Mystery House


« Pattern Love | Home | Color »

Confession Chicken


Finishing a big project can be hard, and I’m in the last throes of one which has consumed me for a year.  I haven’t cracked a cookbook this week.  I’ve made easy things for dinner, things I can do with my eyes closed.  The M.E. has helped out.  He’s seared tuna and grilled steak, and I’ve punted everywhere it’s possible to punt.  So if you think I’ve been cheerful and normal and in charge of things and holding it together quite well on the blog this week, keep in mind that the blog is the easy writing of the day, a fun little warmup that gets me going.  And take note of these facts:

  • My house is a mess.
  • My bonsai have suffered from neglect all summer.
  • I have a dying dead burrito plant in my office and I’ve done nothing about it.
  • My To-Do list is longer than I am tall.
  • I’ve answered comments on my blog and a few emails here and there, but aside from that I owe everyone in the whole entire world a letter, email, phone call or lunch.  I probably owe people I don’t even know.
  • Every night this week, when my supportive, brilliant and wonderful husband has come home from a day of battling cretins at his office, I’ve greeted him with hysterical tears.

I’m a wee bit tense.  Even so, the idea of calling the pizza guy sounded too blechy for words.  So this is all I could manage to make for dinner last night:


It’s just chicken.  But it’s not bad chicken.  Spray the pan with a smidgeon of, you know, that spray, so that the skin doesn’t stick.  Start it skin down.  Sprinkle with salt, pepper, thyme and paprika.  Bake at 400 degrees for half an hour.  Then flip it over and sprinkle with more of the same stuff you sprinkled on the first side and bake for another half hour.  Blop on plate with zapped frozen peas.  Eat.  Have a couple glasses of wine.  Try not to cry.  It’s almost over.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Connie says:

    That chicken looks great! I made a version of oven fried chicken like that – only you use butter to make the skin extra crispy! I also have a great recipe for another baked chicken with herbs and spices on top – kids love it and it is super easy!! No one says you have to slave in the oven!!

    Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  2. * bellamoden says:

    Oh honey! You’re being the change you want to see. *hugs*
    And that chicken looks GOOD.

    Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  3. * deb says:

    See – confession is good for the soul!! Deep breathing is too. No need to respond, you don’t need the pressure!!

    Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  4. * Amy says:

    See, you’re stress-based cooking looks just a whole lot better than mine does.

    Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  5. * Amy says:

    See, you’re stress-based cooking looks just a whole lot better than mine does.

    Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  6. * Chris says:

    It looks like damn tasty chicken, actually. I can relate – my poor plants… I hope the ficus survives my pill fogginess.

    Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  7. * Master Engineer says:

    That chicken WAS good! 🙂 No excuses necessary.

    Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  8. * olga says:

    You are so funny. Thats about how I cook dinner for the last 21 years of marriage! Hey- if your looking for people to owe something to, put me down for lunch!:O)

    Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  9. * olga says:

    You are so funny. Thats about how I cook dinner for the last 21 years of marriage! Hey- if your looking for people to owe something to, put me down for lunch!:O)

    Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  10. * Jeanne says:

    That meal you describe is a standard in my house, in fact, that meal is one of our more extravagant. I hope things sort themselves out soon.

    Posted 10 years, 1 month ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

