Mystery House



Beware!

I love our new deck.  It’s a perfect place to sit and enjoy the cooler evening air.  The M.E. throws a ball for Dr. Evil and either reads or makes notes; I either read or knit.  If a formula could be devised to equate enjoyment with dollars, I’d say this deck has already paid for itself even though it’s been less than a month since it was finished.  Just one problem, though.

That tiny space between the decking boards?  That’s no ordinary gap.  It’s the mouth of a dpn-eating monster.  You probably think I’m just guessing, or imagining things.  But I’m not.  I’ve tested it.

I tried to knit a sock while sitting on the deck.  As I usually do, I dropped one of my needles.  This doesn’t pose much of a problem inside, but out on the deck?  Before I could grab it, it rolled and landed…yup.  Down the crack.

The M.E. is normally quite tolerant of my natural ability to create mayhem, and calmly fixes whatever I’ve broken, or sweeps up the pieces, or extracts me from whatever corner I’ve painted myself into.  He’s used to it.  But this taxed his patience.

Rescuing my lost and frightened dpn from a fate of slow digestion by deck required a flashlight, a long skewer, a piece of chewing gum and a great deal of cussing.  In fact, I had to recreate the moment holding the skewer myself in order to take a picture, because the M.E. was not in a mood to pose for the camera.

Demonstrating his usual brilliance and dexterity, he got it back.  I thanked him profusely and washed traces of gum off my needle.  There was a bit of residual grumbling.

He didn’t say anything or demand any promises, but since then I’ve decided that any project which does not involve sock-sized dpns is much better deck knitting.

My Hypoteneuse scarf is great deck knitting.  Nice, big straight needles, too big to be eaten by even the most ravenous deck.  If you come to visit and knit outside with me this summer, be warned.  Don’t bring socks!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Connie says:

    Beware the deck monster! We have dropped screws and such down below the deck when we were assembling our grill…but we have a walk out basement so retrieving items is much easier – no chewing gum required. Maybe you want to learn the Magic Loop method? No DPNs to drop…your scarf looks beautiful!

    Posted 10 years, 4 months ago
  2. * Jeanne says:

    Ah…I’ve seen needle eating decks before. They turn on you at the worst possible moment. Beware…It may start going for the larger needles once it figures out you aren’t going to feed it anymore sock needles.

    Posted 10 years, 4 months ago
  3. * Jeanne says:

    Ah…I’ve seen needle eating decks before. They turn on you at the worst possible moment. Beware…It may start going for the larger needles once it figures out you aren’t going to feed it anymore sock needles.

    Posted 10 years, 4 months ago
  4. * Jeanne says:

    Ah…I’ve seen needle eating decks before. They turn on you at the worst possible moment. Beware…It may start going for the larger needles once it figures out you aren’t going to feed it anymore sock needles.

    Posted 10 years, 4 months ago
  5. * Jeanne says:

    Ah…I’ve seen needle eating decks before. They turn on you at the worst possible moment. Beware…It may start going for the larger needles once it figures out you aren’t going to feed it anymore sock needles.

    Posted 10 years, 4 months ago
  6. * Chris says:

    Maybe it’s time to switch to 2 circulars? Or one long circular? 🙂

    Posted 10 years, 4 months ago
  7. * Chris says:

    Maybe it’s time to switch to 2 circulars? Or one long circular? 🙂

    Posted 10 years, 4 months ago
  8. * Deb says:

    My porch eats stitch markers!!

    Posted 10 years, 4 months ago
  9. * Deb says:

    My porch eats stitch markers!!

    Posted 10 years, 4 months ago
  10. * Deb says:

    My porch eats stitch markers!!

    Posted 10 years, 4 months ago
  11. * kmkat says:

    Having sacrificed any number of dpns to hungry cars, shag carpets (the horror!), and heavy-footed husbands, I have switched to the Magic Loop. You may want to consider that route…,

    Posted 10 years, 4 months ago
  12. * Kelly says:

    My car eats my dpns, it drives me nuts.

    Posted 10 years, 3 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

