Mystery House



Another Not Exactly Eye Candy Friday

From the temperature outside this morning, you’d think spring’s been canceled.  It’s 16 degrees out there!  Trust me, nothing’s blooming.  The only thing blooming inside is my Christmas cactus (for the third time!), which is beautiful but you’ve seen it.  So instead of scurrying around the house trying to find something pretty that doesn’t need dusting, I’m going to stick my neck way, way out and wait while y’all sharpen your hatchets.

One of my resolutions this year was to spend more time drawing.  See, drawing’s been a faithful friend of mine since childhood but I’ve neglected it in recent years while focusing on other things.  I finally realized what a colossally bad plan that was and now I’m trying to get my drawing chops back.  I’m not there yet, but I’m working on it.  It’s scary going back to something powerful when you’ve been away from it a long time, so I’m taking baby steps and making little sketches in a notebook acquired especially for this purpose.  I’m using both pencil and watercolor pencil–that last one is a new medium for me and I’m starting to like it.

Scariest of all is showing you what I’ve been up to, but here goes.  This is one from a few weeks ago.

 

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Chris says:

    For someone who feels off her form, you do a damned fine job with the pencil!

    Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  2. * Renee says:

    I know – it’s so darn cold!! I want my spring back!
    Your tomatoes look lovely – keep on drawing!

    Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  3. * Renee says:

    I know – it’s so darn cold!! I want my spring back!
    Your tomatoes look lovely – keep on drawing!

    Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  4. * Amy says:

    Mmm…makes me want some fresh tomatoes, with fresh mozzarella and basil…

    Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  5. * Kelly says:

    Very nice – I think it counts for Eye Candy Friday. A few years ago (ok, more than a few, actually 15 or so), I was going thru a divorce. I was trying a lot of things I hadn’t done before…one of them was drawing. I got some books and nice pencils, and I loved it. But then life took over again, and I haven’t drawn for many years. Maybe I should try it again…

    Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  6. * Kelly says:

    Very nice – I think it counts for Eye Candy Friday. A few years ago (ok, more than a few, actually 15 or so), I was going thru a divorce. I was trying a lot of things I hadn’t done before…one of them was drawing. I got some books and nice pencils, and I loved it. But then life took over again, and I haven’t drawn for many years. Maybe I should try it again…

    Posted 10 years, 1 month ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

