Mystery House



My Valet Parking Yarn

The M.E. and I were talking the other night, and somehow the topic of our first date came up.  He suddenly got a funny look on his face and said, “Hey, did I pay for your valet parking?”

I didn’t remember.  Which meant that he probably hadn’t, because I would remember a gesture like that.  I always notice the little things he does for me–this is a man who, seven years later, still opens the car door for me all the time.  Most guys do that–at most–on the first two dates and then figure there’s no need for Princess Treatment from Date Three on.

We’d just finished a great dinner at a downtown restaurant and I was so dazzled by the most amazing, wonderful man I’d ever met in my life that it hadn’t occurred to me to notice we’d each tipped our respective valets.  It’s possible that the M.E. was a wee bit dazzled, too, because he drove the wrong way down a one-way street as he left.  I know this because I was so dazzled that I followed him, even though I knew the area quite well and should have known what I was doing.   

Anyhow, he so was bothered by the fact that he hadn’t paid my parking that he felt the need to make amends.  This was one subject which wasn’t going away until he’d fixed it.  “I’ll pay you back,” he said, “with interest.” 

I ain’t no fool.  “A skein of yarn will do nicely,” I said. 

“Hefty interest,” he said.  “You got it.”

I smiled and thanked him.  He’s still the very best ever. 

And then I ordered this.

What color?  Well, I figured that this yarn would have to be special since it’s commemorating that particular remembrance.  I thought about the tingly feeling I had that night.  Not the fleeting electricity of momentary lust which you can feel when meeting any crappy old boyfriend–this was different.  It was like a rewiring of my entire soul, like things were finally connected and working properly.  Only a color glowing with its own internal light will do.  Click on Goldfish, and you’ll see.  Will it be socks or a lace scarf?  The yarn will tell me when it arrives, but whatever I make with it will be something I keep forever. 

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Amy says:

    That is beautiful yarn and a great story.

    Posted 10 years ago
  2. * Amy says:

    That is beautiful yarn and a great story.

    Posted 10 years ago
  3. * Chris says:

    Aw, what a great story!!

    Posted 10 years ago
  4. * kmkat says:

    What a great story, and what a great deal on the interest!

    Posted 10 years ago
  5. * kmkat says:

    What a great story, and what a great deal on the interest!

    Posted 10 years ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

