Mystery House



Tune In, Turn On…

…Drop Out.

I’ve decided to un-overcommit myself and embrace my underachieverhood.

Many things sound like such a good idea at the time.  The UFO Resurrection KAL was one.  Some of my UFOs are embarrassingly old and I loved the idea of taking care of them, one way or another.  I managed to do this for three months, but suddenly realized that it’s April 26th and all I’ve done about my April UFO is take a picture of it and then plop it on top of my second knitting bag, the one where the ancients reside.  Too many other priorities, too much other stuff going on.  I can stick with a KAL for a month or two, but a year?  Uh uh.  This, I’ve discovered, does not work for me.

Same problem with the TBR Challenge.  While I’ve been stunningly good (for me) about not buying new books, I am, after only three reads, feeling confined by my list.  I suspected this would happen when I signed up but thought I’d see if I could do it anyway.  I couldn’t.  I’m far too contrary.  The mere presence of a book’s title on such a list makes me not want to read it.  I’ve become certain that the books on the shelf which are not on the list are much more interesting.  You may recall (or more likely may not) that I even had a backup list in case I found myself taking this attitude with the main list.  Now, however, I’m convinced that all the books on both lists have cooties.  I want to read what I’m in the mood for, not what some diabolical list dictates, even if I’m the one who wrote it.

So.  I’m hereby withdrawing from both challenges.  I’m deleting the buttons.  I’m moving on and rejoicing in my mercurial, fussy self.  I feel cleansed.  Ha! 

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Amy says:

    Books with cooties…That’s going to stick with me for quite a while.

    Posted 10 years, 3 months ago
  2. * Kelly says:

    Contrats! I think it was a great decision to withdrawl. Any kind of deadline or public commitment to a goal has always sucked the fun out of any project for me. I say, go where the wind blows you, where the Spirit leads you…or just wherever you feel like at the moment.

    Posted 10 years, 3 months ago
  3. * Kelly says:

    Contrats! I think it was a great decision to withdrawl. Any kind of deadline or public commitment to a goal has always sucked the fun out of any project for me. I say, go where the wind blows you, where the Spirit leads you…or just wherever you feel like at the moment.

    Posted 10 years, 3 months ago
  4. * Chris says:

    LOL! I know what you mean about the TBR Challenge – but I’m fighting that tendency in myself. I’m glad that I forced myself to pick up Middlesex and read it – the success of that predisposed me to read more things from the TBR piles.

    Posted 10 years, 3 months ago
  5. * Deb says:

    Maybe you should have some sort of “un-committment” ceremony. I would hate to see the cooties follow you to some other spect of your life!!

    Posted 10 years, 3 months ago
  6. * Connie says:

    Good for you – free will ruleth! I used to feel like I absolutely had to finish every book I started but now – if it doesn’t get my attention the first 50 pages – I move on. Too many other books out there to read!

    Posted 10 years, 3 months ago
  7. * Theresa says:

    Getting rid of the UFO Resurrection probably counts as an April UFO 🙂

    Posted 10 years, 3 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

