Mystery House



A Houseful of Knitters

A charm of finches, a murder of crows, a parliament of owls, a skein of geese in flight…a houseful of knitters.

I love having a houseful of knitters.  Especially knitters like these.


There’s Chris, working diligently on her Sockamania Serpentine sock.  This took concentration.  It’s a beautiful sock.


And there’s Deb taking a picture of Connie and Amy.

Deb brought her Mystery Stole to show us (very appropriate, and very pretty in pink), but she worked on a lovely Tofutsies sock.  Amy was working on a deliciously citrusy Malabrigo Cat’s Paw shawl, a secret gift for someone whom she knows (thanks to clever and stealthful maneuvers on her part) is lusting after this very shawl pattern.  Amy is way ahead of me on Christmas gifts, that’s for sure.  Connie had some scrumptious blue yarn and was working on a sock of some sort.  I didn’t catch the name of the pattern, but it’s very pretty.

Now, being a private sort of person who believes in guarding my home as a sanctuary where good energy predominates, I like to know people rather well before inviting them to dinner or a party so I’m fairly certain that everybody will have a good time and that there’s not, say, one lunatic who’s going to run amok and make me wish I’d never opened the door.  It’s unheard of for me to invite people to lunch when I’ve never laid eyes on them before, and there were two such previously unseen people in this group.  But you know what?  They’re knitters.  And knitters are…well, they’re knitters.  I knew it would be okay, knew they’d be just as charming and fun and smart and lovely and cool as they appear to be online.  And they were.  (Yes, Deb and Chris, don’t be looking around over your shoulder–I’m talking about you.)

I’m so, so happy that all four of these lovely, charming, cool, smart, fun knitters came to spend the afternoon with me.  They all brought yarn for the “What Was I Thinking?” yarn trade buffet.


That’s all that was left at the end of the day.  Everyone went home with different yarn than the yarn they came with.

Knitters are perfect guests.  They arrived on time, made themselves at home, didn’t complain when I didn’t have lunch on the table precisely at noon, left on time.  And they all brought surprises.  I was not expecting hostess gifts, but look!


Yarn from Connie.  That sock yarn is incredibly soft, and the Cascade is one of my favorite colors.


A special CD from Chris, very good knitting music indeed.



Amy knows how much the M.E. (who was a huge help with lunch and made chicken everybody loved) and I love good food, and she came with a carload:  corn from her favorite farmstand (don’t worry about that bit of red on the corn–there was an incident with some raspberries, but it’s over now), beets and fennel from her CSA, and chocolate sauce that looks wickedly good.

And Deb?  Oh my goodness, you won’t believe this.


Look closer.


She actually dyed this gorgeous yarn for me.  It was all done up in lavender tissue paper and one of those cellophane floral bags, like a bouquet of flowers.  Very cute touch–not lost on me, I was just overwhelmed at the gorgeosity (take that, Merriam-Webster:  gorgeous + generosity = gorgeosity) of the gift and forgot to comment at the time.  I’m honored.  Truly.

Huge thanks to all of you, for the wonderful gifts, but most of all for such a beautiful and restorative afternoon.  All those needles clacking away simultaneously bring only the very, very best energy into a house.  Y’all are a class act, and I can’t wait to knit with you again.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Deb says:

    Aw, shucks. I’m kind of embarrassed by all the affection showering (not). Thanks again for the awesomely cool time. And please – a big hat’s off to the M.E. too for the lunch!

    Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  2. * Deb says:

    Aw, shucks. I’m kind of embarrassed by all the affection showering (not). Thanks again for the awesomely cool time. And please – a big hat’s off to the M.E. too for the lunch!

    Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  3. * Connie says:

    It was a great time – I’m just glad I was able to keep the lunatic in me from running amok! 🙂

    Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  4. * Connie says:

    It was a great time – I’m just glad I was able to keep the lunatic in me from running amok! 🙂

    Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  5. * Chris says:

    You’re very welcome – and thank YOU for putting together this event and providing such tasty food and lovely surroundings! 🙂

    Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  6. * Chris says:

    You’re very welcome – and thank YOU for putting together this event and providing such tasty food and lovely surroundings! 🙂

    Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  7. * Frarochvia says:

    Wow! How awesome is all that!

    Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  8. * Frarochvia says:

    Wow! How awesome is all that!

    Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  9. * Olga says:

    Man! I want to move to Minn. and be part of all the fun! I’ll bring the green chile!

    Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  10. * Olga says:

    Man! I want to move to Minn. and be part of all the fun! I’ll bring the green chile!

    Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  11. * Olga says:

    Man! I want to move to Minn. and be part of all the fun! I’ll bring the green chile!

    Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  12. That hand-dyed is purty!! Lucky you. : )

    Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  13. That hand-dyed is purty!! Lucky you. : )

    Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  14. That hand-dyed is purty!! Lucky you. : )

    Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  15. * kmkat says:

    What a great time that looks like!

    Posted 9 years, 10 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

