Mystery House



No Secrets

It’s hard to keep a pair of socks secret when the intended recipient is sitting right next to you on the sofa while you work on them.  Particularly if said recipient has much bigger feet than anybody else you’ve ever made socks for.

The M.E. knew something was up, and since I had failed to craft a believable cover story in advance which could be recounted with a straight face, I was forced to confess.  (I didn’t think he’d pay attention to how big the socks were, but he did!)  He seemed pleased to learn that this pair will be his.

They’re going fast on size 2 needles.  I hope I have enough yarn for these Sasquatch-proportioned socks!

I’ve also started the swatch for my first Sockamania socks.  It’s a cable pattern which would be obscured by a handpainted yarn, so I dug a skein of eye-popping yellow Cherry Tree Hill out of my stash to work with.  Yes, I’m knitting with stash yarn!  It’s even yarn that’s been in the stash for more than three months.  I should get extra points for that, right?

Really, there should be some sort of point system.  Frequent Stash Digger points, or something.  When you accumulate enough of them, you get to buy yarn without any guilt whatsoever.  I think I’ll work on this…you know, as a benefit to the knitting community…

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Jeanne says:

    Frequent Stash Digger Points sound like a great idea to me. Let me know when you get things worked out.

    Posted 10 years, 4 months ago
  2. * Jeanne says:

    Frequent Stash Digger Points sound like a great idea to me. Let me know when you get things worked out.

    Posted 10 years, 4 months ago
  3. * Chris says:

    Oh, very noble of you!! I’m contemplating what yarn would be best… and trying to finish my July socks by the 7th!

    Posted 10 years, 4 months ago
  4. * Chris says:

    Oh, very noble of you!! I’m contemplating what yarn would be best… and trying to finish my July socks by the 7th!

    Posted 10 years, 4 months ago
  5. * Big Buttons says:

    Stash digging! Its a form of recycling!

    Posted 10 years, 4 months ago
  6. * Connie says:

    I agree about the points! I have been working from stash for months…in preparation for Coldwater’s huge Crazy Day Sale starting on the 19th!!

    Posted 10 years, 4 months ago
  7. * Connie says:

    I agree about the points! I have been working from stash for months…in preparation for Coldwater’s huge Crazy Day Sale starting on the 19th!!

    Posted 10 years, 4 months ago
  8. * Olga says:

    I concur thats a neat idea, make up gold stars that are awarded for being thrifty with yarn or something along those lines.Maybe when you collect 5 you get a gold bar or something.

    Posted 10 years, 4 months ago
  9. * Olga says:

    I concur thats a neat idea, make up gold stars that are awarded for being thrifty with yarn or something along those lines.Maybe when you collect 5 you get a gold bar or something.

    Posted 10 years, 4 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

