Mystery House



Pattern Love


Many patterns become tedious as you knit along, and it’s hard to maintain enthusiasm.  Open your UFO bag and look in it and you’ll admit I’m right.  Hypoteneuse, by some magical means known only to the designer, Anne Hanson, becomes more exciting as it goes along, even though nothing changes.  I can’t explain this.  But I love it.

The yarn I’m using has something to do with it, I’m sure.

I love watching the colors shift as the yarn slides through my fingers, love watching them play with each other and arrange themselves in formations that work perfectly, magically, with the pattern.

And ooooh, this pattern.  Formal and casual at the same time, beautifully thought out, easy to remember.  As you watch the blocks stack on top of each other and the eyelets go step-step-stepping along, you fall more and more deeply in love with it.

Hypoteneuse is far from the most complex or difficult pattern I’ve ever knit, but it’s kept me fascinated all along the way and I can tell already it’s going to be one of my very, very favorite pieces–to wear, and to marvel over and be reminded what a wonderful process knitting is, and how much I love to do it.

This scarf is coming together beautifully, and my only complaint is that it’s almost done.  It’s going to be over soon and I’ll have no more of it to knit.  I simultaneously want to knit it forever and wear it immediately. 

“You say goodbye, and I say…”

 

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Connie says:

    That is truly a beautiful scarf – or is this going to be a shawl size? The colors are great! She really has some beautiful patterns on her site.

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  2. * Connie says:

    That is truly a beautiful scarf – or is this going to be a shawl size? The colors are great! She really has some beautiful patterns on her site.

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  3. * olga says:

    OOo,yeah, it does look very intriguing to knit. Looks like that will a very cool scarf to wear. I think I have actually made very few projects that I was sorry to end, most of the time I can’t wait to be done and get those horrid little monsters out of my sight@#$!

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  4. * olga says:

    OOo,yeah, it does look very intriguing to knit. Looks like that will a very cool scarf to wear. I think I have actually made very few projects that I was sorry to end, most of the time I can’t wait to be done and get those horrid little monsters out of my sight@#$!

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  5. * bellamoden says:

    That looks like it has amazing drape! The yarn is lovely, you’re right, and the pattern looks even more interesting in the mottled colors. Hmmm. Tempting.

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  6. * bellamoden says:

    That looks like it has amazing drape! The yarn is lovely, you’re right, and the pattern looks even more interesting in the mottled colors. Hmmm. Tempting.

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  7. * deb says:

    I think that’s the true genius of pattern writing and only a few people have it!

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  8. * deb says:

    I think that’s the true genius of pattern writing and only a few people have it!

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  9. * Chris says:

    It’s gorgeous!!

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  10. * Chris says:

    It’s gorgeous!!

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  11. * Amy says:

    It is really fun to knit, isn’t it? I’m maybe halfway done with mine.

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  12. * Amy says:

    It is really fun to knit, isn’t it? I’m maybe halfway done with mine.

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  13. * Amy says:

    It is really fun to knit, isn’t it? I’m maybe halfway done with mine.

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  14. Gorgeous. Thanks to link to the pattern. Even though I swore no more patterns, I may have to give in. I’m going head to Ravelry (heart) to see what others have done with it.

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

