Mystery House



Thai Barbecued Chicken


Ingredient-wise, this is nothing at all like conventional American BBQ chicken.  It does have one trait in common with the variety you’re more familiar with, however:  you’ll need an armed guard to keep people away if you want leftovers.  And then another armed guard to guard the guard.  Pretty soon your kitchen will be full of mean looking guys with weapons, and you still won’t have any chicken left.  Oh, and don’t let the M.E. know you’re making it.  He’ll come charging in, knock over all your armed guards, and scuttle away with your chicken.  Yeah, it’s that good.

Thomas Robson’s book, Entree to Asia, bears the notation, “As Seen on Public Television.”  I know nothing about this, and only found the book by chance.  Unfortunately, I couldn’t find this recipe online anywhere, although if you search “Thai Barbecued Chicken,” you’ll find other recipes that are similar.  If you can, buy the book.  It’s out of print, but cheap copies are easy to find and it’s full of intriguing, accessible recipes.

The flavor of this chicken smacks of curry, with its base of turmeric and cumin.  Plus cilantro, shallots, a ton of garlic, lime, palm sugar and fish sauce.  Ain’t Thai without the fish sauce, ya know.

Once all the chopping and stirring is done, Mr. Robson says you should marinate the chicken–an entire cut up chicken–for at least two hours, or overnight.  I’d recommend marinating this for at least a day in the refrigerator, two days if you can.  Chicken takes awhile to absorb marinades.  I let mine loll around in the marinade a good two days, then brought it to room temperature before the M.E. put it on the grill.


A perfect partner to this chicken is spicy peanut noodles.  Now, I’m an aficionado of both peanut noodles and sesame noodles, and I have to try every recipe I find.  Tonight’s version was a good one.  A bit sweeter than most, but with a good, peppery punch.  I suppose I added more red peppers than the recipe called for.  I almost always do.  And I messed with it.  Egg noodles instead of soba, because that went better with the Thai chicken, I thought.  No carrots, because who feels like being bothered with carrots?  No chicken, because there was already chicken.  And since I used a very thin egg noodle and that meant more surface area in need of sauce, I did the sauce 1 1/2 times.  (Only increase the peanut butter, broth, honey and soy–not the peppers, garlic or ginger.)  Am I making this complicated enough?  It’s easy.  Really.  Go forth and make chicken and noodles!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * olga says:

    wow. It sounds good in theory- but honestly- I can’t think that far ahead to get chicken marinating for a meal two days later. I would forget and a week later find a green goo and yell at the kids.

    Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  2. * Deb says:

    I’ll guard it! But without the cilantro!

    Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  3. * Amy says:

    Oh, YUM. But Deb’s wrong. Must have cilantro.

    Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  4. * cursingmama says:

    I’m not a cilantro girl myself – so when Mr.M makes this one for us he always leaves the cilantro out for me (but puts it on his)
    Very Very Yummy!
    http://tinyurl.com/2darm4

    Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  5. * cursingmama says:

    I’m not a cilantro girl myself – so when Mr.M makes this one for us he always leaves the cilantro out for me (but puts it on his)
    Very Very Yummy!
    http://tinyurl.com/2darm4

    Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  6. * kmkat says:

    I have a better idea — you make it and invite me over for dinner, hmmm?
    Okay, okay, I’ll make it myself (sob). It sounds yummy.

    Posted 9 years, 10 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

