Mystery House



Step Into My Laboratory…


Come on in!  You won’t have to drink any strange purple potions.  This is my design lab, an occasional feature in which I’m going to share ideas about the process of design.

Of course, I have to start with a few disclaimers.  I’m by no means a knitting design expert, like Anne Hanson or Cookie A or Mim, and I don’t pretend to be.  I create simple things that I want and that I haven’t seen elsewhere, because it’s fun and I enjoy wearing my own unique designs.  I see design as the next step when you’ve mastered the basics of knitting, and I don’t think it’s anything to be afraid of.

My process may not be like anyone else’s.  I’m not very precise and I don’t do much planning–often I just start knitting and see what happens.  Sometimes it works beautifully, other times you’d fall out laughing if you saw the mess I’d made.  But as an artist, I’m fascinated by the creative process.  I love thinking about it and learning from the multiplicity of ways other people approach design, and that’s why I’ve decided to talk about it here.  In fact, what I’d love most is to hear about how you do it.

If you follow along as I flail and fuss and rip things out and start over and over and over, will you be rewarded?  Hard to say.  Maybe you’ll see something that gives you the kernel of an idea for a design of your own.  Maybe I’ll come up with a pattern worth sharing.  Maybe we’ll learn things from each other.  Or perhaps there’ll be nothing left but a pile of pretty string.  In any case, I’m planning to have fun.

Ready?  I’ll get started tomorrow.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * bezzie says:

    Ahhh! Get us all ready to go and then we have to *wait*?! Hee hee!

    Posted 10 years ago
  2. * deb says:

    I’ll check back!

    Posted 10 years ago
  3. * deb says:

    I’ll check back!

    Posted 10 years ago
  4. * Chris says:

    Oh, intriguing!! Hmm, I haven’t done much designing for a while… it usually does involve a lot of ripping and notetaking and scribbling…

    Posted 10 years ago
  5. * bellamoden says:

    What a cool idea! This will be fun.

    Posted 10 years ago
  6. If, and that’s a BIG IF, I were to ever have the desire to design–you’re the kind of designer I’d totally be! Have fun girl!

    Posted 10 years ago
  7. If, and that’s a BIG IF, I were to ever have the desire to design–you’re the kind of designer I’d totally be! Have fun girl!

    Posted 10 years ago
  8. If, and that’s a BIG IF, I were to ever have the desire to design–you’re the kind of designer I’d totally be! Have fun girl!

    Posted 10 years ago
  9. * cursingmama says:

    That is very pretty yarn!

    Posted 10 years ago
  10. * cursingmama says:

    That is very pretty yarn!

    Posted 10 years ago
  11. * cursingmama says:

    That is very pretty yarn!

    Posted 10 years ago
  12. * Ragan says:

    Design? Hmmm…nope…not unless it is doll clothes. Hahahah. I cannot wait to see what you come up with (love the yarn colors).

    Posted 10 years ago
  13. * Ragan says:

    Design? Hmmm…nope…not unless it is doll clothes. Hahahah. I cannot wait to see what you come up with (love the yarn colors).

    Posted 10 years ago
  14. * Ragan says:

    Design? Hmmm…nope…not unless it is doll clothes. Hahahah. I cannot wait to see what you come up with (love the yarn colors).

    Posted 10 years ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

