Mystery House



Unconventional Udon


The week before Christmas is not when I try out new recipes for dinner.  Too much other cooking and stressing out to be done.  However, I’m not opposed to a bit of improvisation as long as it’s not too taxing, and especially if it involves comfort food.

Noodles = comfort.  Noodles, noodles, noodles!  Noodles good.

I had some lovely udon from my favorite little Japanese grocery, and decided to see what I could do with it.  This recipe might be quite appalling to anyone who’s a stickler for authenticity; it isn’t perfectly Japanese.  But it’s easy and fast and tasted good, so I don’t care.  If you’ve got time to be fussy about details this week, well, then you’ve got time to come over and finish the baking for me.



Miss T’s Unconventional Udon (for two)

Stir fry:

2 chicken breasts, cut into bite-sized pieces.

Add:

2 cloves garlic, chopped
1 Tbsp. chopped ginger

Stir fry for a minute or two, then add and stir fry:

2 dried Shittake mushrooms, soaked in boiling water and cut into thin strips
1 or 2 scallions, chopped

Cook in boiling, salted water:

Approx. 6 – 8 oz. udon noodles

Udon should be al dente (now there’s a proper Japanese term for you) but still nice and silky on the outside–this fabulous texture is why the Japanese are so crazy about this particular noodle.   They’re just fun to eat, in addition to tasting good.

Drain noodles and rinse briefly with cold water.  The starch has to be rinsed from udon, so don’t skip this step!

Toss noodles together with chicken mixture and this dressing.  It’s all approximate; I just threw it together and didn’t actually measure:

2 Tbsp. mirin
3 Tbsp. low-sodium soy sauce
1/2 tsp. sugar
2 Tbsp. water
red pepper flakes to taste
2 Tbsp. sesame oil

Slurp up with chopsticks immediately.  Chases pre-Christmas wicked cranky blues like you won’t believe.

Merry Christmas!


Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * bellamoden says:

    I’m hungry now! It sounds like a bevy of cromulence!

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  2. * Amy says:

    Oh, yum.

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  3. * Amy says:

    Oh, yum.

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  4. * deb says:

    Why so wickedly cranky blue my friend????

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  5. * deb says:

    Why so wickedly cranky blue my friend????

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  6. * Chris says:

    Sounds tasty – I wonder how it would taste with rice noodles…

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  7. * cursingmama says:

    Well now I’m hungry for Asian – – I don’t suppose I can do take out for Christmas!
    Merry Christmas –

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  8. * cursingmama says:

    Well now I’m hungry for Asian – – I don’t suppose I can do take out for Christmas!
    Merry Christmas –

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  9. * cursingmama says:

    Well now I’m hungry for Asian – – I don’t suppose I can do take out for Christmas!
    Merry Christmas –

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  10. * Jeanne says:

    Sounds good! Have a wonderful Christmas!

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  11. * Kitt says:

    Yum! Hope your Christmas was equally tasty.

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

