Mystery House



The Best of Socks, The Worst of Socks

This is one of the best things about socks:

Sock yarn is so much fun.  It’s not a big investment, like yarn for a sweater.  Just one little innocent skein at a time, nothing you’d really notice.

Despite the title, I can’t say that this is a worst thing about socks, but it’s a bit of an out of control thing about socks:

Sock yarn is invasive, like Quackgrass or Zebra Mussels.  You see, I can precisely pinpoint when I got my first sock yarn.  I posted about it this January.  Since then, I’ve finished three pairs and am a few rows away from finishing a fourth.  But sock yarn has been creeping into the house when I’m not looking.

Does sock yarn chew skein-sized holes in walls so it can scurry inside?  Can it squeeze through cracks no wider than a nickel?  Is it donning protective gear to drop down the chimney?  Dropping yarn seeds in the closet which germinate and produce more sock yarn?

It’s getting in somehow, that’s all I know.

I can’t really blame it.  I mean, in the winter it’s cold outside and now it’s hot outside and it’s so much more temperate and comfortable in here.

This is a regulated moth-free zone, patrolled by guard dogs.

There are friends here, offering moral support and camaraderie.

So the sock yarn keeps appearing.

Before long, I looked up and discovered that there’s enough yarn in my stash for 28 pairs of socks.


That’s really not so terrible, is it?  After all, not every invasive species is bad.  Some, like sock yarn, are beneficial.  Sock yarn is neat and tidy.  It doesn’t have to be scraped off the sides of boats or blasted with weed killer.  It’s nonpolluting, anti-discriminatory and obviously (from the way it breeds continuously) pro-family.  It insulates any room it occupies and never leaves old pizza boxes around.  It’s cheerful and pretty.  Sock yarn is a good housemate.

See?  We’re already back to the best of socks.  Sock yarn serves many noble purposes even when it’s not being knitted up into socks.  I may be slow about finishing my knitting projects, but I nonetheless feel fortunate to have such a useful stash waiting for me.  It’s all the best of socks.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Debra says:

    I have more that 28 pairs worth– and I’m ordering Wollmeise this week!!! 🙂 [ok, not much more… but still, this is not a contest that anyone really wants to win.]
    The orange blob: Entrelac socks– Anne Schaefer + EL’s Silky Wool on 00s. Completely masochistic. I’ve knit 2/3 of one sock. Fits like a dream!
    They look like a hot air balloon to me. Very bright, mid-winter knitting. When I started knitting the socks in stockinette I HATED the way that it pooled, and thought that I should go down to 00s– so I tried Entrelac and really liked the way that it looked. It takes for-freaking-ever, though.
    I’ll finish them someday….

    Posted 10 years, 5 months ago
  2. * Debra says:

    I have more that 28 pairs worth– and I’m ordering Wollmeise this week!!! 🙂 [ok, not much more… but still, this is not a contest that anyone really wants to win.]
    The orange blob: Entrelac socks– Anne Schaefer + EL’s Silky Wool on 00s. Completely masochistic. I’ve knit 2/3 of one sock. Fits like a dream!
    They look like a hot air balloon to me. Very bright, mid-winter knitting. When I started knitting the socks in stockinette I HATED the way that it pooled, and thought that I should go down to 00s– so I tried Entrelac and really liked the way that it looked. It takes for-freaking-ever, though.
    I’ll finish them someday….

    Posted 10 years, 5 months ago
  3. * Deb says:

    Personally, I think sock yarn is like wrie hangers from the dry cleaners. If you leave two of them alone togther long enough in a dark closet, soon there will be 500 of them!

    Posted 10 years, 5 months ago
  4. * Deb says:

    Personally, I think sock yarn is like wrie hangers from the dry cleaners. If you leave two of them alone togther long enough in a dark closet, soon there will be 500 of them!

    Posted 10 years, 5 months ago
  5. * Jeanne says:

    Only 28 pair? You are doing fine.

    Posted 10 years, 5 months ago
  6. * Jeanne says:

    Only 28 pair? You are doing fine.

    Posted 10 years, 5 months ago
  7. * Chris says:

    Wow, you’ve only been knitting socks for 6 months and you have that much? You’re a natural! Yummy stuff.

    Posted 10 years, 5 months ago
  8. * kmkat says:

    I’m planning a sweater using two strands of sock yarn. That’s my story and I’m stickin’ to it.

    Posted 10 years, 5 months ago
  9. * kmkat says:

    I’m planning a sweater using two strands of sock yarn. That’s my story and I’m stickin’ to it.

    Posted 10 years, 5 months ago
  10. * Micki says:

    28 pairs? Oh honey, you have a long way to go before you’re really in trouble! You’ve gotten off to an excellent start, though. 🙂

    Posted 10 years, 5 months ago
  11. * Frarochvia says:

    Mmmmmm sock yarn mmmmmmm. I have about that much sock yarn too. It’s so good for you, though, isn’t it? Possibilities! Choices! Mmmmm.

    Posted 10 years, 5 months ago
  12. * Frarochvia says:

    Mmmmmm sock yarn mmmmmmm. I have about that much sock yarn too. It’s so good for you, though, isn’t it? Possibilities! Choices! Mmmmm.

    Posted 10 years, 5 months ago
  13. * ragan says:

    hahahaha…love that post. 🙂

    Posted 10 years, 4 months ago
  14. * ragan says:

    hahahaha…love that post. 🙂

    Posted 10 years, 4 months ago
  15. * ragan says:

    hahahaha…love that post. 🙂

    Posted 10 years, 4 months ago
  16. * Big Buttons says:

    Aha! I knew there was a lot more in the stash then you were letting on! 🙂

    Posted 10 years, 4 months ago
  17. * Big Buttons says:

    Aha! I knew there was a lot more in the stash then you were letting on! 🙂

    Posted 10 years, 4 months ago
  18. * Big Buttons says:

    Aha! I knew there was a lot more in the stash then you were letting on! 🙂

    Posted 10 years, 4 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

