten free bread is that easy! 🙂

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  11. * bezzie says:

    I’m with cursingmama, I do enjoy a good knead. It’s only rivaled by a good pottery clay wedge. But I’m intrigued by the idea of just breaking off a hunk every here and there…

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  12. * bezzie says:

    I’m with cursingmama, I do enjoy a good knead. It’s only rivaled by a good pottery clay wedge. But I’m intrigued by the idea of just breaking off a hunk every here and there…

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  13. * olga says:

    hmm, I may actually try this! Don’t die of shock over this confession, but I make pizza dough and rolls at least once a week. Think this would make good pizza dough?

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  14. * olga says:

    hmm, I may actually try this! Don’t die of shock over this confession, but I make pizza dough and rolls at least once a week. Think this would make good pizza dough?

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  15. * Zoe Francois says:

    Hi Miss T,
    I saw your post on the Steamy Kitchen and I just had to check out your website. Great minds do think alike! I’ll stop back next week for sure to view your bread!
    Thanks so much for trying the recipe and sharing it with your readers.
    I have an errata sheet posted at my website so you can check out all the editing mishaps in the book.
    http://www.zoebakes.com
    Thanks, Zoe Francois

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

