Mystery House



A Few Good Ts

I collect the letter T.


This is a relatively new collection for me, and I have only eight or nine hanging on my office wall.  Until this past weekend, that is.

We went to one of our favorite flea markets, the Oronoco Gold Rush.  There’s nothing quite like it.  Oronoco is a tiny Minnesota town about fifteen minutes from Rochester, and once every August the entire town turns into one big flea market.  Yes, the entire town.

Every yard and every street are filled with vendors’s booths–1200 of them from all over the country, more booths than permanent residents.  There’s good street food (worth the trip alone are the sublime homemade ice cream sandwiches); teenagers pulling small trailers behind four-wheelers to ferry buyers who’ve bought bigger things than they can carry back to their cars; little kids hawking cold water; vacant lots turned into $5 a day parking lots.  The town hall doors are left wide open so visitors can line up for the bathrooms and the water fountains.

I didn’t take pictures, because only a fool goes to the Gold Rush carrying anything that isn’t absolutely necessary.  It’s an exhausting day and you need all available strength for trudging all over town and hauling loot.  No camera for me.  But there are photos on the Gold Rush website if you’re curious.

So, did we strike gold?  Oh, yes indeedy.  Two sellers had Ts.  Two!  I’ve never found such a motherlode of Ts before.  Most of them are tiny, but that simply makes them easier to hang.  (I’m running out of wall space.)  See the old typewriter key?


Then, the big T.  I almost walked away from this one, thinking I wouldn’t have room for it, but I’m glad I didn’t leave it behind.  It’s from an old movie theater sign.


I may have to rearrange things on the wall, but it’ll be worth it.

We didn’t fill our car, as many Gold Rushers do, but we were happy with the goodies we found.  Like this completely ridiculous egg plate that made us both giggle.


It was too kitschy-wonderful not to buy.  Yes, we’re weird enough to actually serve deviled eggs on it.  With paprika and cayenne in the chicken shakers.

Perhaps the best purchase of the day was an old school map of the USSR.  Remember those big maps that pull down like windowshades, and how you got really sick of staring at them in class?  They’re much cooler now.  I don’t have a good way to photograph it until it’s hung on the wall, so for the moment you’ll have to think back to what school maps were like in the 1960’s, and imagine it.  The picture hanging tools are going to be busy in the Mystery House this weekend!

 

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Chris says:

    Ok, your “T” collection is incredibly cool! I’m impressed that you braved all the rain for Gold Rush Days. (I’m from Rochester.)

    Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  2. * Connie says:

    Wow! I have never heard of that flea market – I will have to put it on the list for next year. Love your purchases. We finally purchased a deviled egg tray but not as cute as yours. Ours is white plastic but it has a cover – dh LOVES deviled eggs!

    Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  3. * Connie says:

    Wow! I have never heard of that flea market – I will have to put it on the list for next year. Love your purchases. We finally purchased a deviled egg tray but not as cute as yours. Ours is white plastic but it has a cover – dh LOVES deviled eggs!

    Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  4. * bezzie says:

    My sister Theresa has started just going by the letter “T.” now herself and even has “T” underpants if I remember rightly. She’d be very envious of your T collection. I’ll have to let her know she’s the only one with an afini-T for the letter T! (sorry, bad pun!)

    Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  5. * bezzie says:

    My sister Theresa has started just going by the letter “T.” now herself and even has “T” underpants if I remember rightly. She’d be very envious of your T collection. I’ll have to let her know she’s the only one with an afini-T for the letter T! (sorry, bad pun!)

    Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  6. * Olga says:

    those little chickens on the plate are sayin’ ” Please don’t eat my babies! Please don’t eat my babies!!!” Thats a neat collection on T’s, it reminds me of Mary Tyler Moore, she had the big M on her wall.Sheesh, I think I’m dating myself….

    Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  7. * Olga says:

    those little chickens on the plate are sayin’ ” Please don’t eat my babies! Please don’t eat my babies!!!” Thats a neat collection on T’s, it reminds me of Mary Tyler Moore, she had the big M on her wall.Sheesh, I think I’m dating myself….

    Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  8. * Felicia says:

    That flea market sounds like quite a wonderland. Your Ts are great.

    Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  9. * kmkat says:

    I love your T collection! Being the shameless sort of person that I am, I may steal your idea and start a K collection on my office wall.
    Be sure to show us a picture of the newly arranged collection!

    Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  10. * Jeanne says:

    I’ve been to the Oronoco Gold Rush once,a nd was overwhelmed. I never went back. That egg plate is wonderful!

    Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  11. * T. Budnik says:

    My sister, Bezzie, sent me the link to this post. I am VERY envious of your Ts. It makes me want to start collecting ’em, too.
    Oh, and no comment on the “underpants” she mentioned.
    -T.

    Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  12. * T. Budnik says:

    My sister, Bezzie, sent me the link to this post. I am VERY envious of your Ts. It makes me want to start collecting ’em, too.
    Oh, and no comment on the “underpants” she mentioned.
    -T.

    Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  13. * Kitt says:

    Ooooh, I want that egg plate! Nice T’s, too!

    Posted 9 years, 10 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

