Mystery House



Where To Block

Blocking has its tricky elements, not the least of which is where to do it.  At least, it’s tricky at my house.  I used to block on a spare bed but at the moment we don’t have a spare bed.  This house has four bedrooms, only one of which contains a bed.  And we sleep in it.  I probably shouldn’t cover it with wet knitting and pins.

I spotted a few knitbloggers using interlocking foam mats for blocking, and started poking around to find some.  Prices on those things?  Wacko.  All over the place:  $25, $35, some over $100 for a not-all-that-big set.  A hundred bucks?  I mean, it’s foam, people.  Foam.

So I nosed around until I found this Ebay store.  Not only are they helpful and friendly, for $14 (plus reasonable shipping) they’ll send you a set of these:


Twelve-inch foam squares, twenty-five of them, plus borders in case you want to bother putting borders on.  I love that these mats are a nice, neutral charcoal gray rather than the multicolored ones I’ve seen everywhere else.  For black yarn, I figure I can cover them with white towels.  The squares come in other sizes, but twelve inches is
what seemed to be the most versatile–I can easily set them up to block
a long, skinny piece of lace.


Why yes, that is Hypoteneuse.  All pinned out now and drying.  I have to be ready for the  Frida Kahlo exhibit next week!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * cursingmama says:

    I was gifted some really big foam squares by the DH about a year ago – I got 4 or 5 of them & I know they were more than $14. I’m kinda ticked off that I don’t have 25 of the buggers now. Good find.

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  2. * Connie says:

    That is a great deal! Nice solution. Love the scarf and another event to put on the calendar!

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  3. * Connie says:

    That is a great deal! Nice solution. Love the scarf and another event to put on the calendar!

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  4. * Connie says:

    That is a great deal! Nice solution. Love the scarf and another event to put on the calendar!

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  5. * Chris says:

    My foam squares cost a little more than that, but not tons more – they look identical!

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  6. * Jeanne says:

    Wow…that is a good deal. Fortunately I have a spare bed, and as we’ve recently seen, don’t block much.

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  7. * deb says:

    Nice find – just me, but do they smell plasticy at all? I might have been inclined to put a towel between my lovely scarf and the foam blocks just to keep any nasty scent away from my finished piece….

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  8. * deb says:

    Nice find – just me, but do they smell plasticy at all? I might have been inclined to put a towel between my lovely scarf and the foam blocks just to keep any nasty scent away from my finished piece….

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  9. * del says:

    Great idea! These are perfect because you can make your surface as big or small as you need.

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  10. Thanks for sharing! I have a stack of those exact blocks collecting dust in my garage. We attempted to use them as matts under our excercise equip. but they weren’t quite sturdy enough. Hopefully they won’t buckle under the strain of a sweater!

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

