Mystery House



A Gold Star for Blue Moon

It’s one thing to buy something and have everything go right during the transaction and to be happy with the results.  It’s entirely another to buy something and have a problem and still wind up happy.  Customer service, particularly when a large corporation is involved, often leaves much to be desired.  This is why I love dealing with small companies, and with real craftspeople who care about their work.

When I discovered a problem with a newly-purchased skein of STR, my kneejerk reaction (after years of poor customer service from so many companies) was to dread the process of dealing with it.  Would they respond?  Would they agree it was a problem, or would they act as if I was crazy and had caused the trouble myself by virtue of complaining about it?

I’ve lusted after STR Lemongrass for months, and finally ordered a skein.  On the outside, it looked perfect, gorgeous and glowing, precisely the color I wanted.  But when I started to wind it into a ball, this is what I found:

Blurry photo, I know.  My camera will only zoom in so close.  But you can see that there are tiny red dots sprinkled on like cayenne pepper, as if the skein had been the victim of a dyeing accident.  And now that I look further, some deep green dots as well.  This would not do.  Clearly, this poor skein had a tough time in the dye pots and wasn’t up to Blue Moon’s usual, beautiful standards.

I emailed Blue Moon right away that night, with a sinking feeling.  But my worries about being stuck with an imperfect skein came to naught.  These folks know how to treat a customer.

I got an email back first thing the next morning.  No questions asked, they acknowledged the problem with the yarn–something that apparently can happen occasionally with that combination of dyes–and promised to have a replacement skein dyed for me and sent out right away.

True to their word, within just a few days this gorgeous, perfect skein of Lemongrass arrived in my mailbox:


Everybody makes a mistake or turns out a
less-than-perfect piece of work sometimes.  But really good
craftspeople and vendors, the ones who care about their customers?
They make it right.
Like I said, no questions asked, no hassle, no insinuations that I’d done something wrong by bringing it to their attention.  I couldn’t be happier, and I’m certainly going to buy from Blue Moon again as soon as I can justify sneaking more yarn into my stash (avert your eyes, my dear husband).  A special thank you to JoAnn, who handled this start to finish with a personal touch!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Connie says:

    Did you have to return the other skein? You could experiment and overdye it!

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  2. * Kitt says:

    Yay for good customer service!
    I finally got around to adding a link to you. Hope that’s OK!

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  3. * Kitt says:

    Yay for good customer service!
    I finally got around to adding a link to you. Hope that’s OK!

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  4. * Olga says:

    Blue moon is one of those yarns I have lusted after!MMMM- looks very nice indeed.

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  5. * Jeanne says:

    I’m had similarly good experiences with Blue Moon. They will continue to get my business. Of course, it doesn’t hurt that their yarns are beautiful.

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  6. * Jeanne says:

    I’m had similarly good experiences with Blue Moon. They will continue to get my business. Of course, it doesn’t hurt that their yarns are beautiful.

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  7. * Jeanne says:

    I’m had similarly good experiences with Blue Moon. They will continue to get my business. Of course, it doesn’t hurt that their yarns are beautiful.

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  8. * Deb says:

    Oh that’s just how they do Customer Service over at Wal Mart I’m sure! Oh wait maybe my brain just froze for a second.

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  9. * Deb says:

    Oh that’s just how they do Customer Service over at Wal Mart I’m sure! Oh wait maybe my brain just froze for a second.

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  10. * Deb says:

    Oh that’s just how they do Customer Service over at Wal Mart I’m sure! Oh wait maybe my brain just froze for a second.

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  11. * ck says:

    Nothing like good customer service! Too many places have gotten away from that.

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  12. * ck says:

    Nothing like good customer service! Too many places have gotten away from that.

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  13. * ck says:

    Nothing like good customer service! Too many places have gotten away from that.

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  14. * Chris says:

    You could make a very intriguing skein of sock yarn by dyeing that one – I was able to recover some unfortunate Malabrigo that way.

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  15. * Chris says:

    You could make a very intriguing skein of sock yarn by dyeing that one – I was able to recover some unfortunate Malabrigo that way.

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  16. * Chris says:

    You could make a very intriguing skein of sock yarn by dyeing that one – I was able to recover some unfortunate Malabrigo that way.

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  17. * knittymama says:

    I love it when a company is like that. It makes me want to run out and spend another $50! Hmmmm…if I finish 6 more projects I can but a skein of STR.

    Posted 9 years, 9 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

