Mystery House



Middles, and a Beginning

I’m at that frustrating point with all my knitting:  the middle.  My projects are going just fine but they’re all at about the same stage, and if you’ve been reading my blog for any length of time you know how I feel about middles.

Totally Autumn is, according to the instructions, nearing its end.  It’s shorter than I’d like, however, so I’m going to do some additional repeats of the pattern.  That means it’s in the middle.


My Elegance sock is almost to the toe decreases–but not quite.  Middle.


Neither of my other socks has progressed at all, so I’m not taking pictures of them.

Middles.  Bah.

This is something to get excited about:


My Albuca Spiralis has sent up a shoot!  I’m beside myself.  (The M.E. will testify to this.)  At one point last spring, I was positive I’d killed it.  But the tricky little Spiralis is a winter grower.  It’s dormant all summer, no foliage, nothing but a tiny brown bulb in a cup of dry pebbles.  You can’t water it until it starts growing again.

You can see how it looked while dormant in this picture:


(Click on the picture to make it bigger or you’ll never find the plant.)  The Albuca Spiralis is in the cup on the right.  On the left is my Tick Plant, which went dormant about the same time.

I’ve moved them both from my office to the sunniest window in the house.  The more hot sun the Spiralis gets, the more its leaves will curl.  And the Tick Plant?  It’s an extremely cute, very rare plant and I hope it makes an appearance soon.

 

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Jeanne says:

    I’m not sure I could convince myself to care for something that looks like a cup full of rocks much of the time. Although I can understand the excitement of that green shoot!

    Posted 10 years ago
  2. * Jeanne says:

    I’m not sure I could convince myself to care for something that looks like a cup full of rocks much of the time. Although I can understand the excitement of that green shoot!

    Posted 10 years ago
  3. * Chris says:

    Heh, I think I would’ve thrown that plant out! You are wonderfully patient about plants, mmm?

    Posted 10 years ago
  4. * Chris says:

    Heh, I think I would’ve thrown that plant out! You are wonderfully patient about plants, mmm?

    Posted 10 years ago
  5. * Master Engineer says:

    Yes, I can attest to this. It may LOOK like just a blade of grass, but this is the horticultural equivalent of the Second Coming. Not something I truly understand or appreciate, but it makes her happy, so I’m all for it. Of course, she is also growing a date palm in our living room, which will not bear fruit for another 25+ years. Now THAT’S patience.

    Posted 10 years ago
  6. * Master Engineer says:

    Yes, I can attest to this. It may LOOK like just a blade of grass, but this is the horticultural equivalent of the Second Coming. Not something I truly understand or appreciate, but it makes her happy, so I’m all for it. Of course, she is also growing a date palm in our living room, which will not bear fruit for another 25+ years. Now THAT’S patience.

    Posted 10 years ago
  7. * cursingmama says:

    I can not have plants – someone thinks that plants are for eating & digging. I will now commence the joy of plant keeping indoors through you. Cats or not, I’d never have the patience to keep a cup of rocks healthy though…

    Posted 10 years ago
  8. * olga says:

    cool. I look forward to checking out the tick plant when it shows up.

    Posted 10 years ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

