Mystery House



You Know a Man Loves You When…

…You say you need something and he willingly digs through his bathroom trash can to find it.  Like, say, these:

See, I’m knitting a cupcake, and one of the crucial ingredients is a spray can lid.  The only spray can lids in our house which are regulation cupcake size are the ones from the Master Engineer’s deodorant.    (Yes, of course I washed them.)

After a few more rows of frosting, I’ll put the lid inside to shape the bottom, stuff it with fiberfill and finish knitting the top.  My plan is to make three of these as a birthday gift for my brother’s girlfriend, who dearly loves the art of baking.

I also made a bit of progress on my sock this weekend.  Finished the heel flap last night, and I expect I’ll turn the heel this evening.

It was a busy weekend, so that’s all the knitting I did.  Saturday, we went to the first big outdoor flea market of the season.  Ooh, it was a good one, too.  Hundreds of dealers, perfect weather, and we scored a few nice finds.  My absolute favorite is this:

Is that not the coolest thing?

Sunday morning, I started the first wave of what will be a big flurry of repotting, and took care of about half my cacti and succulents.  But somebody must have felt left out, because late in the afternoon I noticed that the mango pit I’d stuck in a pot of dirt a month ago had pushed up a small, folded over sprout.  I couldn’t believe it–only a few days earlier, I was on the verge of declaring defeat, certain it wasn’t going to germinate.  When I checked on it this morning, this is what I found:

I’ve already eased the seedling out of that cramped pot and into much roomier digs.  It’s got a nice root developed, and I can’t wait to see what this little guy will look like as a tree.  Go, mango, go!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Chris says:

    That Kodak measuring cup is cool! Makes you wonder about the why, doesn’t it?
    Go, mango, go!

    Posted 10 years, 5 months ago
  2. * Chris says:

    That Kodak measuring cup is cool! Makes you wonder about the why, doesn’t it?
    Go, mango, go!

    Posted 10 years, 5 months ago
  3. * Deb says:

    Grow little guy!

    Posted 10 years, 5 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

