Mystery House



Sharing the Love

I had the nicest surprise in my inbox yesterday morning.  Amy, who recently got a Rockin’ Girl Blogger award, nominated five others, including me!  We all love attention, don’t we?  And this is the very best kind.  I simply glowed when Amy used the words “artistry” and “whimsy” to describe my blog.

I didn’t know where and how the Rockin’ Girl Blogger award started, so I Googled it.  Turns out Roberta at Blogging Made Devilishly Simple thought it up as a way to recognize other women who were doing cool things, and to build community.  Hard to argue with that.

Actually, the only hard part is the picking and choosing.  Amy totally rocks, and I’d love to give her an award, but she already has one.  I have a long list of cool girls who deserve an award and I hated to leave any of you out, but I have to cut it down to five, so here goes…

Birdie — Seriously, this sister knows how to spin a yarn.  Oh yes, she knits, too.  But I’m talking about storytelling.  You’d be hard pressed to find a storyteller better than Birdie, or a woman with a more generous heart.  She always makes me think.  Check out her blog and say hello to her and Ramses, her African Grey.

My girl Mappa Mundi is all about the things I love:  great food, great writing, great cuddly-why-ever-go-out-home life.  She has mad cake and cookie decorating skills, is a wonderful writer and shares my love of smart, devious little dogs.  She doesn’t blog all the time, but when she does it’s worth reading.

I have to give a shout to Deb, who might not even notice because she’s overrun with relatives at the moment.  Her blog always reminds me of the goodheartedness of knitters and makes me laugh.  Like many talented folks, she pretends to be less talented than she is–but you should see the yarn she dyes.  I’ve watched over the past few months, and her sense of color keeps getting better and better.

Okay, I’m going out on a limb here to recognize two very cool bloggers whom I don’t know personally and who wouldn’t know me from a hole in the ground.  But I never read their blogs without being glad I did, and that’s what this is about, isn’t it?

The Lint Knitter turns out FOs like crazy.  Beautiful ones.  She’s very precise about fit and construction, and confesses the good, bad and ugly about every project.  She also sews.  I mean, this woman sewed a hat.  Inspiration is all over this blog.

I often find myself saving Bake and Shake’s posts for last, because the girl is So. Damn. Funny.  She can cook, and she can write about it like a twelve-letter word.  (I should have been so confident when I was that young.  I should be so confident now.)  I have several of her recipes on my Must Try list, but really, I don’t even need to make them.  I can gain ten pounds just reading her descriptions.

Every one of you makes blogland a place worth visiting (even by persnickety folks like me).  Thank you for that.  And pass on the love please, to five others who are part of your everyday reading.  The button’s on my sidebar.  Take it and run.

 


Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Jeanne says:

    5 more blogs for me to read! Thanks!

    Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  2. * Jeanne says:

    5 more blogs for me to read! Thanks!

    Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  3. Miss T, YOU rock! Thank you for the Rockin’ Girl Blogger award. I see I’m in good company. This is your nefarious plan to inspire me to be a better blogger, isn’t it? And I don’t doubt it will work. Just as soon as I figure out how to put the little button in my own sidebar…

    Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  4. * Chris says:

    Congrats!

    Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  5. * Olga says:

    Hey there my sista! I hope you are ok with the brige thingy that happened. I was thinking about all the bloggers who are in the citys and hoping and praying they are fine! What a bizarre incident.

    Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  6. * Olga says:

    Hey there my sista! I hope you are ok with the brige thingy that happened. I was thinking about all the bloggers who are in the citys and hoping and praying they are fine! What a bizarre incident.

    Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  7. * Olga says:

    Hey there my sista! I hope you are ok with the brige thingy that happened. I was thinking about all the bloggers who are in the citys and hoping and praying they are fine! What a bizarre incident.

    Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  8. * Olga says:

    Hey there my sista! I hope you are ok with the brige thingy that happened. I was thinking about all the bloggers who are in the citys and hoping and praying they are fine! What a bizarre incident.

    Posted 9 years, 10 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

