Mystery House



Not One Stitch

This is all the knitting I got done this weekend:

And this:

This, too:

Family was in town.  This meant four dinner parties at the Mystery House (The weekend started on Thursday–did you notice there was no Eye Candy from me this Friday?  Now you know why.), two or three dishwasher loads each day, untold dishes washed by hand, two big breakfasts out, seemingly continuous coffee grinding and making.  Chili, avocado salad, cornbread, burgers (homemade buns!), potato salad, brownies (Try Dorie Greenspan’s French Brownie recipe in Baking:  From My Home to Yours.  To. Die. For. I’m telling you.), paella with crab & shrimp, three different kinds of homemade pizza (thank you, M.E.!), and chocolate cupcakes with peanut butter frosting.

What there was not was knitting.  Not one stitch.

Oh, I attempted it.  Sunday afternoon I had a brief respite from guests, but after all that cooking and baking and wrangling of relatives, not even knitting could take the edge off.  I admit it–I was tired and cranky and overdosing on togetherness and I napped instead.  I did touch my knitting once and looked longingly at it, but that used up all my remaining energy.

I tried very hard to simplify my menus and make easy, casual things I’d made before.  I’m known for menus which involve two or three appetizers, a complex entree and a completely over the top dessert.  Something typically requires an unheard of ingredient which must be ordered from an exotic grocer on the other side of the earth, or a difficult technique I’ve never tried before and which could result in an explosion if I make one false move.  So this was different for me.  Easy food!  Cheese and storebought crackers for appetizers!  Burgers!  I’d never served burgers at a dinner party before.  They were a big hit, and I was pleasantly surprised.  But you know what?  I wasn’t any less tired.  I was still crispy and exhausted even though most of the recipes were familiar and all of them were easy.  So if I’ve learned something, I’m not entirely sure what it is.

Aside from the pleasure of seeing some much-loved folks we don’t see often enough, there was another happy thing.  Those red plastic plates in the third photograph?  That’s because we had dessert here:

That, people, is an almost-finished deck.  You can’t see the unfinished part.  We’re waiting for some special-order edging to arrive later this week.  But it’s functional now and it’s so, so nice.  Nicer even than we expected.  You hear so many horror stories about contractors, but we lucked out and found an absolute gem.  (If you live in the area and want his name, leave me a comment!)

One more dinner tomorrow night (coconut curry chicken, followed by homemade ice cream courtesy of our resident Ice Cream Guru).  Then everybody goes home, we’re eating leftovers for the rest of the week, and I’m going to knit!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Chris says:

    Sounds fun but exhausting! Yay the deck! Mmm… coconut curry chicken…

    Posted 10 years, 3 months ago
  2. * Chris says:

    Sounds fun but exhausting! Yay the deck! Mmm… coconut curry chicken…

    Posted 10 years, 3 months ago
  3. * Chris says:

    Sounds fun but exhausting! Yay the deck! Mmm… coconut curry chicken…

    Posted 10 years, 3 months ago
  4. * Deb says:

    Of vourse you are!! Damn it! Hey – is that alien place on the way to St Cloud – like on 94? Cause I think we passed it yesterday and I laughed my ass off thinking of you!

    Posted 10 years, 3 months ago
  5. * Deb says:

    Of vourse you are!! Damn it! Hey – is that alien place on the way to St Cloud – like on 94? Cause I think we passed it yesterday and I laughed my ass off thinking of you!

    Posted 10 years, 3 months ago
  6. * Jeanne says:

    Chocolate cupcakes with peanut butter frosting! Drool. That’s a great looking deck…

    Posted 10 years, 3 months ago
  7. * Jeanne says:

    Chocolate cupcakes with peanut butter frosting! Drool. That’s a great looking deck…

    Posted 10 years, 3 months ago
  8. * kmkat says:

    I’m guessing that if you had attempted your typical over-the-top meals for four (4!) meals in a weekend, you would have gone postal by meal 2. So congratulate yourself on making through the entire weekend without killing anyone (I assume). Family: we love to see them come and we love to see them go.

    Posted 10 years, 3 months ago
  9. * Connie says:

    Wow – BUSY weekend! I almost had to stop reading though – all of the food you listed sounded sooo good! I bet the leftovers will be extra yummy!

    Posted 10 years, 3 months ago
  10. * Connie says:

    Wow – BUSY weekend! I almost had to stop reading though – all of the food you listed sounded sooo good! I bet the leftovers will be extra yummy!

    Posted 10 years, 3 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

