Mystery House



Dye Party

Ready…

Set…

Dye!

That was even more fun than I thought it was going to be.

Deb, on the right, is the perfect hostess and had everything so well set up and organized that we were done early and had plenty of time for cocktails, knitting, a scrumptious dinner and more knitting.

On the left is Jeanne, who dyed some lustworthy orange and raspberry yarns that she’s going to use for quite a dramatic pair of socks.

In the middle is Chris.  At least, we think it was Chris.  It looked like Chris, but since she didn’t dye anything purple or black, it may have been a cleverly disguised imposter.

Amy was missing, and much missed.  And me?  Oh, I’m in there somewhere.  Keep looking.

I took over purple duty from Chris this time.  My Very First Hand Dyed By Me yarn is hanging downstairs, and I’m impatiently waiting for it to dry.

The deep purple will be for a lace something-or other, and the skein in fall colors will be for socks.  The small skein of lavender is some alpaca that Deb very kindly gave me when I ran out of yarn to play with.  It’s enough for a scarf.  What to cast on first?

I’m dying to do more dyeing.  Thanks, Deb, for hosting a day that was not only fun, but inspiring, and thanks to all three of you for teaching me a new skill that I’m entirely too excited about!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Connie says:

    Your yarn looks wonderful – and I see you standing behind Deb.

    Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  2. * bellamoden says:

    Welcome to the crack that is dyeing yarn. 😉
    But why! Why do you hide! I don’t claw. Much.

    Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  3. * bellamoden says:

    Welcome to the crack that is dyeing yarn. 😉
    But why! Why do you hide! I don’t claw. Much.

    Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  4. * Chris says:

    Oh, you have no idea how tempted I was to steal that purple skein. 😉

    Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  5. * Kitt says:

    Wow. Beautiful!

    Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  6. * Kitt says:

    Wow. Beautiful!

    Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  7. * deb says:

    You can’t dye without having too much fun!!!

    Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  8. * deb says:

    You can’t dye without having too much fun!!!

    Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  9. * deb says:

    You can’t dye without having too much fun!!!

    Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  10. * olga says:

    You lucky luck DAWG!!!!! I love that golden brown color hank, do that one first!!!!

    Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  11. * Jeanne says:

    So nice to meet you on Saturday. That purple yarn you dyed…so yummy.

    Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  12. * Jeanne says:

    So nice to meet you on Saturday. That purple yarn you dyed…so yummy.

    Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  13. * Amy says:

    Pout. Double pout. It looks like so much fun.
    I had to console myself on a lunch break today by going to the Yarnery and buying some Malabrigo laceweight. It had to be done.

    Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  14. * cursingmama says:

    I am speechless that Chris didn’t dye in purple or black – good thing you were there to take up the slack 😉

    Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  15. * cursingmama says:

    I am speechless that Chris didn’t dye in purple or black – good thing you were there to take up the slack 😉

    Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  16. * kitkatknit says:

    What did you use for the purple? Me love purple.

    Posted 9 years, 11 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

