Mystery House



Winding

I had yarn to wind, and needed a niddy noddy, so the M.E. made me one this weekend out of PVC.

It didn’t take long.

But it makes a pretty good mess when you cut it.

Then I set up my swift and figured out how to do it.   My niddy noddy works very well, and we took the time to test it and adjust the length so that it’s just right for the size of my swift.

Yarn!  A swift!  A brand new, perfect niddy noddy!  It’s all very lovely until you get to the part about using the niddy noddy.

Let’s just say it’s boring.  Really, really boring.

Over, under, over, under, over, under.  Wind, wind, wind, effin’ wind.  Then wind some more.  Then you keep winding.  And then you WIND.  Did I mention it was boring?

This is how much yarn I can wind before becoming so bored and sick of the whole thing that I’m about ready to cry.   Not much, is it?  In fact, it’s pathetic.

I’m not going to get an A in Niddy Noddying, that’s for certain.  My opinion of this whole yarn winding thing is that it’s a great task for machines.  Or elves.  However, I will bravely forge ahead and niddy noddy more yarn in the future, because I’m going to learn a new skill this coming weekend and I’m pretty excited about it.  Stay tuned.

 

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Connie says:

    Hmmm – a little yarn dying perhaps?

    Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  2. * Connie says:

    Hmmm – a little yarn dying perhaps?

    Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  3. * bellamoden says:

    Guess now you know why I was whining about reskeining… 😉

    Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  4. * bellamoden says:

    Guess now you know why I was whining about reskeining… 😉

    Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  5. * Chris says:

    It is BORING. I suggest a book on cd or some good music. 🙂

    Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  6. * olga says:

    Doing the niddy noddy thing is just paying your dues till the real fun starts.

    Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  7. * olga says:

    Doing the niddy noddy thing is just paying your dues till the real fun starts.

    Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  8. * olga says:

    Doing the niddy noddy thing is just paying your dues till the real fun starts.

    Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  9. * bezzie says:

    This may seem like a moronic question–but why would you kniddy it after taking it off the swift? To measure it? Or just reskein it? In which case why not just ball it (unless you were dyeing it?) Pardon my ignorance, I have neither a swift nor a knoddy!!

    Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  10. * bezzie says:

    This may seem like a moronic question–but why would you kniddy it after taking it off the swift? To measure it? Or just reskein it? In which case why not just ball it (unless you were dyeing it?) Pardon my ignorance, I have neither a swift nor a knoddy!!

    Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  11. * kmkat says:

    Yeah, what Chris said. Put on your headphones and remove your mind from the boring bit.

    Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  12. * Jeanne says:

    Ah yes…the prep is enough to send you right over the edge, isn’t it? Or you by yarn to dye that is already in a hank.

    Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  13. * Jeanne says:

    Ah yes…the prep is enough to send you right over the edge, isn’t it? Or you by yarn to dye that is already in a hank.

    Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  14. * deb says:

    Now you know why they charge so much for the handpainted yarn!

    Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  15. * deb says:

    Now you know why they charge so much for the handpainted yarn!

    Posted 9 years, 11 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

