Mystery House



Lost

Yesterday started out so well.  The M.E. took the day off and we both puttered around, doing whatever we felt like doing.  I went to visit my mom in the afternoon, had a wonderful time, and came home in a great mood.

My mood lasted until I tried to check my email.

The screen was frozen.  The computer woke up when I hit a key, but nothing else would happen.  After a great deal of trying this and that and running the diagnostic program, the verdict had me in tears:  It’s dead.  The logic board is fried.  My stuff is all still there on the hard disc, but I can’t retrieve anything.

The Important Stuff is safe, thank goodness.  I’d backed up my Big Project on a zip disc the last time I worked on it, and saved my entire documents folder on a CD in July.  Although the M.E. tells me I did a pretty good job (the professionals at his office haven’t got client data backed up as well!), I’ve forever lost lots of things which were important to me.  Silly things–until you’ve lost them.

Emails, all of them prior to August 28th, including important things like receipts.  Email addresses.  Lists and ideas and quotations and my most recent photographs.  Little reminders and tips that help me through my work.  On and on.  I kept waking up in the middle of the night, remembering things, feeling the loss.

It may seem ridiculous to love a computer so much, but this is the primary tool of my trade.  I use it every single day, and that iMac had been a faithful friend for several years.  It was beautiful, a sleek design that fit perfectly on my desk and was cheerful to look at.  I’m sad.

So here I am, on the newer model which the M.E. set up for me last night (just happened to have a spare sitting around his office–Ubergeeks are like this).  Instead of doing the work I thought I’d be doing today, I’m setting up my new tool, learning a new word processing program (seems AppleWorks no longer exists–nobody told me!), arranging things the way I like them and attempting to locate addresses for friends and colleagues. 

If you wrote to me on my home email address (not Yahoo) before August 28th, I don’t have your note.  Nor do I have your email address.  So if time goes by and you don’t hear from me, that could be the reason!  Please write again!

Off I go to reconstruct my work life.  With any luck, knitting content will resume soon.
   

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Kitt says:

    Oooh, ouch. I feel your pain.

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  2. * bezzie says:

    Yup. I’ve had that happen too.
    Hang in there, it will pass!

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  3. * bezzie says:

    Yup. I’ve had that happen too.
    Hang in there, it will pass!

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  4. * Deb says:

    I’m so sorry. Any loss is hard, but this—-

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  5. * Deb says:

    I’m so sorry. Any loss is hard, but this—-

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  6. * olga says:

    What a bummer. I always think I ought to write down all the blogs and emails address’ and keep them separate from the computer just in case the unthinkable would happen. It’s like losing a chunk of your flesh.

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  7. * olga says:

    What a bummer. I always think I ought to write down all the blogs and emails address’ and keep them separate from the computer just in case the unthinkable would happen. It’s like losing a chunk of your flesh.

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  8. * Chris says:

    Can’t you take the hard drive to a data recovery place?

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  9. * Connie says:

    I had that happen recently but did not have things backed up as well as you! DH took the drive and inserted into another computer which had a working hard drive…did some hocus pocus and luckily!!! – I had access to my data. Mine was not a Mac so I don’t know how that works and I am sure that your dh is very talented and capable and would have done this if it was possible. I just HATE it when the darn computers die!! Have fun on the new system.

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  10. * Jeanne says:

    That sucks, but at least you had some stuff backed up. That’s more than most people could say.

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  11. * Lisa says:

    Ohhh, I’m so sorry. I’ve lost some irreplaceable email due to human error (mine) and still dream of getting it back.

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  12. * Lisa says:

    Ohhh, I’m so sorry. I’ve lost some irreplaceable email due to human error (mine) and still dream of getting it back.

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

