Mystery House



Camping at Home

A nice long weekend is a good time to tackle projects.  Particularly projects which have been, um, languishing for awhile.  Any of you who visited the Mystery House earlier in the summer may have noticed the steps leading to the upper level.  Carpet gone, new floorboards installed, holes patched– not finished.

We left this project undone so long we were getting used to the stairs the way they were.  Almost starting to like them that way.  Okay, really we were just liking not working on it.  Enough already.  It would be a tad embarrassing if the same visitors who saw bare steps in June appeared again at Christmas and they looked exactly the same.

So, the M.E. is painting.


A lovely pale blue that works nicely with the rich blue walls.  Two coats of paint, four coats of poly.  Nobody can go upstairs for the next few days.  We have to camp out in the lower level of our own house, pack like we’re going to a hotel.

The air mattress is installed in the M.E.’s office, and we’ve moved all our necessary junk downstairs.  Everyone had important things to pack.

The M.E. brought his shaving kit, clothes and books.


Dr. Evil brought his favorite new chewie, a hoof we bought for him the other day.  It’s so marvelously stinky that he can’t put it down.


What did I pack?


The new Sockamania pattern is supposed to come out today!  I had to be ready!  The M.E. thought this was funny.  I was simply being prepared.  It wouldn’t do to have all my yarn trapped on the upper level.  You understand.

Okay, yes, I did bring some other stuff too.


And clothes, of course, and bottles of goo for the bathroom.  But the sock yarn came first!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * bellamoden says:

    *laughs out loud at the yarn* prepared you were! And does any of it work for what you needed? Lol.
    Those steps are purty!

    Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  2. * bezzie says:

    Wow! I’m impressed Dr. Evil didn’t walk up the wet steps. What a good boy!
    Boy it’s a good thing you didn’t camp too far away from home–can you imagine having to really pack that many skeins? 😉

    Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  3. * Lisa says:

    But did you bring enough blankets to make a fort?

    Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  4. * Lisa says:

    But did you bring enough blankets to make a fort?

    Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  5. * kmkat says:

    I am glad to see you had your priorities in order 🙂
    Camping out at home is something that kids love; it’s right up there with power outages (flashlights! candles!) and impromptu parties (ice cream! candles!). But how on earth did you explain the no-going-upstairs thing to Dr. Evil? He must be capable of far greater understanding than the average dog. Certainly than mine.

    Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  6. * Kitt says:

    Hmmm … Harry Potter?

    Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  7. * Connie says:

    The stairs look great! Projects are fun but sometimes it is that last part that is so hard to finish up! Which of these yarns are you using for the new pattern? I haven’t figured out what I am using yet – I am not sure if I am making them for me or for one of my daughters. Love the hoof 🙂 We always buy pig ears for our dogs – they do not last long.

    Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  8. * Connie says:

    The stairs look great! Projects are fun but sometimes it is that last part that is so hard to finish up! Which of these yarns are you using for the new pattern? I haven’t figured out what I am using yet – I am not sure if I am making them for me or for one of my daughters. Love the hoof 🙂 We always buy pig ears for our dogs – they do not last long.

    Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  9. * Deb says:

    Are you guys planning on changing clothes at all … or…? The steps look great, but then I liked them just fine when they were unpainted too!

    Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  10. * Chris says:

    Hope you’re having fun “camping.” I don’t think I’m knitting this particular sock…

    Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  11. * Chris says:

    Hope you’re having fun “camping.” I don’t think I’m knitting this particular sock…

    Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  12. * Jeanne says:

    At least you have your priorities straight.

    Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  13. * Jeanne says:

    At least you have your priorities straight.

    Posted 9 years, 10 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

