Mystery House



No Rules


January has brought a blizzard of resolutions.  Knitters far and wide are proclaiming that they have too much yarn and intend to do something about it.  They’ll knit only from the stash!  They won’t buy any yarn whatsoever in 2008!  Many have crafted stern, arcane rules for themselves.

No buying yarn unless I’m at a fiber festival and it would be unseemly not to, and then only as much as will fit in a one-quart dry measure!

I can only buy yarn if entertaining a visiting knitting dignitary, and then only if said dignitary purchases twice as much yarn (determined by yardage) as I do at the same LYS!

Sock yarn is an exception (unless it’s blue, self-striping or silk blend) and can only be purchased in months ending with a “y” and if gas is under $3 a gallon!

Sock yarn is not an exception, but I can buy yarn for one sweater as long as I have knit 45 sweaters already this year and have eaten all my peas!

You’ve noticed, perhaps, that no such rules are being made at the Mystery House?

Now don’t get me wrong.  I have great respect for anyone who makes a serious, honest resolution and follows through with it, and I’ll be the first to step up and provide cheerleading services.  If rules like that make you feel happy and secure, more power to you.  Legislate away, and I’ll be standing by to wish you luck and offer encouragement.  But when it comes to myself, I know better.  Anything that complicated and hard-assed just isn’t going to work.

I’m known to rebel against any such rules, and the moment I make a resolution like that is the exact same moment I start to feel deprived, so horribly, horribly deprived that I believe myself to be on the brink of death and will immediately start searching for some nice laceweight cashmere.  Gasp, cough, hack–Need. Yarn. Send. Yarn. Fast!


The fact is, I don’t need to buy yarn right now.  I’m fortunate, very fortunate, to have a beautiful, tremendous stash which contains within it the makings of many exciting projects.  I’m looking forward to knitting from my stash this year, and that is my intention, to look first to the materials I already have.  But I’m not approaching it as some sort of deprivation-based yarn diet.  Blech.  No, my stash is inspiration.  It is projects.  Wonderful, wonderful projects.

For a few days, I was a member of the Stash Down group on Ravelry, thinking okay, this will be a nice reminder to knit from my stash.  Then I unjoined, because I don’t want to discuss it or find wacky ways to use up as much yarn as possible as fast as possible.  To me, that’s boring and it gives the stash power over me instead of the other way around.  I’m not going to obsess over my stash.  I just want to make some pretty things, exactly what I want at the moment.  If I have the yarn, great.  If I don’t have the right yarn for what I want to make, I’ll buy some.  The stash isn’t going to fall on my head and crush me if I buy a couple of skeins.

This is my knitting.  It’s what I love to do.  Life is short and I’m going to knit exactly whatever I damn well want to in 2008, whether it’s from my stash or not.  So there.  That’s my declaration, my only knitting resolution for the year:  Knit happy.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Lisa says:

    Substitute “books” for “yarn” and you sound exactly like me.
    Signed, Home From Work Waiting for IKEA to Deliver the New Bookcases.

    Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  2. * Connie says:

    Wonderfully said…did you know that Coldwater’s big SuperBowl Sunday sale is coming up next month?

    Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  3. * Connie says:

    Wonderfully said…did you know that Coldwater’s big SuperBowl Sunday sale is coming up next month?

    Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  4. * Amy says:

    Now there’s a resolution I could live with.

    Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  5. * Amy says:

    Now there’s a resolution I could live with.

    Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  6. * Hanne says:

    I tried to knit from stash last year. This year I was wiser and made no promises. Life has bigger problems than owning pretty yarn. I don’t think I should be ashamed for owning lots and lots of beautiful things I like. After all, I don’t buy more than I can afford. Some of them will be knitted eventually. Others stay in stash waiting for the right moment or might be sold to someone else.

    Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  7. * Panda says:

    Good for you! Knit happy!

    Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  8. * Micki says:

    Brava! While I love my extensive stash, I’ve never found the idea of knitting from it exclusively particularly appealing. If I only knit from my stash, then I would have, well, less stash. That couldn’t be a good thing.

    Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  9. * Lorette says:

    I’m one of those crazy resolvers, but I’m not going to feel too guilty if I cave at some point. Just looing at all that yarn up there makes me want to shop! (Especially that shiny blue stuff. Ohhh, shiny!)

    Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  10. * Carrie K says:

    That’s exactly why I’m avoiding KAL’s and Challenges this year. Once something is “assigned”? Yikes.

    Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  11. * Sarah R says:

    I can get behind this. Of course, the fact that I just pulled the trigger on a cart full of yarn at Loopy Ewe might have something to do with this feeling.

    Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  12. * Sarah R says:

    I can get behind this. Of course, the fact that I just pulled the trigger on a cart full of yarn at Loopy Ewe might have something to do with this feeling.

    Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  13. * bellamoden says:

    Knit happy! You’re exactly right 🙂

    Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  14. * Renee says:

    I’m with you. I’m not into making impossible rules that I can’t possibly follow and then feeling bad about it and myself. I am trying to stay within a budget, which includes a budget for craft items, but it’s totally open up to that point.

    Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  15. * Ragan says:

    Hahahah!!! That was great!

    Posted 9 years, 10 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

