Mystery House



First Blogiversary

Happy Blogiversary to me!


Whew, that year went fast.  For someone who wasn’t certain she should do this in the first place, I’ve sure been tapping on the keys a lot.  This blogging thing isn’t so bad.  I’ve gained a few new friends, and found that blogging makes a nice daily writing warmup before I move on to the real work of the day.  But it’s more than that.

Del
wrote recently about how blogging’s made her a better knitter.  I had to stop and think about that.  I was a knitter long before blogs existed.  Has blogging affected my knitting?

The surprising answer–surprising to me–is yes.  It has.  I didn’t expect that, but I have become a better knitter since I’ve started this blog.  There is, of course, the concern about how things look in the photographs.  If a whole bunch of people who don’t know me are going to see something I’ve made, I’d better do a good job on it.  There are also tremendous resources online, which you pay more attention to if you’re blogging and reading other people’s blogs:  hundreds of patterns, yarns that don’t appear in the LYS, video or photo tutorials which go beyond what printed instructions can offer.

But it’s more than all that, too.  Blogging has made me think more deeply about my technique.  Why do I do things the way I do them?  Is there a better way, and can I learn it?  The exchange of ideas plays a big part.  There are far more knitters with ideas than there are knitting books and magazines.  Even with a vast library, no knitter could gain as many different perspectives as there are floating around the blog world.  The monkey-see, monkey-do factor doesn’t hurt, either.  As human beings we’re all subject to it, and it’s impossible to resist trying a new technique or pattern or great idea seen on somebody else’s site.

The more I see what other knitters are cooking up, the more I want my own knitting to become wonderful and exciting.  Writing about my knitting on an almost-daily basis has really made me pay close attention to the quality of my work.  I’m forced to think about the what, why and how of it, the story of it and why it’s important to me.  And it is important to me, to who I am as a creative person.

So, I’m working on my knitting.  Better finishing and blocking.  More attention to stitch technique, fit and design.  New skills, like dyeing.  There’s a ton of stuff to learn.

I started this blog with the idea that I could quit in a few months if it wasn’t working for me, but I think I’ll keep it going.  And in honor of my First Blogiversary and all the goodness I’ve gained from doing this, I’m giving away yarn!  (You were hoping that was coming, right?  Presumably that’s why you bothered to read this far.)

Leave me a comment on this post and let me know what blogging’s done for you (if you have a blog) or what reading blogs has done for you (if you don’t have a blog) and I’ll throw your name into the hat (probably a ceramic pot, in reality, unless I can find an interesting hat).  I’ll accept entries through Sunday, November 11th, 2007.  On Monday, I’ll draw a name and the winner will receive some yarn from my overflowing stash.  What will it be?  I don’t know!  But it will be free yarn, and that’s what counts, right?  Because we all need more yarn.  Especially if it’s free.  New readers are welcome to enter, and I do hope you’ll stop in again to see what nonsense I’ve gotten myself into here at the Mystery House, whether you win or not.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Connie says:

    It has been a pleasure reading your blog everyday – it’s fun to read and see what you are working on. My blog has helped me give updates to my mom – without having to do it directly! (Complicated, I know).

    Posted 10 years ago
  2. * bezzie says:

    Happy Bloggoversary!
    Blogging helped me find my oven knob. I am eternally grateful for that!

    Posted 10 years ago
  3. * Chris says:

    Happy blogiversary! I love the connectedness, too. In the past year, bloggers from Australia stayed with me, I went to the State Fair with bloggers from the UK, and I stayed with some Colorado bloggers during my vacation. Last year I wrote a little bit about one aspect of what blogging means to me: http://www.stumblingoverchaos.com/?p=96

    Posted 10 years ago
  4. * Chris says:

    Happy blogiversary! I love the connectedness, too. In the past year, bloggers from Australia stayed with me, I went to the State Fair with bloggers from the UK, and I stayed with some Colorado bloggers during my vacation. Last year I wrote a little bit about one aspect of what blogging means to me: http://www.stumblingoverchaos.com/?p=96

    Posted 10 years ago
  5. * Deb says:

    Like you, I’ve been blogging for just under a year. What has it done for me?
    -It’s nice to have a database with context. Oh yes, I started the sock *that* month. Ah, that’s when that event happened…
    -It’s nice to look back at a year’s worth of knitting and come to realizations about yourself. Everyone is different, of course.
    (For me, I’ve finally come to terms with sock knitting. That is, I’m primarilly a sock knitter. Love socks, can’t deny it. Also, I’m going through an orange stage. Orange. I used to hate orange!)
    The best part? There’s quite a community in knitblog land to meet.

    Posted 10 years ago
  6. * Deb says:

    Like you, I’ve been blogging for just under a year. What has it done for me?
    -It’s nice to have a database with context. Oh yes, I started the sock *that* month. Ah, that’s when that event happened…
    -It’s nice to look back at a year’s worth of knitting and come to realizations about yourself. Everyone is different, of course.
    (For me, I’ve finally come to terms with sock knitting. That is, I’m primarilly a sock knitter. Love socks, can’t deny it. Also, I’m going through an orange stage. Orange. I used to hate orange!)
    The best part? There’s quite a community in knitblog land to meet.

    Posted 10 years ago
  7. * Lisa says:

    Congratulations! I have been so happy to find your blog. Blogging has made me a better writer, but the best thing that blogging has done for me is given me so many friends. I’ve made friends around the country and even a couple of local friends through my blog.

    Posted 10 years ago
  8. * Clare says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog – glad you liked the scarf and that you entered my contest! Congrats on your year anniversary, sounds that you have discovered alot of the things that I have – the unexpected blogjoys. I hadn’t really thought about how blogging had affected my knitting, but after reading your post, I agree – my knitting is better, for many, many reasons (including practice), but alot to do with seeing other idea, realising that it is a flexible art (I spent many years thinking there was only one way to cast on, cast off, cable, etc). Now I can share new ideas with my mum, who has knitted all her life.

    Posted 10 years ago
  9. * Clare says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog – glad you liked the scarf and that you entered my contest! Congrats on your year anniversary, sounds that you have discovered alot of the things that I have – the unexpected blogjoys. I hadn’t really thought about how blogging had affected my knitting, but after reading your post, I agree – my knitting is better, for many, many reasons (including practice), but alot to do with seeing other idea, realising that it is a flexible art (I spent many years thinking there was only one way to cast on, cast off, cable, etc). Now I can share new ideas with my mum, who has knitted all her life.

    Posted 10 years ago
  10. * Amy says:

    Ahem…I believe I was the one who nagged er I mean advised you into blogging…ahem ahem…
    Blogging is all about the community. About feeling inspired about what others do, even if it’s way too advanced for me yet. About learning about cool indie vendors, whether it’s dyers or stitch-marker makers or whatever. It’s all about making friends, some I’m likely never to meet in my lifetime, but friends nonetheless.
    And as Bezzie said, when blogging helps you find your oven button, you know it has to be good.

    Posted 10 years ago
  11. * deb says:

    Happy B-versary. One word – friends!!

    Posted 10 years ago
  12. * deb says:

    Happy B-versary. One word – friends!!

    Posted 10 years ago
  13. * deb says:

    Happy B-versary. One word – friends!!

    Posted 10 years ago
  14. * del says:

    Happy Blogiversary! I’m so glad I gave you some food for thought & you discovered so many things about yourself & your knitting!

    Posted 10 years ago
  15. * Renee says:

    Happy Blogiversay!! I really like the image you used for this post!
    I think the greatest thing I have gotten out of blogging is just feeling like I’m part of a community. I feel like I’m among friends right away when I meet other bloggers, because I know them and they know me, to a certain extent, even before we’ve met in person.

    Posted 10 years ago
  16. * olga says:

    Well happy happy Birthblog day to you!!!! Boy- you summed it up pretty good in your post what finding blogging has done for me! It is a challenge to everything you think you know, always streching your creative limits and your mind! Blogging has forced me to move out of my comfort zone and do stuff I never thought I’d do-like talk to strangers!!!!And want to seek strangers out! So yeah, it’s ( I hope) making me a better writer and knitter and thinker. And stalker……heehee

    Posted 10 years ago
  17. * olga says:

    Well happy happy Birthblog day to you!!!! Boy- you summed it up pretty good in your post what finding blogging has done for me! It is a challenge to everything you think you know, always streching your creative limits and your mind! Blogging has forced me to move out of my comfort zone and do stuff I never thought I’d do-like talk to strangers!!!!And want to seek strangers out! So yeah, it’s ( I hope) making me a better writer and knitter and thinker. And stalker……heehee

    Posted 10 years ago
  18. * bellamoden says:

    Free yarn!
    Okay, I’ll contain myself. 😉
    Blogging has been my everything… even when there are weeks that I’m crazy busy, I am connected to others, and that’s amazing. The connections and relationships I have developed with others, wow. Definitely would never happen any other way.
    I started blogging shortly after I learned knitting – why? Good question. No clue – but I’m glad I did! I’ve grown so much as a knitter, been exposed to so many ideas, and have found a community with like-minded knitters. That’s amazing.
    And my little international business (which I suppose it technically is) wouldn’t be possible at all. For sure. Without blogging.

    Posted 10 years ago
  19. * kmkat says:

    I’ve *met* many knitters and been happily surprised at how similar some of us are in our world view; I’ve met others who have given me a glimpse into totally different lives. I’ve learned a lot about knitting — techniques, patterns, yarns, the fact that some people actually [gasp!] spin and/or dye their own. My writing has improved a bit and my photography skills have improved a lot. Mostly, though, I love talking about myself [vbg]!

    Posted 10 years ago
  20. * Nicole says:

    Happy blogiversary!
    I’m not a blogger, but reading blogs has provided me with a lot of inspiration and advice. I’ve gotten so many ideas about new skills to learn and new things to try, and as a fairly new knitter (I learned to knit a little over a year ago, so I’ve been reading blogs since the start) I’ve been able to take advantage of a lot of tutorials that people have posted. And for the most part, bloggers have been very friendly and willing to answer a few questions.

    Posted 10 years ago
  21. * Nicole says:

    Happy blogiversary!
    I’m not a blogger, but reading blogs has provided me with a lot of inspiration and advice. I’ve gotten so many ideas about new skills to learn and new things to try, and as a fairly new knitter (I learned to knit a little over a year ago, so I’ve been reading blogs since the start) I’ve been able to take advantage of a lot of tutorials that people have posted. And for the most part, bloggers have been very friendly and willing to answer a few questions.

    Posted 10 years ago
  22. * Jen says:

    Happy Blog Birthday to you! You’ve done a wonderful job with your blog and it’s so much fun to read!

    Posted 10 years ago
  23. * Jen says:

    Happy Blog Birthday to you! You’ve done a wonderful job with your blog and it’s so much fun to read!

    Posted 10 years ago
  24. I love blogging, it’s a place to vent and to share.
    I love reading blogs because it’s a place to see the opinions and lives of others and to see what they’re working on. Some are so funny, it’s a boost to my day. Also, since we’re kind of new to our town, I don’t know many people yet. My husband calls the bloggers my “imaginary friends”. But I’ve met several, so I know they’re real!

    Posted 10 years ago
  25. * melanie says:

    Congratulations!
    Blogging has helped me to gather courage in learning new techniques – lace, cables, knitting in the round, and SOCKS! I’d still be knitting scarves if I wasn’t a blogger and didn’t have all of my blog friends.

    Posted 10 years ago
  26. * melanie says:

    Congratulations!
    Blogging has helped me to gather courage in learning new techniques – lace, cables, knitting in the round, and SOCKS! I’d still be knitting scarves if I wasn’t a blogger and didn’t have all of my blog friends.

    Posted 10 years ago
  27. * Christina says:

    Happy blogiversary! Since I started my blog, I’ve made so many new online friends and it’s let me keep in touch with real life friends as I’ve moved across the country. It’s helped me remember what has happened in my life and look back and reflect. It’s been good. Congrats!

    Posted 10 years ago
  28. * Kitt says:

    Happy day! Blogging is great for making you more observant and even more productive, since you know you can show off your small triumphs to an audience that will appreciate them.
    And it makes you new friends!

    Posted 10 years ago
  29. * Kitt says:

    Happy day! Blogging is great for making you more observant and even more productive, since you know you can show off your small triumphs to an audience that will appreciate them.
    And it makes you new friends!

    Posted 10 years ago
  30. * Anne says:

    The people I’ve met all over the world have been the biggest benefit to blogging and reading blogs, but it’s also taught me about adapting patterns, gauge, properties of yarn, and handspinning. And shopping–can’t forget the shopping!

    Posted 10 years ago
  31. * Anne says:

    The people I’ve met all over the world have been the biggest benefit to blogging and reading blogs, but it’s also taught me about adapting patterns, gauge, properties of yarn, and handspinning. And shopping–can’t forget the shopping!

    Posted 10 years ago
  32. * Kenyetta says:

    Happy Blogiversary!
    Blogging has introduced me to a bunch of new friends, new daily blogs to read, new patterns, techniques, yarns. The best thing I would say is that it widen my horizon beyond acrylics and cotton!

    Posted 10 years ago
  33. * Hanna says:

    One of the surprising ways in which blogging affected me was that it pushed me to improve my photography.
    I’m not sure that it’s changed the overall content of what I knit, although reading other blogs (and now Ravelry) has definitely opened my eyes to all sorts of new yarns and patterns.
    This is a great contest theme, by the way! I posted about it on http://wiknit.blogspot.com, my knitting contest blog

    Posted 10 years ago
  34. * Sarah says:

    Happy Blogiversary.
    Blog reading hasn’t changed my knitting yet, but it has increases my queue.

    Posted 10 years ago
  35. * Sarah says:

    Happy Blogiversary.
    Blog reading hasn’t changed my knitting yet, but it has increases my queue.

    Posted 10 years ago
  36. * Sarah says:

    Happy Blogiversary.
    Blog reading hasn’t changed my knitting yet, but it has increases my queue.

    Posted 10 years ago
  37. * edina says:

    So sorry to hear about your friend, Sue.
    Knit blogs have provided a virtual community for me. Sometimes when there’s no one around in the physical world to talk or be with (or I’m up with insomnia in the middle of the night!), it’s nice to have blogs to read and learn from. I hope that my own blog can do the same for others.

    Posted 10 years ago
  38. * Rachel says:

    I don’t blog, but I love reading other knitting blogs. I have met so many interesting people whose lives are different than mine but linked by knitting.

    Posted 10 years ago
  39. * Mary says:

    In reading so many wonderful knitting blogs, I think the biggest benefit for me is the sense of community. If you don’t have a local knitting group to join, reading fellow knitters’ blogs is, to me, the next best thing. That’s why I try to post comments whenever I can. It helps me be a part of the community even if I don’t have a blog.
    I’ve learned about all kinds of yarns, patterns and techniques as well as who is having surgery, who lost a parent, who is doing a walk-a-thon to raise money for a charity and so much more. It’s connecting to kindred spirits all across the world in this knitting neighborhood of ours and it’s a blessing to me.

    Posted 10 years ago
  40. * Erika says:

    Happy Blogiversary! How blogging has improved my knitting? Well, I certainly didn’t really expect people to read my blog, let alone to make friends with those readers and I have and, if for no other reason, blogging has really done something for me. I have become a better knitter through blogging because, when I get stuck on something, I solicit help on my blog and knitters come to my rescue. I also get inspired by other knit bloggers when I read about all the wonderful things they are doing, the yarns they are using, the books they are reading, and the stories they share. Blogging has made me feel like I am a part of a community as opposed to a solitary knitter (none of my friends knit). Thanks for hosting a contest and feel free to c’mon over and check out my blog. I hope you are having a wonderful blogiversary!

    Posted 10 years ago
  41. * Marsha says:

    Happy blog anniversary to you! I’m glad to see that you’re enjoying your journey in the blogosphere–I wish you many more happy travels.
    For me, the primary benefit of blogging has been purely social: the opportunity to meet and communicate with people I wouldn’t have otherwise encountered. I love it! (I wrote a bit about it in September, when I celebrated my own blog’s birthday: http://first-things-first.net/2007/09/09/happy-birthday-dear-blog-and-a-contest/)

    Posted 10 years ago
  42. * Marsha says:

    Happy blog anniversary to you! I’m glad to see that you’re enjoying your journey in the blogosphere–I wish you many more happy travels.
    For me, the primary benefit of blogging has been purely social: the opportunity to meet and communicate with people I wouldn’t have otherwise encountered. I love it! (I wrote a bit about it in September, when I celebrated my own blog’s birthday: http://first-things-first.net/2007/09/09/happy-birthday-dear-blog-and-a-contest/)

    Posted 10 years ago
  43. * Heide says:

    I love blogging! The friends I’ve made via this wonderful medium are now as dear to me as those I’ve actually met. This is also a great way to keep extended family and friends updated on our latest adventures. And the knitting… sigh. I never encountered hand dyed yarn before this, nor had I done any spinning. Altogether, it’s wonderful.

    Posted 10 years ago
  44. * Kathy Sue says:

    Reading knitting blogs has has helped me widen my horizons in pattern choices, and I have learned a lot about technique and yarns. The most important thing I got from a blog is that I learned how to “flick” when I had surgery on my wrist and both picking and throwing hurt, otherwise I would have spent the past 9 months unable to knit!

    Posted 10 years ago
  45. * Kathy Sue says:

    Reading knitting blogs has has helped me widen my horizons in pattern choices, and I have learned a lot about technique and yarns. The most important thing I got from a blog is that I learned how to “flick” when I had surgery on my wrist and both picking and throwing hurt, otherwise I would have spent the past 9 months unable to knit!

    Posted 10 years ago
  46. * suec says:

    so, happy blogiversary. At this point, I am a blog reader not writer and along with overall enjoyment of seeing what others are doing and how they work through problems, I’ve joined 2 lace knit-alongs courtesy of blogs pointing the way ( finished and blocked one and starting clue 5 on the other) and did the knitter’s tea swap this year. off to enjoy more blog reading….

    Posted 10 years ago
  47. * sharon says:

    Wow. Great question! First of all, happy blogiversary to you! Mostly I can only echo what others have said–making new friends online and even getting to meet some of them, and becoming a better knitter & writer are the things that immediately come to mind. I also love this blogging thing because it’s fun! It’s hours of entertainment for me. Another thing is, I’m an inveterate yarn collector 🙂 so blog contests are great for de-stashing! And I guess the most significant thing blogging has done for me is, it’s given me a new sense of community. I recently got a job in a yarn shop, and I’ve met lots of fellow bloggers in the shop who “know” me through my blog. I get a huge kick out of meeting people that way. OK, done rambling–thanks for having a contest!

    Posted 10 years ago
  48. * sharon says:

    Wow. Great question! First of all, happy blogiversary to you! Mostly I can only echo what others have said–making new friends online and even getting to meet some of them, and becoming a better knitter & writer are the things that immediately come to mind. I also love this blogging thing because it’s fun! It’s hours of entertainment for me. Another thing is, I’m an inveterate yarn collector 🙂 so blog contests are great for de-stashing! And I guess the most significant thing blogging has done for me is, it’s given me a new sense of community. I recently got a job in a yarn shop, and I’ve met lots of fellow bloggers in the shop who “know” me through my blog. I get a huge kick out of meeting people that way. OK, done rambling–thanks for having a contest!

    Posted 10 years ago
  49. * Bianca says:

    Happy Blog-anniversary 🙂
    The blog in general for me is an outlet in ideas. I was stimulated to write down my designs, as I am mostly a free knitter – I make up designs as I go.
    And that sure is a good thing, as you wrote, there are plenty knitters with ideas, but not many who are writing them down. I find it stimulating to see how people deal with questions I am pondering over; share thoughts. And swapping… Secret Pal swaps would not be possible for me without a blog.
    I hope you’ll have a wonderful new blog year!

    Posted 10 years ago
  50. * Bianca says:

    Happy Blog-anniversary 🙂
    The blog in general for me is an outlet in ideas. I was stimulated to write down my designs, as I am mostly a free knitter – I make up designs as I go.
    And that sure is a good thing, as you wrote, there are plenty knitters with ideas, but not many who are writing them down. I find it stimulating to see how people deal with questions I am pondering over; share thoughts. And swapping… Secret Pal swaps would not be possible for me without a blog.
    I hope you’ll have a wonderful new blog year!

    Posted 10 years ago
  51. * Jo says:

    Blogging has certainly make me more adventurous in my knitting. I am a plus-sized girl, and there are so many patterns that I might not have considered for myself – but then after seeing them on other people I went ahead and knit them myself. This has worked both ways as well – I know other people have knit things I have made because it looked good on my larger frame. Happy Blogiversary!

    Posted 10 years ago
  52. * monica says:

    I am just a blog reader, not writer, but reading them has seriously changed my life. I started reading blogs about six months ago. Before then, I never knew there was such a wealth of knitting information online. My technique has improved, my output has increased, and I’m trying patterns and yarns that I never knew existed before.

    Posted 10 years ago
  53. * monica says:

    I am just a blog reader, not writer, but reading them has seriously changed my life. I started reading blogs about six months ago. Before then, I never knew there was such a wealth of knitting information online. My technique has improved, my output has increased, and I’m trying patterns and yarns that I never knew existed before.

    Posted 10 years ago
  54. * monica says:

    I am just a blog reader, not writer, but reading them has seriously changed my life. I started reading blogs about six months ago. Before then, I never knew there was such a wealth of knitting information online. My technique has improved, my output has increased, and I’m trying patterns and yarns that I never knew existed before.

    Posted 10 years ago
  55. I think blogging helped me stick with the knitting craft in the beginning before I became addicted. I have realized since I started knitting and blogging that I am a group person. I love being part of a community. I’m proud to call myself a knitter. I have made so many friends through blogging. Truely a priceless experience.

    Posted 10 years ago
  56. * Amy says:

    Congrats on the Blogavary!
    I’m probably you 1 year ago…I’ve been debating if I can do this blog thing. Anyway, on a whole, I would say that reading Knitting Blogs has improved my knitting. Reading these blogs infuses me with Wonder, excitement, and inspiration. My first yr of knitting was basic level 1 (Scarves, Hats, Baby Jacket & Blanket) but after seeing what everyone else out there is doing, I’m starting to step it up in my 2nd yr and not be so intimidated to (make cables, use DPNs, knit Junior Pullover hoddie and Socks) I still don’t gauge or block but I’ve learn things about technique…right now I’m working on not twisting my Knit stitch and instead knit through the front loop to get it more straight…just another thing I picked up on someone’s blog.

    Posted 10 years ago
  57. * Timiae says:

    Reading and owning a blog has definitely made me a better knitter. I’m able to get patterns, tips, and ideas from reading blogs and showing off my work on my blog makes me do better (don’t want to show off something ugly!).

    Posted 10 years ago
  58. * Timiae says:

    Reading and owning a blog has definitely made me a better knitter. I’m able to get patterns, tips, and ideas from reading blogs and showing off my work on my blog makes me do better (don’t want to show off something ugly!).

    Posted 10 years ago
  59. Hi! I’m glad I found your website. Three things that I love about blogging/reading blogs….
    1. I’m finding a lot of knitting opportunities that I didn’t know existed, such as blanket drives and things like that.
    2. It keeps me in touch with places that I’ve lived before (or want to visit.) I live in California now, but I subscribe to Minnesota blogs. I learn a lot about places to visit.
    3. My own blog keeps me knitting. Some days, even if I don’t feel like knitting at first, I don’t want to write that I didn’t get around to it. So I knit, and I’m happy, and I have pretty pictures to show for it.

    Posted 10 years ago
  60. Hi! I’m glad I found your website. Three things that I love about blogging/reading blogs….
    1. I’m finding a lot of knitting opportunities that I didn’t know existed, such as blanket drives and things like that.
    2. It keeps me in touch with places that I’ve lived before (or want to visit.) I live in California now, but I subscribe to Minnesota blogs. I learn a lot about places to visit.
    3. My own blog keeps me knitting. Some days, even if I don’t feel like knitting at first, I don’t want to write that I didn’t get around to it. So I knit, and I’m happy, and I have pretty pictures to show for it.

    Posted 10 years ago
  61. * heddy says:

    wow … great idea for a contest! I started blogging as a way to make myself accountable to my knitting — so i would feel obligated to finish things and nbot just start and tuck them in a drawer! It has helped me with that, but it has also brought me a new set of friends (just cause I have never personally met them doesn’t make them any less my friends), and brought me tons of information and inspiration, it has enhanced my stash 9though prize draws and swaps), and just made me a more keen knitter (I know all the trends in knitting now … what is “cool” to knit, all the hot new yarns coming out, and I get an inside track on where the best yarn sales are!)
    the blogiverse has enriched my life!

    Posted 10 years ago
  62. * cursingmama says:

    Happy Blogiversary!
    What has blogging done for me? It’s inspired me in several ways; to become a better knitter (skill set is probably still lacking), to be a more purposeful & regular writer, and to seek out new friendships. I love it & can’t imagine ever giving it up!

    Posted 10 years ago
  63. * Elaine says:

    I love reading everyone’s blogs – seeing what they’re making, seeing new beautiful yarns.

    Posted 10 years ago
  64. * Ren says:

    happy blogiversary!
    i have been knitting for a relatively short period of time and i think the internet has affected every aspect of my knitting. blogs specifically have saved me lots of money (free patterns!), connected me with tons of great giving opportunities (i love participating in charity projects), helped me improve my skills (through tutorials), connected me with people who appreciate the craft & my finished objects, helped me stay motivated to knit, and involved me in a community of people with similar interests as mine. whew! that’s a long list! : )

    Posted 10 years ago
  65. * Ren says:

    happy blogiversary!
    i have been knitting for a relatively short period of time and i think the internet has affected every aspect of my knitting. blogs specifically have saved me lots of money (free patterns!), connected me with tons of great giving opportunities (i love participating in charity projects), helped me improve my skills (through tutorials), connected me with people who appreciate the craft & my finished objects, helped me stay motivated to knit, and involved me in a community of people with similar interests as mine. whew! that’s a long list! : )

    Posted 10 years ago
  66. * blu roux says:

    I’m blogless, but following the blogs of other knitters has certainly changed my knitting.
    Firstly, I’ve discovered that it is possible to knit while surfing the web, and secondly,
    my “to be knit” project list has grown astronomically! I’l l never have time to actually knit all the lovely patterns that I’ve bookmarked!

    Posted 10 years ago
  67. * LizKnits says:

    Happy blogiversary!
    I think blogging has definitely impacted my knitting. I was just starting “serious” knitting when I started to blog (but mostly was still doing scarves). With the (self imposed) pressure to have good things to blog about, I’m not doing much more interesting knitting. I love the inspiration of seeing other’s progress and ideas! Like your last commenter, I do realize though that blogging time comes out of knitting time… ah the dilemma!

    Posted 10 years ago
  68. * LizKnits says:

    Happy blogiversary!
    I think blogging has definitely impacted my knitting. I was just starting “serious” knitting when I started to blog (but mostly was still doing scarves). With the (self imposed) pressure to have good things to blog about, I’m not doing much more interesting knitting. I love the inspiration of seeing other’s progress and ideas! Like your last commenter, I do realize though that blogging time comes out of knitting time… ah the dilemma!

    Posted 10 years ago
  69. * kathy b says:

    Happy Blogaversary. Good question to ponder. BLogging has given me an outlet for fun each day. I love the images I try to put on the post. I try hard to make myself and those who grace the blog as readers, laugh a little.
    AM I a better knitter? Probably for reading blogs not b/c I write one.

    Posted 10 years ago
  70. * Jen C. says:

    I choose to be blog-free, but reading blogs is always a source of inspiration, entertainment, and sometimes new techniques.

    Posted 10 years ago
  71. * Jen C. says:

    I choose to be blog-free, but reading blogs is always a source of inspiration, entertainment, and sometimes new techniques.

    Posted 10 years ago
  72. * Jen C. says:

    oh yeah, Happy Blogiversary!

    Posted 10 years ago
  73. * Kelle says:

    You know I initially started blogging, to keep a journel of my knitting pursuits. But I discovered that blogging became more of another outlet for creativity, writing photography. It helps me organize my thoughts on projects when I get stuck. From reading blogs I’ve learned that I’m not the only one who goes through the types of conundrums that life and knitting throws at you.

    Posted 10 years ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

