Mystery House



Small Progress Report

Last week was a busy one.  The M.E. was on vacation and we spent the week having fun, without leaving town.  No packing!  No making arrangements!  No unpacking!  It was incredibly relaxing, even though only a modest amount of knitting happened.

I’m making slow progress on my October Sockamania sock.  Yes, sock.  This is still only the first one.  I like it, but I’m just not working on it very fast.  That might be because I’m more in the mood for this:

Totally Autumn, which is now exactly the size of the coffeetable downstairs.  This is the happiest thing I’m knitting at the moment.  The pattern is complex enough to be interesting, but easy enough that I can watch Torchwood and The Next Iron Chef and not get myself into trouble.  No need for lifelines, panicking, or any other hoohah.  This pattern just clicks along in a very charming and cooperative manner.  (Note:  Dr. Evil is not unhappy about Totally Autumn.  He just wanted to be the star of the photo.)

In fact, I love it so much that it’s given me a taste for lace worked with chunky yarn and big needles.  That could have something to do with the reason I was unable to resist three skeins of this when I stopped into Double Ewe Yarns (on an entirely legitimate errand!) the other day:

Blackberry Ridge Mer-Made, in Raspberry.  The color’s deeper than it appears in the photograph, but I’m not messing with photography and color accuracy today–I haven’t even had breakfast yet.  This yarn is gorgeous and soft and I think it will work very nicely for a big, lacy wrap of some sort.  I may design this one myself…something’s cooking…

Oh, and just to make Dr. Evil happy, I took a picture of him, too.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. Oh, I like the color of your Autumn Harvest, pretty!

    Posted 9 years, 6 months ago
  2. Oh, I like the color of your Autumn Harvest, pretty!

    Posted 9 years, 6 months ago
  3. Er, that would be Totally Autumn… what was I thinking?!

    Posted 9 years, 6 months ago
  4. * deb says:

    I think he’s just jealous about Charli!!

    Posted 9 years, 6 months ago
  5. * Amy says:

    Autumn Harvest is gorgeous.
    As, of course, is Dr. Evil.

    Posted 9 years, 6 months ago
  6. * Amy says:

    Autumn Harvest is gorgeous.
    As, of course, is Dr. Evil.

    Posted 9 years, 6 months ago
  7. * bellamoden says:

    Wow, the elegance looks really good! I’m so glad!
    Sigh, I’m now tempted by totally autumn again! It’s gorgeous.
    And the pink yarn? You had me at HELLO.

    Posted 9 years, 6 months ago
  8. * Jeanne says:

    Totally Autumn is going to be lovely when it’s done. That’s a great color.

    Posted 9 years, 6 months ago
  9. * Jeanne says:

    Totally Autumn is going to be lovely when it’s done. That’s a great color.

    Posted 9 years, 6 months ago
  10. * cursingmama says:

    I believe I may have personally petted that particular skein of yarn a week or so ago while at Double Ewe with The Princess- fantastic stuff.

    Posted 9 years, 6 months ago
  11. I clicked your link to Totally Autumn. What a fun knit!

    Posted 9 years, 6 months ago
  12. I clicked your link to Totally Autumn. What a fun knit!

    Posted 9 years, 6 months ago
  13. I clicked your link to Totally Autumn. What a fun knit!

    Posted 9 years, 6 months ago
  14. * Chris says:

    What a fun pink! And such big ol’ cute ears Dr Evil has. 🙂

    Posted 9 years, 6 months ago
  15. * Lorette says:

    I’m liking that Totally Autumn more as I look at it, I wasn’t so convinced when I first saw the pattern. And that raspberry yarn is just gorgeous.

    Posted 9 years, 6 months ago
  16. * kmkat says:

    Double Ewe is a new one to me. Thanks for the link; Circle Pines is (I think) kinda on my way into the Twin Cities. That is a Good Thing.
    You going to see CAP@MOA? I sent you and some others an e-mail about a meetup.

    Posted 9 years, 6 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

