Mystery House



Indonesian Pork & Coconut Stew

Time for the crock pot to come out of hibernation for the season.  When I remember to use it, I love my crock pot.  As I’m writing this at noon, dinner’s cooking in the kitchen without my having to fuss with it, and the house smells beautifully of curry.

The recipe comes from The Slow Cooker Ready & Waiting Cookbook, by Rick Rodgers.  Could he have come up with a longer title?  Never mind, it’s a terrific book.  Not a can of condensed soup anywhere near it.  Now, slow cooker does not mean no prep–no prep usually means no flavor and the heavy use of convenience products.  Blech.  My anti-overly-processed-food self likes this book because it takes the opposite approach:  it’s all about the flavor.  Here, the point of slow cooking is the magic yielded by long simmering at a very low temperature–not transforming the cook into some sort of sodium and preservative flinging Sandra Lee wannabe.  Even though there’s prep involved, however, this is a very easy recipe.

I’ve adapted the original recipe, which was for a veal stew, and my version is below.  This will be one of those follow the bouncing ball recipes, so come along…


Indonesian Pork & Coconut Stew, as adapted from Rick Rodgers

First, cut about three pounds of boneless pork into bite-sized chunks.  In batches, brown it in a bit of vegetable oil.

Drain the pork on paper towels and put it in the slow cooker.  Stir in two Tbsp. soy sauce.


Chop a medium onion and two big jalapenos (fewer if you don’t like hot peppers).


Cook in about a tablespoon of oil long enough to soften.  Maybe five minutes or so.

Then add five cloves garlic (the original recipe called for only two, but I’m me), minced, and the following spices:

2 tsp. curry powder
1 tsp. salt
1 tsp. ground ginger
1/2 tsp. ground cumin
1/8 tsp. cayenne


Cook for a minute or two, being careful not to burn the spices.  It will look pretty and smell good.  Add to the slow cooker and give it a good stir.

Then throw in 1 c. unsweetened coconut flakes.  I buy it at the natural food store, in the bulk section.  This is what it looks like:


If you can’t find unsweetened coconut, you could buy the sugared stuff and give it a good rinse, but I haven’t tried that.

Stir it all together, turn the crock pot to low, make a cup of tea and trundle off to knit work on the Hat of Doom.

After six or seven hours, the meat will be incredibly tender.  Stir in a half cup of plain yogurt and a good handful of roasted, unsalted peanuts, and it’s ready.  I served this with basmati rice.


The flavor’s fantastic.  Far more complex and mysterious than you’d expect from such a short list of ingredients.  This one’s going to become a favorite, no doubt about it.

And the Hat of Doom?  It’s getting there.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * bezzie says:

    Hm, I wonder would it be gross if the coconut was sweetened? I only say this because pork seems to be paired with sweet stuff all the time–dried plums, applesauce, apricot glaze..etc.

    Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  2. * kmkat says:

    I love my crockpot, too, so I printed out this recipe. It sounds incredibly yummy. (There will be jalpeños and lots of garlic in my version, too.) We have sworn not to buy any meat until we empty our freezer of such proteinacious substances,some of which bear dates from the Bronze Age, but I think I need break that rule for this one.

    Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  3. * kmkat says:

    I love my crockpot, too, so I printed out this recipe. It sounds incredibly yummy. (There will be jalpeños and lots of garlic in my version, too.) We have sworn not to buy any meat until we empty our freezer of such proteinacious substances,some of which bear dates from the Bronze Age, but I think I need break that rule for this one.

    Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  4. * deb says:

    It sounds like something I WANT to like but ultimately would pass over in favor of the steak!

    Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  5. * deb says:

    It sounds like something I WANT to like but ultimately would pass over in favor of the steak!

    Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  6. * deb says:

    It sounds like something I WANT to like but ultimately would pass over in favor of the steak!

    Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  7. * Jeanne says:

    The crock pot is the greatest thing ever! Dump a bunch of stuff in and let ‘er go. That’s my kind of cooking.

    Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  8. * Chris says:

    Sounds delicious! Hmm, I wonder how I could actually use my slow cooker with these busy cats…

    Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  9. * Chris says:

    Sounds delicious! Hmm, I wonder how I could actually use my slow cooker with these busy cats…

    Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  10. * Chris says:

    Sounds delicious! Hmm, I wonder how I could actually use my slow cooker with these busy cats…

    Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  11. * Jaden says:

    hey, what a great idea to make Asian stews in a crock pot! I have no idea why I kept thinking that crock pots are for boring western dishes.
    Thank you!!!

    Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  12. * Kelle says:

    I’m intrigued, I think I’m going to have to try this one. Something that cooks while I do other things is the best, dare I say, the only way to cook.

    Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  13. * bellamoden says:

    Boy that recipe sounds good! Swap it for chicken and mmmmmmm.
    That hat on the other hand is scary…..

    Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  14. * bellamoden says:

    Boy that recipe sounds good! Swap it for chicken and mmmmmmm.
    That hat on the other hand is scary…..

    Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  15. * suec says:

    Hi- so the recipe sounds great and i’ve already copied it down for after Tday but it seems like there should be some liquid added or do i just need reassurance that it will turn out fine without any? the stew part of the name is what makes me want to use broth or wine or something. anyway, happy thanksgiving!

    Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  16. * suec says:

    Hi- so the recipe sounds great and i’ve already copied it down for after Tday but it seems like there should be some liquid added or do i just need reassurance that it will turn out fine without any? the stew part of the name is what makes me want to use broth or wine or something. anyway, happy thanksgiving!

    Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  17. * Tonni says:

    This dish sounds wonderful! I love crock pot cooking… just don’t love the “trundling off to work” – it gets in the way of knitting!

    Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  18. * Tonni says:

    This dish sounds wonderful! I love crock pot cooking… just don’t love the “trundling off to work” – it gets in the way of knitting!

    Posted 9 years, 7 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

