Mystery House



Cheese Souffle, Take One


I know, I know, everybody’s afraid of souffles.  Really, though, it’s similar in technique to making an angel food cake, and I fear it not.  I’ve made one before with good results but can’t remember what recipe I used, so when a souffle craving hit I thought I’d find a new recipe to try.

Myra Waldo’s The Souffle Cookbook seemed a sensible place to look.  It’s out of print, but is easy (and cheap!) to find used.  I also took a look at one of Craig Claiborne’s recipes, but wound up going with Ms. Waldo for no reason except that the book had been on my shelf for several years and I hadn’t done anything with it.  I did modify the recipe a bit, based on a couple of ideas of Mr. Claiborne’s.  Here’s my version:

Cheese Souffle, adapted from Myra Waldo
(2 main course servings, or 4 side dish servings)

2 Tbsp. butter
2 Tbsp. AP flour, plus a bit extra for dish
1/2 c. milk, scalded
1 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. dry mustard (I used Coleman’s)
dash cayenne pepper
about 1 tsp. dried tarragon
3 egg yolks, beaten
3/4 c. grated sharp Cheddar cheese (get a decent aged Cheddar, don’t fool with pregrated cheese here!)
1/4 c. grated Parmesan, plus 2 Tbsp.
3 egg whites
several extremely thin slices of Cheddar

Preheat oven to 375.

Melt butter in saucepan, add 2 Tbsp. flour and stir till smooth.  Add milk slowly, stirring.  Cook until thick and smooth, about 5 minutes, then remove from heat.  Add salt, mustard, cayenne, tarragon and egg yolks and mix well.  Add grated Cheddar and 1/4 c. Parmesan and return to low heat.  Cook, stirring constantly, until cheese is completely melted.  Set aside to cool for 15 minutes.

Beat egg whites until stiff but not dry.  Fold carefully into cheese mixture and pour into 1 1/2 quart souffle dish that has been buttered, floured, and the bottom dusted with the 2 Tbsp. of parmesan.  Decorate top with Cheddar slices.  Bake 35 minutes, serve immediately.


I didn’t take a dramatic photograph of the risen souffle in its dish because, frankly, it didn’t rise very well.  It did rise, just not enough.  Why?  I have no idea.  Should I have beaten the whites a bit less?  Folded a bit less?  Used a smaller dish, maybe individual dishes?

Regardless of its relative flatness, this thing was delicious, a definite make-again combination of flavors.  We both loved it, and rather than be discouraged by one uncooperative souffle, I’m ready to make another one and get the formula right.  I won’t be beaten by egg whites!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Jeanne says:

    Damn. I forgot my Miss T Friday rule. And I had been so good about it for so long. When’s lunch?

    Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  2. * Jeanne says:

    Damn. I forgot my Miss T Friday rule. And I had been so good about it for so long. When’s lunch?

    Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  3. * deb says:

    I love souffles and I’m not afraid of them! Looks grand!

    Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  4. * cursingmama says:

    I was hungry for Chinese now I’m just hungry for cheese.

    Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  5. * cursingmama says:

    I was hungry for Chinese now I’m just hungry for cheese.

    Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  6. * olga says:

    mmmmm- everything looks good..EXCEPT- what the heck are those miget cabbages doin there???!!!Oh, I get it, halloween is coming, ha hah! You kill me!

    Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  7. * olga says:

    mmmmm- everything looks good..EXCEPT- what the heck are those miget cabbages doin there???!!!Oh, I get it, halloween is coming, ha hah! You kill me!

    Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  8. * olga says:

    mmmmm- everything looks good..EXCEPT- what the heck are those miget cabbages doin there???!!!Oh, I get it, halloween is coming, ha hah! You kill me!

    Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  9. * Kitt says:

    Yum! That looks delish.
    I love the dog’s-paw scarf, too. Very clever.

    Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  10. * Ragan says:

    Looks wonderful, thank you for sharing the recipe!

    Posted 10 years, 1 month ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

