Mystery House



Mango Cam


Those are some beautiful, wacky leaves, aren’t they?  I’m stunned at how quickly this seedling is developing.

After the seed sprouted I learned that my technique for starting it was (allegedly) all wrong.  You’re supposed to pry open the big, flat pit and take out the smaller seed inside and plant that.  I have two issues with this.  First, me prying open a flat, slippery seed which doesn’t have an obvious seam marked “Open Here” sounds like a trip to the emergency room.  Second, Mother Nature doesn’t send elves with oyster knives around to open mango seeds and plant them.  The pits fall on the ground and the sprouts do the work of escaping all by themselves.  I have to wonder, too, if maybe the seedlings that break out on their own are stronger than those who have help.  Sometimes, I think, it’s okay to be a lazy gardener who doesn’t read the instructions.  At least it worked this time.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Deb says:

    Well – if you did it “wrong” – someone should tell the plant!

    Posted 10 years, 7 months ago
  2. * Chris says:

    LOL! It sounds like a trip to the emergency room to me, too. Oh, that “convenience” store picture? Those scare me, too. There are a few in MN…

    Posted 10 years, 7 months ago
  3. * Chris says:

    LOL! It sounds like a trip to the emergency room to me, too. Oh, that “convenience” store picture? Those scare me, too. There are a few in MN…

    Posted 10 years, 7 months ago
  4. * Connie says:

    Well – the fast growth explains how these trees sprout up so fast in the rain forests. We have got to try this here!

    Posted 10 years, 7 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

