Mystery House



Contest!

If you’ve looked at my sidebar lately–I know, I rarely remember to look at sidebars, so I don’t expect you to–you may have noticed this book on my reading list:  Getting Unstuck Without Coming Unglued, by Dr. Sue O’Doherty.

I’m not normally a reader of self-help books.  Really, you could count the ones I’ve bothered with on one hand and have fingers left.  But my friend Dr. Sue is cool.  She works with artists, and she does it as one of us because she’s a creative writer in addition to being a psychologist.  Artists, perhaps more than people in any other profession, tend to have anxiety about their talents.  Most folks just go to work and do their thing and come home and maybe bitch about the boss; we can’t even do our work without agonizing over it and analyzing the creative process.  I might go so far as to say that doubt is part of the creative process.  (Um, should I say that?  Really, it feels like it, but what if I’m wrong?  What if I shouldn’t be writing this–or anything–at all, ever?)  Dr. Sue’s got our number.  You can ask her questions, every Friday, right here.  Her column is “The Doctor Is In,” and her answers are always good food for thought.

Because I think every woman who’s an artist of any kind–painter, writer, dancer, sculptor, singer, whatever–should read this book, I’m giving a copy away.  Leave me a comment on this post no later than noon CDT on Tuesday, July 24th, and tell me what art form you work in.  I’ll draw one name at random.  Yes, you can enter if you’re a guy, but really the book is written for woman so at least pass it along to a talented woman you know when you’ve read it, K?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Chris says:

    Does knitting count? 🙂

    Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  2. * Chris says:

    Does knitting count? 🙂

    Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  3. * Deb says:

    Parenting – and today (I’ve been told) I suck at it!

    Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  4. * Deb says:

    Parenting – and today (I’ve been told) I suck at it!

    Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  5. * Cynthia says:

    Knitting, especially socks, is the only medium of art I have ever felt comfortable with! I used to do quite a bit of fabric fiber work, sewing and cross-stitch, but I think I have found my true calling in knitting!

    Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  6. * Amy says:

    Opera singing. I have serious aspirations.
    Or not.
    Words are my medium.

    Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  7. * kmkat says:

    Sewing, knitting, crochet, needlepoint, computer art and design, photography, and words. And a ranker amateur in all of those fields you never saw.

    Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  8. * Olga says:

    Hmm, I do calligraphy and rubberstamps and knit and lately, which is strange, I’ve felt the complusion to write down stories and mentally I’ve been directing some videos in my head with music. I think I’m having a serious mid-life crisis. Maybe the good Doc could help. I’m kinda excited about your new feature!!!

    Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  9. * Olga says:

    Heh, guess I ought to read slower, I thought YOU were hosting her at your blog. OK, now I know its at her own . :0~

    Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  10. * Connie says:

    OK – sewing, knitting, scrapbooking, painting – lawnchairs, rooms, ceilings, macrame – that’s enough for now.

    Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  11. * Connie says:

    OK – sewing, knitting, scrapbooking, painting – lawnchairs, rooms, ceilings, macrame – that’s enough for now.

    Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  12. * Adrianna says:

    Knitting and writing with the guitar making an occasional appearance.

    Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  13. * melanie says:

    I work in words and wool —

    Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  14. * melanie says:

    I work in words and wool —

    Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  15. * melanie says:

    I work in words and wool —

    Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  16. * Tanya says:

    Aside from the obvious..knitting. I also am a huge scrapbooker, photographer, quilter, beader, painter, gardener, woodworker, creator of recycled or found objects, a nail technician & eyelash artist! (to name a few!)

    Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  17. * Erin McD says:

    I write, act, and photograph. I try other things but keep coming back to these.

    Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  18. * Erin McD says:

    I write, act, and photograph. I try other things but keep coming back to these.

    Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  19. * Britt says:

    I knit, but my more creative craft is scrapbooking

    Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  20. * catsmum says:

    I’m primarily a quilter/teacher professionally currently working with a group of women diagnosed with psychosis, schizophrenia and clinical depression.
    The book sounds incredibly useful

    Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  21. * catsmum says:

    I’m primarily a quilter/teacher professionally currently working with a group of women diagnosed with psychosis, schizophrenia and clinical depression.
    The book sounds incredibly useful

    Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  22. * ERin B says:

    Knitter and Belly dancer…

    Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  23. * Amy M says:

    God, what DON’T I do? I’ll admit to truly believing I’m a painter even when no one else does, but I also do printmaking, knit, crochet, cook, write, make movies, photos and sew…whew….the book sounds right up my alley though!

    Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  24. * kitkatknit says:

    It’s been so long since I’ve done anything but marketing graphics I just don’t know what art form any more. I haven’t picked up my paints in years, fiber arts is about it anymore. I do plan large installation sculptures in my head from time to time. My favorite current online one that I watch is at http://www.rosemarygoestothemall.com/

    Posted 9 years, 11 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

