Mystery House



Apple Bread


A few orange and yellow leaves start blowing around outside, and I get in the mood to bake.  We’ve been enjoying quick breads for breakfast lately.  Date bread courtesy of my mom, banana bread to use up forgotten bananas–this week, I wanted to try something new.

I have a fondness for odd cookbooks, and I pick them up at garage sales, flea markets and used bookstores.  I can’t remember how I came across Aunt Bee’s Mayberry Cookbook, by Ken Beck and Jim Clark, but it’s just what I like:  a silly premise for a cookbook filled with recipes contributed by all sorts of people, very few of them having anything to do with the TV show.  There are some recipes contributed by cast members and crew–Jack Dodson’s chili, Jim Nabors’s banana bread, and something called Fish Muddle offered by Maggie Peterson Mancuso–but most of the recipes come from random Southerners.  Irresistable, I’m telling you.

Books like this are a great source for easy things like quick breads.  Since I was burned out on banana bread, I passed up Jim Nabors’s version (although it does sound good–macadamia nuts!) in favor of a recipe for apple bread contributed by one of the aforementioned random Southerners.  I hadn’t ever made apple bread before, and there were a few apples in the refrigerator from our trees.  Usually the wasps get to all the apples before we do, but this year’s drought seemed to cut down on the bug population and we managed to grab a few apples before they got infested.

So.  Bread.  I fiddled with this recipe, so I’m posting it here, as adapted.

Apple Bread, adapted from Aunt Bee’s Mayberry Cookbook
makes 2 loaves

2 c. sugar
1 c. canola oil
3 eggs
3 c. AP flour
1 tsp. salt
1 tsp. baking soda
1 big tsp. cinnamon
1 tsp. ground ginger
2 1/4 tsp. vanilla
2 c. chopped, peeled apples (generous cups)
1 c. walnuts (also generous)

Grease two loaf pans.  Preheat oven to 325.

In large bowl, beat together sugar, oil and eggs.  In another bowl, sift together flour, salt, baking soda and spices.  Add dry ingredients to sugar mixture.  Add vanilla, apples and walnuts.

Pour into pans and bake for 1 hour.

Couldn’t be easier.  This is a heavy batter and, unlike most quick breads, it bakes up with a crisp crust on top.  The verdict?  Delicious, and well worth a try if the fall leaves have gotten to you, too.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * del says:

    Oh, that looks delicious! I love fresh baked breads like this, but I’m not lucky enough to have an apple tree in my yard.
    I love your blog’s name!

    Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  2. * del says:

    Oh, that looks delicious! I love fresh baked breads like this, but I’m not lucky enough to have an apple tree in my yard.
    I love your blog’s name!

    Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  3. * deb says:

    Sounds yummy. I can’t help but thinking about Aunt Bee’s pickle tasting episode however!

    Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  4. * deb says:

    Sounds yummy. I can’t help but thinking about Aunt Bee’s pickle tasting episode however!

    Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  5. * Connie says:

    We can’t wait to dig in!

    Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  6. * cursingmama says:

    sounds yummy!

    Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  7. What kind of apples did you use?

    Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  8. What kind of apples did you use?

    Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  9. What kind of apples did you use?

    Posted 9 years, 10 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

