Mystery House


« Luck | Home | Soda Bread »

Mistake Night

Last night was the knitting equivalent of a bad hair day.  All day I’d looked forward to working on my Shetland Triangle, but when the time came all I could do was make mistakes and take them out.  I would discover something wrong, carefully pick back the row, knit it again, find another booboo, rinse, repeat…way more unknitting than knitting.

The Shetland Triangle is clearly written and easily within my capabilities as a knitter, so the pattern wasn’t the problem.  Nor was it the yarn.  It wasn’t the TV; I’ve knit during Kitchen Nightmares before, without trouble.  I wasn’t the problem, either, if you can believe that.  Evidently, it was simply the wrong moment for that piece of knitting.  The Shetland Triangle wasn’t in the mood.

(Yes, I know that photograph is crappy.  See?  It’s still not cooperating.) After taking it out umpty-leven times, I traded it in for Totally Autumn.  Also lace.  Also easy.


But this time, no problem.  Not one mistake.  I knitted happily away as Gordon Ramsey hollered at inept restaurant staff, wondering why the Shetland Triangle couldn’t have been so cooperative and why there isn’t a Gordon Ramsey for recalcitrant knitting.

So.  Tonight.  What will it be?  Who’s going to behave like a properly brought up piece of lace and who isn’t?  The suspense is killing me.


Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * cursingmama says:

    I, personally, am very glad that Gordon Ramsey is not coming to my house to yell at me for craptacular knitting skills. He’s a little scary.

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  2. * Jeanne says:

    I find the idea of knitting lace, with someone hollering in the background incredible. I don’t know that I could do it, no matter what the project.

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  3. * Connie says:

    I had the same thing happen to me yesterday – finally got it to work out in the end though so I can move forward today 🙂 Maybe there was something in the air?

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  4. * Connie says:

    I had the same thing happen to me yesterday – finally got it to work out in the end though so I can move forward today 🙂 Maybe there was something in the air?

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  5. * Chris says:

    Hopefully you don’t have to start a new project to end up with one that will work with you tonight!

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  6. * Chris says:

    Hopefully you don’t have to start a new project to end up with one that will work with you tonight!

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  7. * deb says:

    Maybe it fell down the steps in some really cute jeans?

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  8. * olga says:

    Is he the same guy who did the Hells’ kitchen show? I just knew cookin had bad karma!!!

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  9. * del says:

    I’m just impressed you can knit at all while Kitchen Nightmares is on. I’m so glued to the set, that all knitting is off!

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  10. * del says:

    I’m just impressed you can knit at all while Kitchen Nightmares is on. I’m so glued to the set, that all knitting is off!

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  11. Ah, the knitting gods are so fickle!

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  12. * Ragan says:

    Oh no, I hope that next time you work on the Shetland you have better luck!

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  13. * Kelle says:

    It’s a mystery. I’ve had many the nights with the same problem. I can’t figure it out.

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  14. * Kelle says:

    It’s a mystery. I’ve had many the nights with the same problem. I can’t figure it out.

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

