Mystery House



A Visit to My Stash

I had occasion this weekend to think about loss, and that made me think about taking care of what I have–people, living things, objects.

This is a small loss in the scheme of things, but I’ll use it to symbolize the larger one:  Just a few days ago, I had beautiful hostas in my front yard.  Some were a couple of years old, and others were recently planted and just settling in and enjoying their new digs.  Saturday morning?

Deer.  They abandon the lush greenery of the woods right behind our house to sneak into our front yard in the dead of night and feast on the hosta buffet.  The sight of the remaining nubbins nearly had me in tears, and I was so furious that I was ready to spend every night for the rest of the summer sitting in the yard with a gun.

If I had a gun.  And knew how to shoot.  And didn’t mind getting chewed to ribbons by mosquitos.  And wasn’t such a wimp about not sleeping in an air-conditioned room in my nice, comfortable bed.

Spray.  I needed spray.

Spray designed for desperate people who suddenly do not think deer are cute is expensive. Somebody, somewhere, has discovered that if you take rotten eggs, hot peppers and garlic and liquify them and put the goop in a bottle, people like me will come along and pay $18 for it.

Which, of course, I did.  And–cautiously–it seemed to work.  No more hosta losses last night.  I hope Bad Bambi is still trying to get rid of the taste of peppers, preferably somewhere far away from my garden.

You may be wondering what on earth this has to do with my yarn stash.  A reasonable question.

It’s about holding things close once something has been lost.  I had to protect my hostas, just as I had to spend much of the weekend doing things to take care of people I love.  And to take care of me, a few moments in contemplation of my stash.  Because even simply looking at it is comforting and calming and a reminder that not everything is wrong in the world.

I needed a yarny hug this weekend.  Not a new-yarn hug.  An old-friend-yarn hug.  So I visited.

I found that I didn’t have to get crazy and dig out the big plastic tubs where the really old stash resides.  (This was not the time to do anything which might resemble cleaning a closet.)

It was enough to pay a visit to some of my newer old friends and to reassure myself that they were still there, waiting for me.

That’s the nice thing about a stash.  It never gives up on you.  Even
the yarn that knows you’ll never use it because you don’t like it
doesn’t give up on you.

A little touching, a few sniffs of wool fumes, a bit of gazing and imagining of possibilities.  It helps, you know.  Doesn’t fix things, but it helps.

(Yikes, that last bag is in my office.  I actually have stash in my office now.)

Change comes, loss happens, it’s a scary world–but I like the way that small, constant things offer nice reminders that things do circle around and become okay again.  Stash is good.  Stash makes me happy.  Even if I have no idea what I’m going to do with all that white Nature Spun.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Amy says:

    Oh no…is everything OK?
    And…um…don’t tell me it’s abnormal to have stash in your office…
    Also, Lynne told me once about a gardening expert who told her to put loose rocks around deer-preferred plants, then douse the rocks with–hee hee–urine from a human carnivore. Lynne’s producer tried it. It works. Much cheaper than $18!

    Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  2. * Amy says:

    Oh no…is everything OK?
    And…um…don’t tell me it’s abnormal to have stash in your office…
    Also, Lynne told me once about a gardening expert who told her to put loose rocks around deer-preferred plants, then douse the rocks with–hee hee–urine from a human carnivore. Lynne’s producer tried it. It works. Much cheaper than $18!

    Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  3. * Jeanne says:

    Fortunately the deer in my very urban neighborhood seem to prefer the local golf course to my hostas. I hope it stays that way. Your other photos make me realize that I am a complete stash novice. I must work on that.

    Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  4. * Hanne says:

    You have a lovely stash! And I love the way you see your stash as a treasure full of yet unexplored possibilities.

    Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  5. * Hanne says:

    You have a lovely stash! And I love the way you see your stash as a treasure full of yet unexplored possibilities.

    Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  6. * Deb says:

    Not sure but I think Amy just volunteered to come pee on your rocks! I know what you could do with that white nature spun – dye it!!!
    Sure hope all is well….

    Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  7. * Deb says:

    Not sure but I think Amy just volunteered to come pee on your rocks! I know what you could do with that white nature spun – dye it!!!
    Sure hope all is well….

    Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  8. * ragan says:

    OMG!!!!!
    Poor hostas…
    You have a very nice stash though…wow!!!

    Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  9. * Chris says:

    You have some seriously lovely yarn there! But… I think that office stash indicates something scary.

    Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  10. * Chris says:

    You have some seriously lovely yarn there! But… I think that office stash indicates something scary.

    Posted 10 years, 2 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

