Mystery House



A Prize, and Other Progress

First, a fun thing.  I won a prize!

Becka ran a contest to see if anyone could guess why she came up with the
names for her goldfish.  She offered a prize for the correct answer,
and another prize for the best wrong answer.  Well, guess who has an
otherwise useless talent for coming up with nonsense and foolishness?

Yup, this was the prize for the best wrong answer, and I’m
delighted with it.  Hard to tell the scale in the photo, I realize, but
those are coasters and they’re cute, cute, cute!  Thanks, Becka!  Be
sure to check out her blog.  Lots of cool projects–I love the little
quilt she made for a silent auction.

Progress on my other projects this week is far less dramatic than the story of the Bad Stitch.  I’m still
working on my lace scarf, but it’s in that middle zone where no matter
what you do, it looks like nothing’s happened.  No point in taking
another photo until it’s possible to see the difference.

I started this:

What is it?  I’ll tell that story in a day or two.  Anybody have a guess in the meantime?

This
is what’s happening in the backyard.  It’ll be a deck in a few more
days.  It’s a ton of work, and I must say that as much as I love our
DIY projects, I’m glad we’re not DIYing this one:

Oh wait, there’s one more knitting project, sort of…I started a swatch with the Dark Earth Koigu I bought in Omaha.



This yarn has the sort of elusive spirit that refuses to be photographed.  Trust me, it’s gorgeous–one of my favorites of all the yarns in my stash.

What’s that cup of rocks holding down the swatch, you ask?  Doesn’t everybody have a cup of rocks or two in their office, I might reply?  Well, there’s a dormant albuca spiralis in that cup.  No foliage right now, just a little brown lump that looks like a tiny tulip bulb.  It sleeps all summer, and if I’m very lucky it will sprout some corkscrew shaped leaves in the winter.

Its neighbor on my office table is an even rarer plant, a teeny tiny, newly identified succulent which (if I’m remembering correctly) lives on the shore of only one river in South Africa.  Or maybe it’s a lake.  Anyhow, in the cup on the left is a dormant tick plant :


Look for the slightly darker brown blob in the middle of all the pebbles.  That’s the plant.  I’m really hoping it lives and comes out of dormancy.  It’s a cute plant, and very hard to find.

Now, back to that Koigu.  I had a plan for this yarn until I realized that I might not have enough.  I want to make the Thelonius socks, but according to the pattern I may need three skeins for my big feet.  I have two.  I’ve put in a desperate email to the yarn shop to see if they have another of the same dye lot but haven’t heard back yet.  Has anybody made this pattern yet, in the large size?  If you have, I’d love to hear how much yarn it took.  Failing this, perhaps the Mata Hari socks?  They’re not as Thelonius-y, but they’re cool.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Deb says:

    Wow, your post is like I feel today. Lots of stuff going on in my head. I thought the pot of rocks just came by and squished the Dark EArth Koigu because the DEK was so much prettier and it was jealous.

    Posted 10 years, 3 months ago
  2. * Deb says:

    Wow, your post is like I feel today. Lots of stuff going on in my head. I thought the pot of rocks just came by and squished the Dark EArth Koigu because the DEK was so much prettier and it was jealous.

    Posted 10 years, 3 months ago
  3. That koigu is so scrummy… mmm!

    Posted 10 years, 3 months ago
  4. That koigu is so scrummy… mmm!

    Posted 10 years, 3 months ago
  5. * Chris says:

    Congrats on your win!!

    Posted 10 years, 3 months ago
  6. * Chris says:

    Congrats on your win!!

    Posted 10 years, 3 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

