Mystery House



Monday Morning’s Sock

(Say that three times fast to get the hidden message.  Sort of like playing Abbey Road backwards.)

After last week’s sock debacles, I decided to work on a sock I knew I’d like, even if it’s an easy one, a knit-it-in-your-sleep sock.

Trekking XXL #185, standard-issue stockinette sock.  I love this yarn.   It comes across a bit gray in the photo, but in person it looks just like denim.  I love it so much that Kelly at Double Ewe Yarn is ordering me another ball.  (Psst–she’s having a sale!)

Truth be told, I also love the plain stockinette sock.  What shows off the yarn better?  What could possibly feel better on the foot?   It’s elegant and simple, comforting for both the knitter and the wearer.

I ordered needles so that I can approach Thelonious again, but in the meantime these socks have my attention.  Oh, and whatever pattern Anni sends out for Sockamania this month.  I’m a late joiner.  I liked the first two patterns so much that I decided I was a weenie for not signing up in the first place.  Can I manage it, as slowly as I’ve been knitting (and reading and writing and…) lately?  We’ll see.

 

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Chris says:

    I like a soothing stockinette sock to counter the other complex sock I also have on the needles at the same time… And hopefully I will finish my June Sockamania sock – we have until I think the 7th, because she sent the pattern late.

    Posted 10 years, 4 months ago
  2. * sahara says:

    Thanks for stopping by! I said the title 3 times fast, and bust out laughing. 🙂
    I’m a big fan of plants, as I’m into growth. When they bloom or unfold, I feel like they’re saying thank you, and that I’m worthy enough to be part of their world.

    Posted 10 years, 4 months ago
  3. * sahara says:

    Thanks for stopping by! I said the title 3 times fast, and bust out laughing. 🙂
    I’m a big fan of plants, as I’m into growth. When they bloom or unfold, I feel like they’re saying thank you, and that I’m worthy enough to be part of their world.

    Posted 10 years, 4 months ago
  4. * Frarochvia says:

    Yay, you’re in sockmania now! June’s pattern is great, still knitting furiously on it.

    Posted 10 years, 4 months ago
  5. * Frarochvia says:

    Yay, you’re in sockmania now! June’s pattern is great, still knitting furiously on it.

    Posted 10 years, 4 months ago
  6. * Frarochvia says:

    Yay, you’re in sockmania now! June’s pattern is great, still knitting furiously on it.

    Posted 10 years, 4 months ago
  7. * kitkatknit says:

    Yes I agree! Monday Morning’s Sock!!

    Posted 10 years, 4 months ago
  8. * kitkatknit says:

    Yes I agree! Monday Morning’s Sock!!

    Posted 10 years, 4 months ago
  9. * Jeanne says:

    Ah…an easy sock is good for the soul. Especially in that yummy yarn.

    Posted 10 years, 4 months ago
  10. * Jeanne says:

    Ah…an easy sock is good for the soul. Especially in that yummy yarn.

    Posted 10 years, 4 months ago
  11. * Jeanne says:

    Ah…an easy sock is good for the soul. Especially in that yummy yarn.

    Posted 10 years, 4 months ago
  12. * kmkat says:

    I knit only stockinette or 2×2 rib socks because I am boring, er, because I like mindless knitting. And I heart your sock and yarn!

    Posted 10 years, 4 months ago
  13. * kmkat says:

    I knit only stockinette or 2×2 rib socks because I am boring, er, because I like mindless knitting. And I heart your sock and yarn!

    Posted 10 years, 4 months ago
  14. * Connie says:

    All right!! I am so glad that you are a Sockamaniac too! The new pattern is toe up so will be a challenge for me but it does look interesting! Can’t wait to see how yours comes out!!

    Posted 10 years, 4 months ago
  15. * Kelly says:

    The sock looks great! And thanks for mentioning us here. I really need to get my sock-mojo back…it’s been a while.

    Posted 10 years, 4 months ago
  16. * Kelly says:

    The sock looks great! And thanks for mentioning us here. I really need to get my sock-mojo back…it’s been a while.

    Posted 10 years, 4 months ago
  17. * Olga says:

    Hey! Thanks for commenting. I just joined sockmania too! And I am very afeared. I knit really slow and I have 4 socks without mates right now, if I start the July pattern-thats 5. What was I thinking???? Anyway, I hope you’ll stick around and read the rest of my ‘fiction’. heh.

    Posted 10 years, 4 months ago
  18. * Olga says:

    Hey! Thanks for commenting. I just joined sockmania too! And I am very afeared. I knit really slow and I have 4 socks without mates right now, if I start the July pattern-thats 5. What was I thinking???? Anyway, I hope you’ll stick around and read the rest of my ‘fiction’. heh.

    Posted 10 years, 4 months ago
  19. * Olga says:

    Hey! Thanks for commenting. I just joined sockmania too! And I am very afeared. I knit really slow and I have 4 socks without mates right now, if I start the July pattern-thats 5. What was I thinking???? Anyway, I hope you’ll stick around and read the rest of my ‘fiction’. heh.

    Posted 10 years, 4 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

