Mystery House



Happy Knitting Only


I tried.  I did.  But the Noughts n Oughts sock made it only this far before being ripped.  I liked the pattern–I just don’t much like Fair Isle as a technique, so the sock wasn’t any fun.

Colorwork has never been my thing.  I’ve done a few pieces over the years, but I don’t find it to be as much fun as knitting with one luscious color (okay, or one lusciously painted yarn).  Somewhere along the way, I get annoyed that there’s more than one string dangling, and this time it was the death knell of the project.  I’m simply too overwhelmed by my work right now to do any knitting that isn’t fun.  There are times when I like to take on challenging projects, or projects that stretch my horizons into techniques I’m not crazy about, but this isn’t one of them.

Happy knitting only!

This is happy.

So is this.  Crystal Palace Kid Merino in Kiwi.   I love the way it looks like a green apple in the photograph.


Nice yarn to knit with, although it’s even more impossible to rip out than mohairs I’ve worked with.  I did a quickie, two minute swatch just to see if I liked the needles with the yarn, and in that brief amount of time the fibers grabbed onto each other with a death grip.  This lace scarf will have to be a Make No Mistakes project.  Ha!

Fall weather is happy, too.  I imagine I’ll be out on the deck later today, with my Kiwi yarn and something worth sipping.  Mmmm…fall happy knitting!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * bezzie says:

    Mmmm..that kiwi yarn is beautiful!
    I’m with you on the colorwork. I enjoy it to a point. I enjoy it even more seeing other people do it though!

    Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  2. * bellamoden says:

    I love love love love love the pink socks! Squee!
    And I agree with you. Happy knitting ONLY.
    I should start my Wisp in Rowan Kidsilk Haze… simple enough to still be Happy, I hope.

    Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  3. * Deb says:

    Then Happy Knitting it shall be! And yes, fall is here. I have jeans and three 4 layers of tops on today!

    Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  4. * Deb says:

    Then Happy Knitting it shall be! And yes, fall is here. I have jeans and three 4 layers of tops on today!

    Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  5. * Deb says:

    Then Happy Knitting it shall be! And yes, fall is here. I have jeans and three 4 layers of tops on today!

    Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  6. * Chris says:

    I’m glad I didn’t even bother starting that pattern! I’m working on my Trekking 126 sock, too – I think I’ve knit the entire sock twice, excluding a 2″ stretch of the instep…

    Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  7. * Chris says:

    I’m glad I didn’t even bother starting that pattern! I’m working on my Trekking 126 sock, too – I think I’ve knit the entire sock twice, excluding a 2″ stretch of the instep…

    Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  8. * Chris says:

    I’m glad I didn’t even bother starting that pattern! I’m working on my Trekking 126 sock, too – I think I’ve knit the entire sock twice, excluding a 2″ stretch of the instep…

    Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  9. * kmkat says:

    I knit a semi-lacy scarf once in Rowan Kid Silk Haze in sort of that same color. KSH is also a yarn that like to grab hold and not let go. My project was far from error-free, however, so I became rather an expert in Forcing It To My Froggy Will. Good luck!

    Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  10. * kmkat says:

    I knit a semi-lacy scarf once in Rowan Kid Silk Haze in sort of that same color. KSH is also a yarn that like to grab hold and not let go. My project was far from error-free, however, so I became rather an expert in Forcing It To My Froggy Will. Good luck!

    Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  11. * kmkat says:

    I knit a semi-lacy scarf once in Rowan Kid Silk Haze in sort of that same color. KSH is also a yarn that like to grab hold and not let go. My project was far from error-free, however, so I became rather an expert in Forcing It To My Froggy Will. Good luck!

    Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  12. * Jeanne says:

    Ya…I’m not doing the Noughts n Oughts sock either. I decided not to even try. Why waste your time on something if you aren’t going to enjoy the process?

    Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  13. * Jeanne says:

    Ya…I’m not doing the Noughts n Oughts sock either. I decided not to even try. Why waste your time on something if you aren’t going to enjoy the process?

    Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  14. * Connie says:

    I love the green yarn! I too am not going to start the September pattern…I don’t think my dd will like it and I have never liked socks without some sort of ribbing in the leg for ease. I will I could join you for the deck and drink!

    Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  15. * Big Buttons says:

    Life’s too short to make your hobby into work, too. Bravo!

    Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  16. * Big Buttons says:

    Life’s too short to make your hobby into work, too. Bravo!

    Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  17. * Big Buttons says:

    Life’s too short to make your hobby into work, too. Bravo!

    Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  18. * olga says:

    Well, this makes MY chances of winning some yarn ever so much better- everyone is dropping like flys on the oughts and knots or bots or whatever the heck the name is!!!!!Hee hee, One sock to rule them all!!!!

    Posted 10 years, 2 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

