Mystery House



Good Old Mac & Cheese

Yesterday was a day for comfort food.  Did my subconscious somehow know, when I planned the week’s menus, that Thursday would be such a sad day?  I don’t know, but it’s the day I chose to try a new recipe for Macaroni & Cheese.

I don’t have pictures of it looking pretty on the plate, alas.  My head wasn’t with it and I forgot to take them.  But you know what Mac & Cheese looks like.  Mac.  With cheese.  Okay, okay, a good blog post needs photos.  Here’s a picture of the leftovers:


There’s a goodly amount left, because it’s rich.  This is a stovetop version from The Best Recipe by Cook’s Illustrated.  (I have the older edition of the book, this link takes you to the new one.)  You can also find the recipe here.  And you will want to find it, because it’s really, really good.

My mom always made baked macaroni and cheese when I was growing up, which is delicious but far less rich, so I’d never had the ultra creamy version until I tried it myself.  I like both kinds, depending on my mood.  Yesterday’s mood required all the cheese.  And this recipe delivered.

Try it.  It’s easy, aside from a lot of grating.  (Don’t use pre-grated cheese in this!  Get a good sharp Wisconsin cheddar and grate it yourself.)  At one point just after the cheese has melted, it will look like cheese soup.  Keep stirring until the sauce is good and hot, and it’s thickened.  It’s worth it.  Especially on a sad November day.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Connie says:

    WOW – that sounds REALLY rich! We have a recipe that some friends brought along while we were vacationing that my kids love! It is the baked variety – there is a generous amount of bread crumbs on the top – everyone likes the crunchy stuff! Hmmm – maybe that is what I should make for dinner tonight…it is cloudy, cold, and snowing a little here.

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  2. * Jeanne says:

    Drat. I don’t work for a couple of Friday’s and here I am again before lunch. I’m wondering why no pre-grated cheese because I am a truly lazy cook when I bother to do so.

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  3. * Jeanne says:

    Drat. I don’t work for a couple of Friday’s and here I am again before lunch. I’m wondering why no pre-grated cheese because I am a truly lazy cook when I bother to do so.

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  4. * bezzie says:

    I bake my mac n’cheese and use a roux. But that recipe looks soooo rich!

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  5. * deb says:

    See – if you were Jon and you were really sad, you’d make that same mac & cheese and throw in a few cooked hot dogs and then all would be right with the world!!

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  6. * deb says:

    See – if you were Jon and you were really sad, you’d make that same mac & cheese and throw in a few cooked hot dogs and then all would be right with the world!!

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  7. * del says:

    I LOVE saucy mac & cheese. After learning how to make it, I can’t go back to that other dry stuff. Sorry about the bad day, but mac & cheese always makes it better, doesn’t it?

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  8. * del says:

    I LOVE saucy mac & cheese. After learning how to make it, I can’t go back to that other dry stuff. Sorry about the bad day, but mac & cheese always makes it better, doesn’t it?

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  9. * Dyann says:

    Yum! I’m going to give that recipe a try.

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  10. * Birdie says:

    Man, all we make around here is the box stuff. I think I’ll treat the boys to this recipe tonight. I need a good comfort dish, myself. Huge hugs.

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

